AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 08:02 PM
LongRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 25

Unhappy Small problem with 8k5a2+ and RAID

My system:

8k5a2+ with BIOS 11/01/2002
Windows XP SP1
Highpoint 2.34 driver
80 GB IBM ATA 100 HD on RAID Channel 1 Master
80 GB Seagate ATA 100 on RAID Channel 2 Master
...

The problem:

The Highpoint BIOS shows both drives as ATA 100 but the Highpoint GUI 2.31 under Windows shows only ATA 66 in its informations overview.
The drive benchmarks with SiSoft Sandra 2003 are between the reference values for an ATA 66 and an ATA 100 RAID.

The question:

Is the Highpoint Windows GUI not exact or is there any other mistake in my system ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2002, 02:29 PM
CRITTER's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 17

This may be too simple but are you sure you are using cables that support those speeds ?
__________________
8K5A2+
XP1600 Agoia "F" (locked)
512MB Crucial DDR2700 Volcano 9 w/ 2 case fans
PNY GF4 Ti 4400
Tigerpro 420 watt
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2002, 07:40 PM
LongRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 25

Unhappy No

I've tested several different cables
- the one which comes with the board - should be ATA 133
- a cable from my old 8kha+ - should be ATA 100
- a new ATA 133 cable from a local store.

Its always the same thing: The Highpoint Windows GUI shows only ATA 66.

Running the harddisks on the onboard IDE controller is no problem -> Win XP shows UDMA 5 and the performance is as expected.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2002, 08:03 PM
Harryc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New York, U.S.A.
Posts: 225

Try setting the drive's jumpers to cable select. As another check you can run the 'IBM Feature Tool'. It's a DOS boot diskette. It will also display UDMA mode for the IBM drive...lets you change it too. I'd also suggest running a similar utility from Seagate to make sure it is set to run at ATA100. The IBM Feature Tool works on a dual IBM Raid array(mine ), but i am not sure how it will do if you mix drives. Give it a shot. It sounds to me like one of your drives is running at ATA66 and dragging the other one down with it.
__________________

Last edited by Harryc; 16th December, 2002 at 08:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 04:57 PM
LongRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 25

Unhappy No solution

The IBM Feature Tool shows for both HD UDMA 5. Setting the drives back to UDMA 2 -> Highpoint Bios shows ATA 33 -> Highpoint GUI shows ATA 33. Setting the drives back to UDMA 5 -> Highpoint Bios shows ATA 100 -> Highpoint GUI shows ATA 66.

Hmm... mysterious

What about your systems ? Does the Highpoint Windows GUI always shows the correct information ? Is there a known problem with the Highpoint 2.34 driver ? Seems to me that the driver slows the disks down to ATA 66.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 05:26 PM
Harryc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New York, U.S.A.
Posts: 225

Re: No solution

Quote:
Originally posted by LongRed
What about your systems ? Does the Highpoint Windows GUI always shows the correct information ? Is there a known problem with the Highpoint 2.34 driver ? Seems to me that the driver slows the disks down to ATA 66.
No problem that I am aware of. Here is the GUI from my machine.

http://64.38.114.63/Epox/rms.JPG
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k5a2+, Raid, ... dpr EPoX MotherBoards 1 13th August, 2003 02:13 PM
EP-8K5A2+ RAID problem noelek EPoX MotherBoards 1 4th April, 2003 06:05 PM
small problem jamie hayman EPoX MotherBoards 3 3rd April, 2003 08:44 PM
8k5a2+, RAID-0, USB mouse dpr EPoX MotherBoards 5 28th February, 2003 03:47 PM
A Small Embarrassing problem... mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 3 16th May, 2002 08:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0