AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:14 AM
Warehouse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 111

8RDA+ Power LED pins

Ok, real simple question, although its buggin me.

What I am doing now is just testing the mobo to see if it works.
I have the PSU, 8RDA+, and a Chieftec Dragon case.

I am wondering about the Power LED. I have tried every combination plugging the connector in(forwards and backwards). There are 5 pins on the Power LED on the 8rda+ and the connector appears to have 3 slots but only 2 connectors on the far sides of it.

I have tried every way to connect it and it doesnt turn on at all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to x-kid

I had the same problem. I never figured it out. And since everything else was fine i didn't worry bout it.

kevin
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:17 AM
Warehouse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 111

yah, i know but its really annoying to have it not work. lol
__________________
~Dan

My Rig:

Athlon XP 2600+ B | EPoX 8RDA3+ REV 3.1 | Corsair 512mb PC3500
WD 80GB SE | SB Audigy Gamer | Logitech Z-680's
Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro | Pioneer 12x DVD | Sony 52x24x52 CD-RW

Water-Cooling System:

D-TEK TC-4 | Eheim 1250 | Pro Core | EVERCOOL 120mm (2)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:25 AM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

Here's the way I got it to work.

Pins 3 & 5 are Power LED.

Green wire pin 3.

White wire pin 5.

These were the wire colors in my 3DCool case.

Luck.

Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sherwood Forest
Posts: 48

Just taking side of my chieftec case and I will be with you in a minute.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:30 AM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

Guys, I had the same problems with mine. I pulled the pin with the white wire out and moved it to the unocupied spot right next to the green wire in the power led conn. then I put it on 3 pins forward from the space between the pins where the pc speaker and reset conn are with the white wire first looking at the mo bo from front to back. It worked for me.
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sherwood Forest
Posts: 48

mine are working ok. Power led is "miss 2 pins to the right of speaker pins and its the last 3 pins that need to be covered"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:36 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

Yeah, basically I moved it two pins right of where it should have been. The lights are still a bit dim but, hey ho, whatcha gonna do.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:38 AM
Warehouse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 111

Quote:
Originally posted by RandyB
Guys, I had the same problems with mine. I pulled the pin with the white wire out and moved it to the unocupied spot right next to the green wire in the power led conn. then I put it on 3 pins forward from the space between the pins where the pc speaker and reset conn are with the white wire first looking at the mo bo from front to back. It worked for me.
ack! you got a picture of that its killing my brain!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sherwood Forest
Posts: 48

**** *****
speaker power led begins on the pin directly above this text

thats the 7th pin btw
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:58 AM
Warehouse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 111

ok i got the power led to go on, but when i turn the powe off via the case front button the power button doesnt go off. It does however go off when i turn the power off on the back of the psu.

heres what i have foudn to work so far.

Reset Speaker Power
** **** *****

The Reset gets 2 pins the speaker gets 3 the power takes one of the speaker pins.
__________________
~Dan

My Rig:

Athlon XP 2600+ B | EPoX 8RDA3+ REV 3.1 | Corsair 512mb PC3500
WD 80GB SE | SB Audigy Gamer | Logitech Z-680's
Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro | Pioneer 12x DVD | Sony 52x24x52 CD-RW

Water-Cooling System:

D-TEK TC-4 | Eheim 1250 | Pro Core | EVERCOOL 120mm (2)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 125

Power led is always on any mobo 1 hot one empty one ground most of the time there are 5 pins where you hook it up it will be on one end or the other of the 5 try reversing the plug to see which wire in your case goes to the anode of the led! RandyB or anyone else who moves there pins this may turn out to be fatally harmful to your mobo by doing that ! No true ground to the led is why it is dim !!!!!
__________________
Epox AD580XR
Athlon FX 62
2X=Patriot PC6400 2048LLK
Saphire X3870
X-Fi Music Extreme
ATI 650 TV Wonder
Western Digital 74 Raid 0
Western Digital 74
Plextor 716A DVD-RW
Plextor PX116A DVD
Antec P160w/side window 1 120mm Blue Led Fans.
Antec NEO HE 550w PSU
GateWay FP2485W
Vista Ultimate
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 04:51 AM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

Warehouse, Are you saying that you are bridging the gap between 6th pin on the the pins for the reset and speaker and the first pin on the forward group for the power led HDD led and the power switch? If so move it forward three pins with the green wire behind the white wire.
I would take a pic with my Digital cam but all you would see is my H2O pump, sorry.
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 07:28 AM
Mark099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 283

There are 5 pins allocated to the power LED. Starting LEFT to RIGHT...

1) use pins 1 and 2 if your case has a 2 pin LED connector
2) use pins 3, 4, and 5 if your case has a 3 pin LED connector
__________________
Mark099!

Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz | Asus K8N-E Deluxe | PNY Verto GeForce FX 5600 Ultra 128MB | 2x 256MB Kingston Hyper-X PC3700 DDR | 80GB Maxtor 8MB 7200RPM HDD | LG 24x10x40x CDRW | Iomega 250MB Zip | Landmark ATX-A70 23" Aluminum Case | Antec 550W TruePower PSU | Windows XP Pro SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 11:27 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

According to the manual for the board, which I downloaded from EPoX...

Pins 1 and 3 are Vcc (positive!) to the LED. You can use either.
Pin 5 is the ground for the LED.

Pins 2 and 4 are not connected (but pin 4 may actually be connected to keyboard lock.)

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 12

I connected pin 3(green) and pin 5(white), but I have only a mid light! How can I have my full light back?
Any idea?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 01:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 12

Epox Support told me that the right pins are 3 and 5.
For the mid light of the power led they said that my blue light needs more power than a green or red light. This seems to me very strange, what do you think about this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 02:02 AM
Mark099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 283

Quote:
Originally posted by evil ryu
Epox Support told me that the right pins are 3 and 5.
For the mid light of the power led they said that my blue light needs more power than a green or red light. This seems to me very strange, what do you think about this?
I am using pins 3 and 5 and my light is dimmer than before. It's not a big deal to me at this point.
__________________
Mark099!

Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz | Asus K8N-E Deluxe | PNY Verto GeForce FX 5600 Ultra 128MB | 2x 256MB Kingston Hyper-X PC3700 DDR | 80GB Maxtor 8MB 7200RPM HDD | LG 24x10x40x CDRW | Iomega 250MB Zip | Landmark ATX-A70 23" Aluminum Case | Antec 550W TruePower PSU | Windows XP Pro SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 06:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

Quote:
Originally posted by revrondo
mine are working ok. Power led is "miss 2 pins to the right of speaker pins and its the last 3 pins that need to be covered"
Same here and moving 2 to right also worked. Guess they mislabeled?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 11:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL.
Posts: 17

Hi everyone.

Does anyone have a full powered LED light? I have my jumper on pins 3-4-5, and I get the dim led. Which is a shame cause I love my blue LED. =/

- D.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bent CPU Pins Just_tweak_it AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 8th November, 2005 02:12 AM
More than twenty pins?? cloasters Intel Motherboards & CPUs 22 31st March, 2005 07:01 PM
Argh! Bent pins! Lazgoat 64 Bit computing 11 26th February, 2005 06:20 PM
can i short the L12 bridge on my cpu using the pins? iklebrit AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 22nd June, 2003 02:11 PM
Vdd mod attempt and soldering pins together! MasterAtArms CRASHED! 2 9th May, 2003 06:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0