AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:37 PM
Ads's Avatar
Ads Ads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 12

Overclocking help

Hi ,

Ive just unlocked my XP 2200+ and would appreciate any help that you can give to hit 2ghz.

System Spec
xp2200+ (unlocked)
Epox 8K52A+ (bios 5A2P2b01)
2x 512MB corsair XMS PC2700 memory
Leadtek G4 ti4600 TD Ultra
Creative labs 12x DVD
Liteon CDR 48x12x48
80gb Maxtor 72000rpm
40gb Maxtor 72000rpm
onboard sound
network card
slk800 hs and fan
Temps are: cpu 36(c) syt temp 26(c)

Ive not overclocked before and don't quite grasp the upping of voltage to make it stable.
I can boot at FSB 166x11.5 without altering anything else but it sometimes crashes out of games (NOLF 2)
I look forward to seeing some settings for me to try

Many thanks
ADS
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:38 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

a little extra voltage will help, but make sure youve got good cooling before you crank it up, stock cooling is not up to the task.

DOH! shoulda read your spec's better, your cooler is all good
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"

Last edited by surlyjoe; 20th November, 2002 at 07:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:41 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Remember there are no guarantees when overclocking. You may not hit 2ghz. But as SJ said, increase the voltage, 1.85 volts is safe enough, especially with an SLK800!

You want as high an FSB as possible (if you RAM and other components can take it) with a lower multiplier
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:42 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

What are your Vcore and Vdimm voltages? I think the stock settings are 1.85 and 2.40....it's been so long since mine was stock! LOL
I'm at 2.00 and 2.80, but that's pretty agressive. I'd try going up slowly and really watching your temps.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:48 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
I think the stock settings are 1.85 and 2.40.....
Stock settings should be 1.65 and 2.50.

EDIT: On my 8K5A2+, I'm running 2.0V and 3.2V, but I'm running an OCed AXP1600@1818Mhz.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 20th November, 2002 at 07:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:58 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky


Stock settings should be 1.65 and 2.50.

EDIT: On my 8K5A2+, I'm running 2.0V and 3.2V, but I'm running an OCed AXP1600@1818Mhz.
Thanks, mook. I'm at work and couldn't check!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 08:10 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

First set you Dimm Settings in "Advance Chip set options> Dram Options/Drive control" to "Turbo and manual" Then set your ram to 133MHZ.

Then go into Frequency/ Drive control and set your clock Multiplier to X12, Set "Watch dog" to on.

Set your V-core chip voltage to 1.90 and set your ram to 2.90. Save changes.

Try and boot.

Come back here for further tweaking. BTW the the 133 setting in DRAM Options will reset it self to 166 when you boot up this is as it should be.
Best of luck!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AM2 Overclocking kellamne AMD Motherboards & CPUs 28 14th August, 2006 07:40 AM
More Overclocking! NarkotikBuzz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 8th July, 2006 10:18 AM
Overclocking a 3.4 calhoun Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 29th October, 2005 03:07 AM
Overclocking your Nvidia 6800/6800LE DDR graphics card: Overclocking/Unlocking Guide. MONKEYMAN AOA FAQ 0 16th July, 2005 10:09 PM
Overclocking Mb Zephr AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 20th June, 2003 01:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0