AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing.

Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. Discuss cameras, hardware, software and techniques. Show us your creations!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 03:21 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What are RAW files all about?

From the front page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1777/1/

Comments?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 06:13 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Raw files are what all my photography is done in. They're MUCH more versatile than any other format out there.

Once, I took several nice photographs on the wrong white balance setting. The photographs were very blue. However, since they were taken in Raw format all I needed to do was make a single adjustment and the WB changed to the correct one.

The other day, I wanted to take some action shots on an overcast day. I wasn't able to get the shutter speeds I wanted at an acceptable aperture. I took the photographs at shutter speeds that were essentially too fast and then manually adjusted the aperture (up to 3 full stops) later on my computer.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 10:18 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

they're files that haven't been cooked yet.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 12:16 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I find it is possible to sharpen up fine details better in a raw image.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 03:53 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

I'm guessing RAW files are very large in size then, it's good that we have large HDD's now a days.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2007, 11:58 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I'll use RAW if it's appropriate. Most weekends I'll be taking 1000+ images and they're all done in JPEG highest quality, it just takes far too long to convert that volume from RAW to JPEG.

However, I'm doing a shoot this weekend for a vet who needs new images for brochures, website etc. I'll use RAW for that simply because it does give a bit more flexibility if I mess up on exposure or anything.

Bear in mind that RAW isn't really an image format, it's just data, a bit like a slide or negative before it's processed. To be usable it has to be converted to TIFF or JPEG.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PSP Files Gizmo Mobile Devices and Networking 1 8th December, 2005 08:33 PM
New Files! Gizmo OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 45 23rd January, 2005 07:40 PM
"Calling All Files"... AOA Files is now SQL Pinky Random Nonsense! 27 12th September, 2002 07:33 PM
Files that are suitable for uploading to AOA's files?? cloasters Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 5 20th May, 2002 03:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0