AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 12:08 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

8K9A2+ 2.0v Vcore setting not working?

Tried the 2.0v setting today and it didn't change my voltage. I tried a bunch of times and then swapped to a different PSU and CPU and still no luck.

Any help would be appreciated.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 12:35 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Just wanted to add that the 1.95v setting works fine. And when you set to 2.0v it just shows 1.95v during boot and measures 1.95v once in Win.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2002, 11:38 PM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Anybody else experience this? Or is the board too new for people to have it yet? I'm just a little bummed because these new XP2400+'s LOVE voltage and 1.95V just isn't cutting it.

I also looked into a Vcore mod. and was told that it definitely won't be as easy as with the 8KHA+. Seems there will have to be a lifting of a pin(or breaking of a trace) involved so it don't look that good for people like myself(people who aren't used to tinkering with surface mount components).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2002, 12:46 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The 9A2+ is so new, there hasn't been a lot of people who have bought them yet... Be patient tho, I'm sure someone else will get one soon.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 09:12 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

A friend just got this board, and is having similar problems. In his case, when he selects 2v, it shows up in MBM as 1.9-1.92v (fluctuating). Not sure if this is accurate, the mobo, or the PSU.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 10:35 PM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

I just noticed a couple days ago that my 1.95v setting floats between 1.90v and 1.95v. My 2.00v setting stays pretty much at 1.95v.

If anyone comes up with a Vcore modification... please feel free to share it. 1.95v is just not enough for pushing these Tbred "B" processors to thier highest potential.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2002, 02:45 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Any word on if this is a manufacturing flaw or ??? I see this subject being brought up a little more frequently now that the 9A2+ is getting into people's hands.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2002, 05:52 AM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

Mine is doing the same thing, except I don't get any noticible fluctuations. Mine tops off at 1.92V.
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2002, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 16

i also have around 1.94V for a 2V setting
sad not to be able to push the TBreds A1 cores
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 05:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 70

I'm having the same problem. Using an Antec TRUEpower 550W PSU. 2.0V is constant 1.95V. Had an 8K3A+, 2.2V worked fine, so it's a problem with the board. I'm going to check and see if the 8K9A has the same problem. It has AGP voltage control, and if the 2.0V works, it's just another reason for me to switch to it. But it does have one less PCI, one less fan header, no LED display, and 2 phase power design, other than the missing features from the 2+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miami, FL.
Posts: 53

Disappointed...

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff F.
I just noticed a couple days ago that my 1.95v setting floats between 1.90v and 1.95v. My 2.00v setting stays pretty much at 1.95v.

If anyone comes up with a Vcore modification... please feel free to share it. 1.95v is just not enough for pushing these Tbred "B" processors to thier highest potential.
Must be a flaw...

Mine is doing the exact same thing! It's bad enough that 2.0v is the max.

Epox built their name with these types of OC'ing features that no other Board Manufacturer offered. I can't believe they lowered it from 2.25v max to 2.0v max. It seems like they took a step back on this one...

I wish a BIOS update would save us from this tragedy...
__________________
RuKuS

XP2400+ @ 2485MHz (11@225) 2.15v
2x256MB Corsair XMS3500C2 3.05v (5-2-2 cas2 1T)
Epox 8RDA+ Vdd 2.15v
Radeon 9500NP SoftMod (All vmods)
Onboard Sound and LAN
SCSI 160 18Gb Seagate 15k
Adaptec 19160 Controller
Adaptec 2930 Controller
Plex 40x SCSI Reader
LiteOn 40x USB 2.0 Burner
Klipsch 5.1 ProMedia
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 02:46 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

I'm just waiting for one of the ETs to comment. I think this board is being forgotten already because of the new nForce2 boards... which is a shame because I really think this 8K9A2+ has potential.

I'm happy with mine except for the low 1.95v and 2.0v settings.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 03:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miami, FL.
Posts: 53

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff F.
I'm just waiting for one of the ETs to comment. I think this board is being forgotten already because of the new nForce2 boards... which is a shame because I really think this 8K9A2+ has potential.

I'm happy with mine except for the low 1.95v and 2.0v settings.
I'm very happy with mine also. It's just that sometimes you need that extra juice to get a bit further... It's always good to have it there when needed.

It just made me curious that after such a long time of Epox giving the Xtreme OC'er the tools they need to push the envelope, that they'd hold back on such a thing...

I am currently 208FSB w/ mem settings maxed out and running extremely stable on a 512MB stick of Corsair XMS3200 C2, but the thought will remain; "if I had more vcore would I be able to go higher?"

I'd rather answer that question myself as no 2 systems are expected to run the same even with identical HW components...
__________________
RuKuS

XP2400+ @ 2485MHz (11@225) 2.15v
2x256MB Corsair XMS3500C2 3.05v (5-2-2 cas2 1T)
Epox 8RDA+ Vdd 2.15v
Radeon 9500NP SoftMod (All vmods)
Onboard Sound and LAN
SCSI 160 18Gb Seagate 15k
Adaptec 19160 Controller
Adaptec 2930 Controller
Plex 40x SCSI Reader
LiteOn 40x USB 2.0 Burner
Klipsch 5.1 ProMedia
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 16

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff F.
I'm just waiting for one of the ETs to comment. I think this board is being forgotten already because of the new nForce2 boards... which is a shame because I really think this 8K9A2+ has potential.

I'm happy with mine except for the low 1.95v and 2.0v settings.
i have to admit i'm not that happy
-the vcore is quite low
-my r9700 wont work in 3D because of the non ability in the bios to change the agp mode
-no bios update for the non plus version and not possible to flash the non plus version with a plus version

otherwise, its quite good
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 09:16 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

I didn't plan on bumping this thread because there was another one started about the low Vcore but that thread got deleted for some reason...

Is either of the two ET's looking into this or should I just return my board as defective???

And please don't say "a BIOS update won't solve a power supply issue" again because like I said in the thread that got deleted... I have tried 4 power supplies and 3 processors.

Sincerely,
Jeff (an Epox customer that would like an answer to a politely asked question)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

I also got same problem, with 1.9v in bios get about 1.82v real

A shame, really like the board (dispiste lacking the FF leds, etc.. - 8k9a), but getting a XP 2400+ and not take full use of it due to board limitations :/
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 06:07 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

That thread wasnt deleted it was moved to AMD motherboards.

I have replied there.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Meg setting in FAH Samuknow ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 14th June, 2006 08:59 PM
Need help with setting up case KrayZeeZ General Hardware Discussion 1 16th April, 2006 04:47 AM
Epox EP9NPA+ SLI vcore setting spoony77 EPoX MotherBoards 9 19th October, 2005 01:19 PM
133 or 100 fsb setting? Hoppster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 20th June, 2004 12:56 PM
setting up a server LP General Hardware Discussion 6 28th July, 2003 11:33 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0