AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 02:02 AM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod Issue!! (Epox Tech help!!)

Thanks in advance guys!!!

Now after running my XP1900+ for a few hours at default speed I decided to increase the FSB to 150 which gave me a reading of 1800Mhz. Now my Vcore mod on my Epox 8KHA+ was completed several weeks ago. My problem is, whenever I increase my Vcore to 2.05+ my system will load into XP no problem and I can play games for 30-minutes to 1 hour after that the machine reboots. Now if I increase the Vcore to 2.1volts it will load into XP but opening a intensive application will cause the machine to reboot. I then tried it with a lower Vcore setting at it ran again for 30 to 1 hour duration before rebooting. Whats the reason for this???
Also for your information I have a Sparkle 400Watt PSU modified to provide a high 5volt and 3.3 volt lines.

Please help because I know this chip can do 1.85Ghz+!!!!

Please note the machine operates fawlessly with a Vcore of 2.01 volts and I have experienced no reboots.

I have a 220 linear pot connected to pin2 and this is earthed too my drive bay lever................


Thanks for all your help!!!

Anyone experiencing the same problem I'm having???
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium

Last edited by Paul.K; 14th November, 2001 at 04:10 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 02:13 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I had the same issues Paul. A fan blowing on the voltage regulator corrected it.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 02:36 AM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

dimmreaper,

I have a small heatsink on mine. However how much of an increase in Vcore could you achieve with a fan blowing on the VRegulator chip, before the rebooting aquired. I have to say my IWill KK266R could reach 2.34volts and had no rebooting issues. Could it be also that the motherboard has a onboard protection circuit thats does not allow the Vcore above a certain voltage level?????? Or could it be because of a varying Vcore a high voltage spike could trigger the voltage protection mechanism on the board....


I wish I could reach 2.2Volts!!!!!!!
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 02:45 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Without the fan, I couldn't run for very long at any voltage with my 200K resistor in place. Anything above 2.05V would wuss out with a 220K resistor in place.

We just have got to remember that this part was never really intended to function this way. When you push the envalope, sometimes problems arise, and you have to deal with them.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 03:58 AM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Hey Dimmreaper,


I'm just after doing a few experiments, now I attached a fan to the voltage regulator chip which was pushing 30cfm of air on to the chip. These are my results,

2.14 Volts boots to Win XP but soon after reboots
2.1 boots to WinXP but after 20mins-45mins reboots
2.08 same as 2.1volts
2.04 no problems.


From the above results I dont think temperature is an issue here since placing a fan on the voltage regulator chip made no difference my Vcore. I can only conclude that the chip or some other factor does not like a Vcore above 2.04 volts......

Maybe Epox Tech can help!!!!
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 04:06 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Paul.K
Maybe Epox Tech can help!!!!
I sure hope so . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

might be the psu fading cos of the tweaking. didn't you have issues like that, jeff?
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 07:39 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by proze
might be the psu fading cos of the tweaking. didn't you have issues like that, jeff?
Nope . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 07:48 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Paul.K, wonder if it is some type of problem with your Vfb circuit spiking or surging for some reason. This would, in theory, cause the voltage regulator to "throttle back", and actual Vcore to drop off. I dunno, just trying to throw some Idea's out for yah . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 07:51 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

In my findings Athlon XP is both very variable in overclocking performance and also is not too keen on voltage unless cooled sub zero or at max to about 4° or 5°C above.

It does tend to freak at the high voltages unless active cooled - perhaps due to the fact that the "smaller" part of the core does not like the voltage. A small portion of the Palomino core is manufactured on a hybrid process that appears to be smaller than dot one eight according to some professional articles.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: a waterblock
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to Below Ambient Send a message via Yahoo to Below Ambient

TOO HOT!!! i found that after mounting a remote sensor onto the side of my core that the onboard sensor is in between 13-22C off the actual chip temperature... your chip is WAY too hot... i consider 1.95 the absolute max for air-cooling..... any more and i get reboot problems no matter what board im using....
__________________
B.A.....ICQ#33691781.....Epox 8K7A, 1800XP@1.89Ghz, JK Fab WB and chiller w 2x122W pelts, Prophet Ultra, 512mb OCZ PC-2400, 2x30=58.6gb of Promise Fastraxed IBM GXP, 28.5gb Seagate Backup, TDK Velo-CD 16x10x40x ( IA says its a Plextor ), Creative 16x DVD, Toshiba 32x CD-reads subchannel , Santa Cruz TB, Enermax 651VE, Altec ATP5, Logitech Cordless KB and Mouse, NEC Fe950 Flatscreen, and not a single fan in my case, blah, blah, blah, ...anyone have a longer sig?...zzzzzzzzzzzzz

http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?1989990 3DM2k1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 07:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: a waterblock
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to Below Ambient Send a message via Yahoo to Below Ambient

oh yeah BTW not to be too negative but you're having the EXACT same problem i had with my 8KHA+ and i finally just took it out and put my 8K7A back in....im thinking that certain batches of 8KHA+'s had voltage problems and doing a volt mod just makes things worse....in my experience
__________________
B.A.....ICQ#33691781.....Epox 8K7A, 1800XP@1.89Ghz, JK Fab WB and chiller w 2x122W pelts, Prophet Ultra, 512mb OCZ PC-2400, 2x30=58.6gb of Promise Fastraxed IBM GXP, 28.5gb Seagate Backup, TDK Velo-CD 16x10x40x ( IA says its a Plextor ), Creative 16x DVD, Toshiba 32x CD-reads subchannel , Santa Cruz TB, Enermax 651VE, Altec ATP5, Logitech Cordless KB and Mouse, NEC Fe950 Flatscreen, and not a single fan in my case, blah, blah, blah, ...anyone have a longer sig?...zzzzzzzzzzzzz

http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?1989990 3DM2k1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:47 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Below Ambient
the onboard sensor is in between 13-22C off the actual chip temperature
I've done extensive amounts of thermal solution testing with my board. I can't really go in depth about why I've done so much testing, as this would violate the forums policy on advertisement. IMO your WAY off base here. I've found my board to report temperatures 2-3 degrees higher than those determined by the method recommended in the AMD Thermal, Mechanical, and Chassis Cooling Design Guide.

I have found that different thermistors will report the same temperature differently. This could lead to a difference of several degrees when comparing motherboards of the same make and model. But still, your experience is radically different from mine, too different for me to accept as fact.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 09:14 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This is something I have done a lot of work with and the figure of 13-22°C can only be a complete fabrication.

Jeff states correctly the implementation within the specification tolerance of the AMD whitepaper.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 05:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

erm.. i have cpu temp measurement that i'm pretty sure is almost 100% accurate, and i get the difference between my mobo and real temp to be 3C MAX. the motherboard thermistor on my 8kha is prolly 2C too low on average. it's less of a difference at higher temps than lower ones, which i suppose is also good. more accuracy at higher temps is what you want.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 06:21 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

same problem here alluded to in thread I posted a few minutes ago here...Can you Epox guys help here?
My 8KHA+/1800xp runs great at 1770 at 2.03v with a 250k ohm resistor for the vcore mod. if I give it the slgihtest bit more voltage(1 fsb higher), all hell breaks loose with random reboots, or won't boot at all (dies trying to get in Win2k). Prime95 will kill it immediately and reboot the system at anything higher fsb/voltage-wise. And this can be with the temp showing 35c. I can run 1770 Prime95 all day long and hit 38c for hours with no problems.

Don't think it's heat related as I run 35c idle and 38c load using onboard thermistor on pretty well cooled watercooled system.

Currently at 24c sys temp and 34c proc temp. I just know this chip has alot more than 1770 in it.

And yes, I am plagued with the reboot/use rest button issue as well.
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 07:04 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Road_Runner
same problem here alluded to in thread I posted a few minutes ago here...Can you Epox guys help here?
My 8KHA+/1800xp runs great at 1770 at 2.03v with a 250k ohm resistor for the vcore mod. if I give it the slgihtest bit more voltage(1 fsb higher), all hell breaks loose with random reboots, or won't boot at all (dies trying to get in Win2k). Prime95 will kill it immediately and reboot the system at anything higher fsb/voltage-wise. And this can be with the temp showing 35c. I can run 1770 Prime95 all day long and hit 38c for hours with no problems.

Don't think it's heat related as I run 35c idle and 38c load using onboard thermistor on pretty well cooled watercooled system.

Currently at 24c sys temp and 34c proc temp. I just know this chip has alot more than 1770 in it.

And yes, I am plagued with the reboot/use rest button issue as well.
I've just made you a response in the other thread
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 07:56 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


I've just made you a response in the other thread
thanks...got it.
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:20 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

BTW - love the RoadRunner graphics indeed.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:23 PM
Road_Runner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 32

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
BTW - love the RoadRunner graphics indeed.
Thanks.................beep beep.........
__________________

1800XP @ 1.79 at 2.03v on liquid
Epox 8KHA+ Running 11.5x156
Visiontek GeForce3 Ti500 @ 280/615 - 72 watt Pelt
256 Megs Corsair XMS2400
Win2K Pro
3DMark2001 - Exactly 10,000 Default
http://gamershq.madonion.com/product...&dprid=1977730
Quake3 FPS - Plenty
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8kha+ question twilson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 7th November, 2004 06:49 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Question hotlips69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 25th April, 2004 05:20 AM
HEy Epox Guy! 8kha+ question... JTPokie EPoX MotherBoards 3 31st January, 2002 07:14 PM
Vcore Mod for Epox 8KHA Jen EPoX MotherBoards 5 2nd November, 2001 06:30 PM
Epox 8KHA+ Question? Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd October, 2001 02:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0