AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 04:49 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

8K3A+ and Danger Den waterblocks

Hi there,

I've just received my three wb from Danger Den (Maze 3, Z chip and GF4) all of which will be (hopefully) used in my soon to be watercooled system.

I never bothered checking if the wb's do all actually fit in the 8K3A+ and to be quite honest, they're stiil inside the package I received since there's a few things missing in my project (blowhole, reservoir, etc)

Anyway, this morning and just by accident I ran into a review of these very same wb's and according to the author, the Maze3 and the Z chip won't fit if used together on the Epox 8KHA+ ... there's simply no space to accomodate both due to the proximity of the cpu socket and the northbridge chip

My question is are any of you guys using these on the 8K3A+ or can anyone tell me if the dimensions in that respect are the same in the 8k3A+ and the 8KHA+ ???

TIA
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 05:31 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

According to this thread and what I have read from other forums, the chipset coolers are an item best left out. There is little gain from using them. Same, I'm told from several (differing feelings on this one) folks about the video chipset coolers as well. I'm looking at the same system you have and will probably just get the 300 gpm pump, Extreme radiator and the Maze 3 with hold down and go from there.
Let me know what your experience is.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 05:38 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

There is a capacitor very close to the NB on 8k3a+, this might prevent you using a aftermarket cooler.
You might be able to file your NB cooler to fit, "Might"
Or you can allways take the cap off and lie it down, if your a warranty voider like me :P

As for the CPU waterblock it will fit just fine (as my maze2 did)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 06:09 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Thanks for the replies so far people

Uncle Bob, I know what you mean but I really want SILENCE hence choosing the full monty Plus I've already got an Eheim 1250 pump and a heatcore so I think this gear won't affect the flowrate all that much. I could be wrong though ... guess I'll have to try it out first and then see

Holst, I don't think the small capacitor is to blame but actually the sheer size of both waterblocks even if the capacitor wasn't there (as with the 8KHA+) the two wouldn't fit together. However I'll check it out later in the process and see if filling the lucite top of the Zchip will do the trick.

Anyway, here's the link for the review:

http://www.wc101.com/reviews/Z-ChipBlock/

Cheers
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |

Last edited by kota; 14th November, 2002 at 06:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 06:29 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

ahhh..

Ive not seen a DD northbridge block close up.

Maybee look at getting something smaller, inovatech do some nice looking NB blocks, as do several others.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 06:49 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Well, I'll be using 1/2" tubing and everything else I've got has the same fittings ... the innovatek won't cope with those and I'm not prepared to throw a $US 39.95 wb (plus postage and import duties) to the bin

No worries m8 , I'll sort out something one way or another but do you know for a fact if the distance between the NB and the cpu socket are the same on both motherboards ??
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 06:58 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

As far as I can tell there identical (+/- 1mm)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 07:13 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Ok .. thanks Holst
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 70

When I had an 8K3A+ I had to drill the mounting holes larger for my Maze 2.2 because the nylon rods wouldnt fit through the holes
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Nordic

I replaced the nylon rods that came with my Maze-2 with stainless steel M3-bolts (european threads) which fit the holes of my 8K7A perfectly fine, no need to drill the holes to a larger diameter.
The 8K5A2 has a larger diameter so the nylon rods would probably have worked.
__________________
[EpoX 8K5A2 | TBred-A XP1700+ (AIUGA 0235) 1833MHz@1.85V | GF3 Ti200@215/475 | Sirtec 360W]
[DD Maze-2 cpu block | DD GeForce GPU block | Eheim 1048 pump | Chevette Heater Core | Papst 120 mm fan]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 05:19 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Yet again more food for thought

As I explained before, I still have all the wb's in the package I received from DD and haven't tried anything at all on the mobo.
More of that latter but it's not good ... I'm still waiting from DD to reply to my mail but something really bad happened. I'll keep you posted though.

Anyway I've ordered all the three wb's with stainless steel rods so hopefully these will go through.
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 05:47 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Maybe I'm wrong but from the looks of this hold down, you do not nee anything going through the motherboard.MAZE3SHD - Socket Hold Down Block
Attached Images
 
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 06:10 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Post

That's correct Uncle Bob. You can order the maze 3 either way but since I'm not planning to upgrade my mobo to a new one without the mouting holes in the near future, I decided for this option 'cos it's cheaper
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 06:24 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Man, in the kit I think it's a $8 option. After having several PAL HSF's that required removal of mobo to work on, I think that is $8 well spent. I also think I trust this hold down allot more than Nylon threads. The stainless look great however.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 06:54 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Yeap ... correct again the thing is I'm also using a Swiftech MC-462A and I know what a pain it is everytime I need to work on the mobo but since I once had a problem with a screwdriver that slipped and ruined one mobo while installing one HSF, I've never look back again ...
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |

Last edited by kota; 15th November, 2002 at 06:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 07:14 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by kota
Yeap ... correct again the thing is I'm also using a Swiftech MC-462A and I know what a pain it is everytime I need to work on the mobo but since I once had a problem with a screwdriver that slipped and ruined one mobo while installing one HSF, I've never look back again ...
I use a locking needlenose plier
4 inch Long Nose Locking Pliers by Vise-Grip
Attached Images
 
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 07:29 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Man... that looks pretty lethal to me but I get the general idea. Cheers
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 07:37 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I slipped off once and I thought I had gone right through a memory module! I call these, "Lock & Load" you lock onto the clip and load the clip, then unclip. It works like a charm. Costs about $12 US and was well worth it.
Take care
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 02:56 PM
kota's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Ok ... I've got everything installed now and I must report that the Maze3 and the Zchip go together real nice on the Epox 8K3A+

Although the Zchip is not 100% centered, it doesn't really matter 'cos the block's base is much wider than NB chip itself so it makes the same contact as if it was perfectly aligned anyway ...

I'm getting very good temps with this WC set up (27ºC idle/32ºC load with the cpu at 1.85V and with 20ºC room temp ) :

Maze3 copper top brass 1/2" barbs
Zchip 1/2" brass barbs
GF4 wb 1/2" brass barbs
Stainless steel mounting fittings
Eheim 1250 pump with custom made reservoir
Heatcore rad shrouded with two 120mm 24V fans (one pushing one pulling) running at 12V
1/2" IO Tygon tubing
Destilled/demineralized water with Water Wetter mix
Pump -> Rad -> Maze3 -> GF wb -> Zchip -> Reservoir

What do you guys reckon ????
Attached Thumbnails
8K3A+ and Danger Den waterblocks-desktop-2-medium-.jpg.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	87.7 KB
ID:	3858  
__________________
| Tbred 2400+ 1.92 Vcore, AIUHB 0247 @ 2430Hz, 11 x 220 | EPoX 8RDA+ nForce2, 1.9 Vdd mod, 3129 BIOS | 2 X 256MB OCZ PC3500 EL 2.86 Vdimm @ 5-2-2-2 in Dual Channel| Saphire 9700 Pro ramsinked @ 415/360 | Water-Cooled |

Last edited by kota; 1st December, 2002 at 05:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 07:18 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Very nice. I just got the Maze 31 style with the socket hold down at my house yesterday. I'm going to use a Black Ice Extreme with 2 Panaflo 120mmn (like you 1 pushing 1 pulling). I am not planning on using any chipset coolers.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram waterblocks? XeroHouR Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 20th November, 2004 07:11 AM
Bladerunners GF4 WATERBLOCKS The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 26th June, 2002 06:28 PM
Gf4 Waterblocks The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 38 9th June, 2002 02:55 AM
Swifttek, Danger Den- Or other? The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 14 21st February, 2002 04:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0