AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing.

Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. Discuss cameras, hardware, software and techniques. Show us your creations!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 03:46 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Reducing Glare on the Sea

This is a raw photo straight from the camera taken in full-auto mode.

You can see the problem, the sea is over-exposed from the sun's glare. The rest of the photo is fine.

Fixing the sea would be tricky because that area is almost literally white/blank.
Attached Thumbnails
Reducing Glare on the Sea-p1010231_over.png  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 11th April, 2005 at 03:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 03:50 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

To reduce the glare and over-exposure on the water you can "stop-down". This will under-expose the shot slighty.

Here's the same shot but with the camera in A/S/M mode with stopping used.

Now the sea looks much better, but everything else is too dark!
Attached Thumbnails
Reducing Glare on the Sea-p1010232_raw.png  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 03:52 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

However, this can be fixed using image editing.

Just used basic adjustments to contrast, brightness and colour.
Attached Thumbnails
Reducing Glare on the Sea-p1010232_640.png  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 03:54 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You can get even better results if you were to merge the two original images. In other words take the sea from the darker photo and merge it in to the other image which has an over-exposed sea.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 06:41 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Good quick guide Only thing I'd say though is that "stopping down" usually refers to the setting of the aperture size. What you've actually done is adjust the exposure by underexposing, which you can do by either reducing the amount of time the shutter is open or by choosing a smaller aperture, depending on what the camera is telling you it wants to use.

Both will reduce the amount of light hitting the film/sensor but depending on the situation can give very different results.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 06:46 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Wouldn't suprise me that I'm using the wrong term. LOL

I'll just check the manual to see exactly what I was doing...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 06:48 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

So, can one of you guys put together a n00b's guide to photography, or suggest a good place for same? Like, what does changing the aperture do as opposed to adjusting the shutter speed? I've got a Canon AS70 that I'd like to do a bit more with.......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 07:08 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I was using "exposure compensation" which has a range of -2.0 to +2.0.

Normal auto exposure was: F4 at 1/400th sec
With "exposure compensation": F4.5 at 1/800th sec

So, it adjusted speed and aperture by the look of it.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 11th April, 2005 at 07:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 07:35 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

When you say A/S/M mode which one was it? Usually A is aperture priority where you select the Aperture and the cam picks the shutter speed. S is Shutter priority where you pick the shutter speed etc and M is manual where you choose both. Normally it's a matter of picking one of them. What camera are you using again?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 07:57 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
So, can one of you guys put together a n00b's guide to photography, or suggest a good place for same? Like, what does changing the aperture do as opposed to adjusting the shutter speed? I've got a Canon AS70 that I'd like to do a bit more with.......
Quick explanation:

Aperture is like the pupil in your eye and it's size is represented by an f number, e.g. f2.8, smaller number = wider aperture. Just like your pupil, a wide aperture is needed in lower light and will also reduce the depth of field. A small depth of field will put the background out of focus. So, you might use a wide aperture in good light just for this effect. If you want everything in focus you may need to use a smaller aperture.

Shutter speed will determine how long the film/sensor is exposed to the light entering the aperture. So, if you are using a small aperture this can be compensated for by a longer shutter speed. But, the longer the shutter is open for the more likely you are to get camera shake. If taking shots of moving objects you'll need to use a fast speed in order for the moving object to appear sharp.

Really need to mention film speed, as well. Digital cameras do have a film speed setting even though there is no film. Fast film can be used in low light conditions, but has a grainy appearance. Slow film gives better definition but needs a longer exposure time.

These would be the 3 main 'controls' without considering the lens (wide/telephoto/filters, etc). Exactly how you work aperture and shutter will depend on the type of shot you are taking. You can use them in a creative way not just according to fixed rules.

The best way to learn, I think, is to learn one type of shot at a time and master it. Playing with depth of field is probably a good starting point and is very useful.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 11th April, 2005 at 09:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 08:03 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
When you say A/S/M mode which one was it? Usually A is aperture priority where you select the Aperture and the cam picks the shutter speed. S is Shutter priority where you pick the shutter speed etc and M is manual where you choose both. Normally it's a matter of picking one of them. What camera are you using again?
Must have been in the default AP mode, so I don't know why the shutter speed changed. It must have metered the shot differently.

It's an Oly C750UZ.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 08:55 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
A small depth of field will put the background out of focus. So, you might use a small aperture in good light just for this effect. If you want everything in focus you may need to use a larger aperture.
Tsk, tsk You need a small aperture (bigger F Number) for greater depth of field

Only thing I'd add is that the camera's built in light meter will make a pretty good job of estimating what the shutter speed and aperture should be to give the correct exposure. The meter is designed to assume that any given scene will have an average light reflectance of 18%. Most cameras by default take the reading from around the central part of the image, it’s known as “centre weighted”. More advanced models give whats known as multi segment (from a number of different parts of the shot) or spot metering which can be as little as 1% of the image.

Because of that very bright scenes or very dark scenes can fool the meter. If it’s very bright the camera will assume that less light is needed so you actually need to ADD to the cameras calculated exposure. For example let’s say you’re taking a photo of a light bulb which is on. The camera might say F8 and 1/500th of a second. Because it is being fooled by the bright light you may need to reduce the shutter speed to say 1/250th to get enough light in to get the correct exposure.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space

Last edited by dod; 12th April, 2005 at 11:07 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 09:15 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
Tsk, tsk You need a small aperture (bigger F Number) for greater depth of field
Oops! Started out the right way round and then wrote it all arse about face! Corrected the text above.

I think the clearest way to remember is small f number means small DOF.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anti Glare Coating GrahamGarside General Hardware Discussion 4 20th September, 2004 12:14 AM
Super cool way of reducing the cost of a folding rig. Chilliwilli ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 14 11th April, 2004 07:58 PM
Noise reducing bios? Kuja EPoX MotherBoards 0 13th May, 2003 06:46 AM
Reducing CPU temp with WPCRSET :)_s Ibn EPoX MotherBoards 61 17th October, 2002 04:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0