AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

8RDA+ FSB Problem

Ok had the board running all yesterday at 12.5 x 187 with no probs, today i turn the machine on to hear some kind of siren going off inside my pc, after a bit of messing in the bios i find i cant now get the machine to boot at the high fsb and am forced to now use 15x 155
any ideas why im having this prob?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 3

I've had the same problem before when I was overclocking my 2200+ I just flash the bios, and then start overclocking slowly and moving up the fsb slowly. I found out that if I move the fsb up too much at a time, it'll give me that sound and I'll have to flash bios again. But when I overclock it slowly, I can get my fsb higher again. I'm running at 2.1 Ghz=2600+ right now with my 2200+ but I'm right now trying to find a better mutil and fsb setting for me. I'm still running the mutil at 13.5, so I'll have to find a lower better setting.
__________________
ATHLON XP 2200+ ( Overclocked to 2.10 GHz = 2600+ 13.5*155)
Vcore @ 1.90
Koolance Exos Liquid Cooling (CPU-200)
Lian-Li Case PC6099B
Epox 8RDA+ nforce2!
DDRAM 512MB PC-2700 CRUCIAL overclocked to (120% 186@ 8 3 3 3.0)
240GB|WD 7200RPM 8MB (3 HDs)
Asus GeForce 3 64MB Deluxe Edition (Overclocked)
500W Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 3

Oh wait, nevermind, you're running at 155 as well with even higher mutil the I. hahaha, ok, I have the same problem then, if I move the fsb any higher, it gives me that sound as well. :P someone help!
__________________
ATHLON XP 2200+ ( Overclocked to 2.10 GHz = 2600+ 13.5*155)
Vcore @ 1.90
Koolance Exos Liquid Cooling (CPU-200)
Lian-Li Case PC6099B
Epox 8RDA+ nforce2!
DDRAM 512MB PC-2700 CRUCIAL overclocked to (120% 186@ 8 3 3 3.0)
240GB|WD 7200RPM 8MB (3 HDs)
Asus GeForce 3 64MB Deluxe Edition (Overclocked)
500W Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 10:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

Bump
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 10:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 109

Same problem at 196MHz. Had to go all the way back to 133MHz and work my way up in 5MHz steps (10MHz didnt work, board crapped when i tried) to get 195MHz again.
__________________
Mr. RAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 10:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

Bugger looks as if this is a common prob then Epox Tech any idea if this will be resolved in a bios update?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

Any idea if the new Bios Fixes this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 39

touch the northbridge heatsink, see if it feels hot?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

very hot, its beyond me why there is no orm of active cooling on it :/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:21 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

platinum are you watercooling or aircooling? with aircooling the airflow off of the heatsink cooles the northbridge fan. Without airflow its gonna get toasty!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:27 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Platinum
very hot, its beyond me why there is no orm of active cooling on it :/
You're probably watercooling. A lot of the watercooling guys have reported that they need something blowing on the NB to keep it cool. At first it was a mystery why for some people it would get extremely hot while for others it was barely warm. It turned out that watercoolers with no fans in the case were having problems. The common solution was to stick a fan somewhere to blow onto the NB or to change the NB heatsink for an active chipset cooler.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

Air cooled, although i am useing a ALPHA PAL8045 which has the fan sucking ranther than blowing on the heatsink
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:31 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Platinum
Air cooled, although i am useing a ALPHA PAL8045 which has the fan sucking ranther than blowing on the heatsink
What's your case airflow like? I'm aircooling and the NB barely gets warm whereas the water guys have commented that they can't keep their finger on it for more than a second or two...
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 39

putting some kind of active (has a fan) based cooling on the NB should hook you up.....you are probably not getting enough airflow across the HS because of how you have your fan on the 8045 blowing......turning the fan around may help......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

2x 80mm intake fans and 4 80mm exaust, im gonna put a fan over it tonight.

Anyhow back to the original question does the bios fix the problem?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:45 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Platinum


Anyhow back to the original question does the bios fix the problem?
It's not a BIOS problem. It's an overheating problem. Once the guys with the hot NBs cooled them down, they reported no problems.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 22

Just got my EP 8rda+

Is it best to keep RAM and CPU speeds in sync or can I get better results with higher cpu fsb (211 mhz) and ram maxed at 180mhz.

Or do I keep ram as high as possible and ride the cpu multiplier with the cpu at a lower speed.

This thing has so many options
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 39

Quote:
Anyhow back to the original question does the bios fix the problem?
the faster the NB runs, the hotter it gets......you run it fast for a while, it heats up and stops working......reset the BIOS, drop the FSB, run it like that for a while, it cools back off.......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 52

Yea i understand that but what i am saying is that now even from a cold boot it wont go to the high FSB striaght away rather i have to up the FSB gradualy, if you read this forum you will see others having the same problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ 2.1 AND O/C problem WinterX EPoX MotherBoards 0 13th February, 2005 12:55 PM
8RDA+ and FSB problem Axel EPoX MotherBoards 0 11th April, 2004 12:16 PM
8RDA+ problem chrislip EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th December, 2003 08:52 PM
8RDA RAM Problem ZIzani EPoX MotherBoards 7 23rd June, 2003 07:15 PM
8rda+ problem? or cpu problem? m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 4 15th May, 2003 09:58 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0