AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1

Question EPOX 8KHA+ and XP 2100+ question

I currently have a EPOX 8KHA+ (rev 2.0) mobo with a Athlon XP 1700+ (not OCed). The board also has 768MB of PC2100 DDR memory and a Geforce4 Ti4600 video card.

I have an opportunity to get a Athlon XP 2100+ for under $90. Is there much of a performance increase between a 1700+ and a 2100+ that it would be worth getting? From what I understand from reading on this forum is that a 2100+ CPU is as high as you can go on a 8KHA+, correct?

Are there any issues such as excessive heat when running a 2100+?

Any insight would be appreciated.

George C.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 01:45 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Welcome to the forums George.

Going from 1700+ (1466mhz) to a 2100+ (1733mhz) is about an 18% boost in performance. This is really not that much. Also, running in spec for everything else, there is no gain elsewhere. Personally, I don't think it's worth the effort.

Regarding the heat, there is a little more, but depending on your HSF, should not have a major impact.

Remember, this is an overclocker's forum ... Honestly, I recommend keeping your 1700+ and overclocking it. Even if you only nudge up your FSB and nothing else, you will get an improvement in memory bandwidth, and this will improve your overall performance. If you are lucky, that 1700+ will get to or pass the mhz of the 2100+, to boot.

You have a tried and true overclocker's mobo, and it should give you the flexibility you need to optimize your performance. I have an 8kha+ running my son's system, w/ a duron 1gig @ 1.435ghz.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 04:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: na
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to jmajik Send a message via Yahoo to jmajik

I agree with SteveI. Besides, the money could be better spent on a good HSF and PSU.
__________________
DFI NF3 ULTRA-D bios 7/11
Venice 3200+ @ 2.83
Patriot PDC1G3200+XBLK
WD 80 x2 RAID1
ATI X800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8kha+ question twilson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 7th November, 2004 06:49 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Question hotlips69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 25th April, 2004 05:20 AM
HEy Epox Guy! 8kha+ question... JTPokie EPoX MotherBoards 3 31st January, 2002 07:14 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod question!! Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 88 21st November, 2001 10:54 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Question? Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd October, 2001 02:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0