AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

Epox 8RDA+:changing multiplier affects performace a lot

This board behaves strange... with ram timings of cas2 2-2-5 and 195 fsb async if I set multiplier to 10 I have a grea bandwith (efficiency in sandra is 98%-93% which is great!!!) if I lower multiplier to 9,5 or 9 or whatever else bandiwth efficiency lowers to 93%-87% which is really bad IMHO. Checking with wpcredit woithout a pcr file I can only see a lot of register changing when playing with multipliers but I cannot even set them back to the values of 10x because they change in a different way than my sets... BTW I'm using latest beta bios (3 dec). Another problem I was having was tha corruption of data at 195+ fsb. Putting a fan blowing air on the northbridge seened to solve the problem and now I can boot into windows at 200 with no problems. My ram can hit 225 with those timings flawless as I tested my two sticks in asynch with a dos utility so I'm wondering if the problem is actually the northbridge...

This is my system spec:
AXP 1600+ @ 196x10
Epox 8RDA+
2xOCZ PC3500 256MB at cas 2 2-2-5 with cpu interface set to aggressive (optimal dosen't solve anything)
Radeon 8500
Western Digital 80GB 8Mb cache

What do you think about it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

What fan did you put on your northbridge?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

I didnd't put any fan directly, there's a 12x12 fan 4-5cm far from the northbridge blowing a lot of fresh air on
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 11:57 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

same problem here

with multiplier under 10 i get 2960mb's with sandra membench
@200fsb with sync dual channel (2-4-2-2 timings).
with multiplier 10@ 200fsb i get over 3100 mb's!!!!!

i tried all three bios version which are available and all have the same anomaly

can anyone explain that
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 01:11 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

i tried it also @ 166fsb

with multiplier under 10 i get 24xxmb's
with 10 or higher i get 2600mb's

register e4 and e5 are:

multiplier under 10
e4=16
e5=30

multiplier 10 and above

e4=15
e5=16

register f3 changed always if another multiplier is selected

register e4 and e5 only changes between multplier 9,5 and 10

all other register doesn't change

register e4 and e5 seems to have influence of performance!!
but they can't changed with wpcredit

ET please give us a bios version without this failure!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 03:49 AM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

Quote:
Originally posted by baller02
same problem here

with multiplier under 10 i get 2960mb's with sandra membench
@200fsb with sync dual channel (2-4-2-2 timings).
with multiplier 10@ 200fsb i get over 3100 mb's!!!!!

i tried all three bios version which are available and all have the same anomaly

can anyone explain that
if you're leaving the fsb at 200 and altering the multiplier then your sandra mem score will be affected cos it's heavily dependent on cpu speed.
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 04:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

haha kowalski...my last name is Kowalewski . thats pronounced koveleski.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

Quote:
Originally posted by kowalski


if you're leaving the fsb at 200 and altering the multiplier then your sandra mem score will be affected cos it's heavily dependent on cpu speed.
that's not correct. Sandra performance is indeed affected by cpu speed but only a little bit, performance change between 9.5 and 10 multiplier is a lot, believe me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35

I wonder if a bios fix can solve this? hope so
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 11:54 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

they must set register e4 and e5 @ multi under 10 like they are above 10!!!

that's it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 12:03 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

Quote:
Originally posted by eliteone
haha kowalski...my last name is Kowalewski . thats pronounced koveleski.
hehe, it's nothing like my real name, i just like it...
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

dont forget bandwidth is cpu speed dependent as well...
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 12:11 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

they don't believe us galifrey...
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

maybe it's you that don't believe me.... if at 195x10 bandwith is 3050/2860, at 195x9.5 is 28xx/26xx, at 195x9 is 28xx/26xx, at 195x8.5 is 28xx/26xx, what do you think about cpu speed? This is an abnormal behaviour, at least for me...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:32 PM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

"if at 195x10 bandwith is 3050/2860, at 195x9.5 is 28xx/26xx, at 195x9 is 28xx/26xx, at 195x8.5 is 28xx/26xx, what do you think about cpu speed?"

at 195x10 you have 1950mhz... at 195x9.5 you have 1852mhz, at 195x9 you have 1755mhz, at 195x8.5 you have 1657mhz

now try to grasp that Sisoft Sandra's memory benchmark is CPU intensive... meaning, that given the same FSB speed and different CPU speeds, the higher CPU speeds will give better bandwith benchmarks...

That is why you are seeing that using the 10x multiplier has greater bandwith than the other lower multipliers...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

ok, so you can see cpu dependant benchs from 10x to 9.5x, but not from 9.5 to 9? And so on... Do you think it's normal?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

BTW I cannot try 195x10.5 because my cpu can't do that, but I bet bandwith will be better with 10x multiplier
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:57 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

ok, so there's some non-linearity in the scaling relative to CPU speed. Sandra's not the be-all-and-end-all you know. in fact it's not all that at all...

try running unbuffered tests. settings like these:

http://members.madasafish.com/~pevis...unbuffered.jpg

[pic nicked (not hotlinked) from OcUK - cheers Gibbo ]

also try the PCMark memory test, and see what happens...
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

Yeah ditch the cpu dependancy a bit and things will level out...

Kowalski is spot on (sorry bud shoulda read your comment before I added mine)
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 03:21 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

Quote:
Originally posted by Galifrey
Yeah ditch the cpu dependancy a bit and things will level out...

Kowalski is spot on (sorry bud shoulda read your comment before I added mine)
np, you're backing me up mate
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing the FSB/PCI bus ratio on Epox Boards toaster EPoX MotherBoards 6 14th February, 2005 01:58 AM
Epox 8RDA+ multiplier JIDSTER EPoX MotherBoards 4 3rd March, 2003 11:57 AM
8RDA+ wont post after changing fsb to 180 stinger EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th December, 2002 02:42 PM
Changing the Northbridge HSF on the Epox 8k5a3+ kronik EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th November, 2002 03:51 PM
Uploading affects downloading times? Walter:-) Mobile Devices and Networking 10 10th October, 2001 09:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0