AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 20

Question Hot flash 8RDA+ bios chip with 4BDA2+ board?

Thats the guestion...

This is what happened. I clocked the t-bred too far.. windoze didnt load.. got back to bios and altered the settings to lower values and saved in exit.. after which the screen went scruwed and now board doesnt come up any more ..tried ofcource clearing the cosmos wit jumper and removing the battery ..FF -code appears as soon as i press the start button.

So the bios must have gotten bad in that Save&Exit.

Thought that i try hot flash wit my another Epox P4 board.. it seems to have the same kind of chip. But do you have sure information if this operation is possible??? Concerned if those chips have the same specs...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 06:18 PM
ckevin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 5

Re: Hot flash 8RDA+ bios chip with 4BDA2+ board?

Quote:
Originally posted by Smultron
Thats the guestion...

This is what happened. I clocked the t-bred too far.. windoze didnt load.. got back to bios and altered the settings to lower values and saved in exit.. after which the screen went scruwed and now board doesnt come up any more ..tried ofcource clearing the cosmos wit jumper and removing the battery ..FF -code appears as soon as i press the start button.

So the bios must have gotten bad in that Save&Exit.

Thought that i try hot flash wit my another Epox P4 board.. it seems to have the same kind of chip. But do you have sure information if this operation is possible??? Concerned if those chips have the same specs...
I've hot swapped & programmed pin-compatible bios chips before on Pentium boards. You can check under the labels of the bios chips to get the part numbers & check the web to see if they're compatible. On the board I was using to program, I made sure to enable "system bios cacheable" before doing the operation, I don't know if it makes a difference but it couldn't hurt.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 06:22 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

There both 2mb so it will work in theory.

Not a recomended way of doing things min you, please do be carefull when hot flashing its quite easy to turn one bad board into two bad ones.

it may also be that you dont have a bios problem at all on 8RDA+, are you able to verify that your other components are good and that nothing (CPU/memory) was damaged by the overclock ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 20

yes all the other components are just fine.. tested all of them. Also tried the hot flash, but wasn´t able to do it all the way. When i got to the flashing operation... Awardflasher said that "Unknown flash type" ...tried also with the /F -switch but same result.

I ques i got to find another way to flash the bioschip. ..what a pity, because so far this one was working totally stable at 211MHz FSB/MEM. Well i´m pretty sure that with new bios it will work again.

It is strange that bios can get hosed like this when saving new values to it... never before has this kind of failure happened to me and i have been OC`ing like a mofo for over 5 years.

edit: ...ummh i forgot to enable "system bios cacheable" in the bios before the flash.. but this should not make any differense.. should it?
__________________

Last edited by Smultron; 7th December, 2002 at 09:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 95

exactly the same thing happened to me to. very strange raised the fsb and saved it, restart and then checksum error. How can I trust this board again?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 20

I quess the only way to be sure that the bios doesn´t get hosed.. is that you always clear the cmos when you spot instability at booting. This way you can be sure that next time when you change the values in bios everything is absolytely stable. Not very practical but this seems to me as only possibility to OC at the limits of the hardware with this particular board.

Spare bios chip would be exellent.. is it possible to get one from Epox -tech?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 11:36 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

Smultron, you may have one last chance to make it work. Go to www.wimsbios.com and get the Uniflash utility. It may work where Award wouldn't. I've used it for numerous hot swap flashes, but it doesn't work on everything. It won't work with my Abit board, it evidently has an undocumented write protect feature. Good luck!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 11:48 PM
ckevin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 5

That wimsbios site is interesting. I found this method in their FAQ which might also work for you, I've never heard of it before:


Solution 1: Boot-block BIOS

Modern motherboards have a boot-block BIOS. This is small area of the BIOS that doesn't get overwritten when you flash a BIOS. The boot-block BIOS only has support for the floppy drive. If you have a PCI video card you won't see anything on the screen because the boot-block BIOS only supports an ISA videocard.

Award: The boot-block BIOS will execute an AUTOEXEC.BAT file on a bootable diskette. Copy an Award flasher & the correct BIOS *.bin file on the floppy and execute it automaticly by putting awdflash *.bin in the AUTOEXEC.BAT file.

AMI: The AMI boot-block BIOS will look for a AMIBOOT.ROM file on a diskette. Copy and rename the correct BIOS file on the floppy and power up the PC. The floppy doesn't need to be bootable. You will see the PC read the floppy, after about 4 minutes you will hear 4 beeps, this means the transfer is done. Reboot the PC and modify the CMOS for your configuration.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 11:54 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

I have never been able to get a boot block flash to work. I'd be curious to know if anyone reading this ever has? I don't mean to discourage you from trying it Smultron, it could be I've not been editing the autoexec.bat correctly or something.
Here is a detailed boot block flash guide: www.sysopt.com/articles/recoverbios/
__________________

Last edited by Repo Man; 8th December, 2002 at 12:00 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2002, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 20

BACK IN THE GAME!

A recovery flash was impossible because the board didn´t do anythin ecept show the FF-code when firing up.

Found one guy who had the same board in the same city and he was so great that allowed me to do the hot flash wit his board.. everything went perfectly.. and now my board is running again.. 9.5X211 ..2005MHz wit 1800+ t-bred and aircooling.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2002, 07:55 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

good to hear that
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2002, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 20

..earlier tried also the uniflasher, but it gave me runtime errors ..so it didn´t help.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda bios chip dod EPoX MotherBoards 2 6th May, 2004 09:03 PM
8rda+ bios chip on a 8rda3g board? fibonaccov EPoX MotherBoards 2 29th November, 2003 07:52 PM
8K3A bios chip flashable to 8RDA+ chip? Garrett EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th June, 2003 09:42 PM
Flash 8kha+ bios chip with 8rda bios? RyanB18 EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th March, 2003 12:52 AM
Will a 4BDA2+ board suppoet a..... Dano 00TA EPoX MotherBoards 3 14th January, 2003 03:58 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0