AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:09 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I've been running at 2.08V for well over 36 hours now(at full CPU load). So I'm pretty sure that this has nothing to do with any voltage limiting factors of the regulator or it's implementation on the EP-8KHA+. According to the regulators spec sheet, it's good for 2.4V maximum.

When I finish up this folding@home work unit, I'll restart and jack the voltage to the sky and run folding@home for a long long while to prove to you guys that this board is certainly capable of higher voltages.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:44 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Ok guys we need to get to the bottom of this:

Dimmreaper,

What PSU are you using???
What cooling are you using???
What are your 5V,3.3V and 12V readings like????


Could you also give details of your Vcore mod you are using, resistors etc. Type of memory your using????
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:44 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I've been running at 2.08V for well over 36 hours now(at full CPU load). So I'm pretty sure that this has nothing to do with any voltage limiting factors of the regulator or it's implementation on the EP-8KHA+. According to the regulators spec sheet, it's good for 2.4V maximum.

When I finish up this folding@home work unit, I'll restart and jack the voltage to the sky and run folding@home for a long long while to prove to you guys that this board is certainly capable of higher voltages.
Jeff....are you running a Morgan core and at what speed? Also, can you describe the method you used for the vcore, i.e resistor type and size. Did you run pin 2 to 17 or pin 2 to a different mobo ground?

PS - Don't fry your processor attempting to prove a point

Even if you're successful, please check out the overclockers forum at Icrontic forums. You'll see alot of people that obviously know their stuff having similiar difficulties as Paul and I. Your success running above 2.03 is the only person I've conversed with able to do it.

PS - Just pulled my 1800 xp and put in my 1.4 gig Tbird that ran 2.2v at 1700 on my former IwillKK266. System won't boot when I set the mobo to 2.05v. Will boot and run Prime95 at 2.03v.

The plot thickens.
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 03:52 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Ok, here is my particular implementation of the Vcore hack. I'm using a 200K resistor between pin 2 and the ground ring, it is soldered to the ground ring as I often run the board outside of a chassis.

More info will be provided later with a screen shot of MBM5 showing my supa-high voltability.
Attached Thumbnails
Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod question!!-mvc-004s.jpg  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:04 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Dimmreaper,

Are you using a 1/4watt or 1/2 watt fixed resistor!!!


Roadrunner has further confirmed the theory!!!
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium

Last edited by Paul.K; 16th November, 2001 at 04:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:05 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Ok, here is my particular implementation of the Vcore hack. I'm using a 200K resistor between pin 2 and the ground ring, it is soldered to the ground ring as I often run the board outside of a chassis.

More info will be provided later with a screen shot of MBM5 showing my supa-high voltability.
well, I ran a 1/4 watt 250k ohm variable resistor soldered to Pin 2 with a wire screwed under one of my mobo screws so I can easily undo the mod if needed.

Jeff did you read my post on my Tbird that ran 2.2 in another mobo yet has same problem as my 1800xp on my 8KHA+ ?
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:12 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

It is a 1/4W resistor which I purchased from radioshack.com on a thursday.

Yes, I read the Tbird no go @ 2.2 postage.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:38 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Ok here is my "special" regulator cooling. It is 50x50x10mm fan held on by 3M brand scotch tape, which I applied through a proprietary process that's actualy been proven to regrow hair . . .
Attached Thumbnails
Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod question!!-mvc-006s.jpg  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 16th November, 2001 at 04:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:41 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Ok here is my "special" regulator cooling. It is 50x50x10mm fan held on by 3M brand scotch tape, which I applied through a proprietary process that's actual been proven to regrow hair . . .
well...I've got a little chipset fan like that. I'll try the same a littlle leter today.
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:48 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

How do you attach it to the voltage regulator chip???? What scotch tape it to what though????


Please describe???
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:54 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

And now the MBM5 screen shot. Note the Vcore please. The Vagp is not 1.5V as most of you will see with your configuration as I FUBARed my GF2MX, and am running a PCI graphics adapter until my fix-it parts come in. Note that the CPU speed is roughly 1GHz. It is so because the purpose of this experiment is to determine if the board is stable with the Vcore hack in place while running high voltages, as such I isolated a single variable(control variable I believe is the term). I will run at this voltage for 6 or so hours, and if it is 100% stable, I will remove the Vcore hack and run this same configuration at the CPUs default Vcore to ensure that it too is stable.

System configuration:

EP-8KHA+, board labled as "REV2.0" Serial# "-011002001065"
Single Crucial 256MB CAS2.5 DDRSDRAM DIMM at BIOS default of 2.6V
Morgan 1GHz, stepping AHHAA
Ovislink LFE-8139ATX-C Fast Ethernet Adapter in PCI2
Generic 4MB S3 Virge DX Graphics adapter in PCI1
Millenium Thermal Solutions Glaciator1 CPU heatsink
Sparkle 350W, Model FSP350-60BN, trimmer pots tweaked.
Attached Thumbnails
Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod question!!-2.2v.gif  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:56 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Paul.K
How do you attach it to the voltage regulator chip???? What scotch tape it to what though????


Please describe???
It's just taped to five of the capacitors on the board. Quick and dirty yankee style . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 16th November, 2001 at 05:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:59 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Dimmreaper,

You are the master.....well done!!! Did you use the 200Kohm resistor to reach 2.2volts or what???? Or did you use a smaller resistance??


Let us know if it is stable after your testing???


Also could you possibly run your morgan at an overclock once you know your board is stable at that Vcore


Thanks Dimmreaper

Thats what makes this forum one of the best on the net!!!!
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium

Last edited by Paul.K; 16th November, 2001 at 05:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:03 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Please refer to my notes on Vcore hack implementation.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:46 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Dimmreaper,

Dont forget to post if your system is stable at 2.2Volts......
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:48 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

well....I added a small fan taped to the capacitors as Jeff did and no go...system reboots at 2.08v if I try and run anything stressful.

I would note Jeff that you are running a Morgan and that Paul, I and others are running xp's. Keep in mind again, that there are numerous others that can run there xp's at 2.2-2.3v in for example Abit KG7's but can't run above roughly 2.05 with the same proc in a their 8KHA+'s. Also, as noted earlier, I can stick a Tbird in that can run at 2.2v in an IWillKK266, yet craps out at the same voltage on the 8KHA+ that craps out with my XP.

Perhaps the voltage relationship between the 8KHA regulator and your Morgan is somehow different than that of the 8KHA+ regulator and an XP processor. We are not quite comparing apples to apples here.
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty

Last edited by Road_Runner; 16th November, 2001 at 05:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:54 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

It would be very interesting to see if you (Dimmreaper) could borrow an XP from one of your mates and test it with the Vcore setting of 2.2Volts. And then we could conclude the findings????
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:56 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This is good to see you guys working around these issues and trying things creatively and constructively. Meanwhile I just killed another XP loading it through a pin-pad into the mainboard ready for vapo-chill !!

I never break them with the vapochill, but with the riser I put the CPU into before using it !!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 05:59 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
This is good to see you guys working around these issues and trying things creatively and constructively. Meanwhile I just killed another XP loading it through a pin-pad into the mainboard ready for vapo-chill !!

I never break them with the vapochill, but with the riser I put the CPU into before using it !!
ouch...

curious....Mr Epox guy...why aren't you running an 8KHA+. Your'e using an 8K7A instead.
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 06:00 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Sorry to hear that Epox Tech!!!!!!!! If you like ot offer some input please do!!!!!
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8kha+ question twilson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 7th November, 2004 06:49 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Question hotlips69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 25th April, 2004 05:20 AM
HEy Epox Guy! 8kha+ question... JTPokie EPoX MotherBoards 3 31st January, 2002 07:14 PM
Vcore Mod for Epox 8KHA Jen EPoX MotherBoards 5 2nd November, 2001 06:30 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Question? Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd October, 2001 02:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0