AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

8RDA+ Barton Support

Okay, this may get moved, and I fully support Daniels right to do so

BUT....

This is a lejitimate question...

Latest 8RDA+ bios supports Barton CPU's

As these are 200 FSB CPU's, what speed is the PCI bus with this chip?

I am assuming its got to be 33mhz right?

(note extreme lack of dividers question in this)
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:28 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

it is interesting question... because the latest official bios... it says it add support for barton core... (which is 200mhz)

How is 8rda+ gonna support Barton core without certain feature? unless maybe 8rda+ does have those features.... well... I dunno... can ET or holst give us info on 8RDA+ and Barton compatiblity issue?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:38 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

LOL, I highly doubt they have permission to answer those kind of questions, but I guess it doesn't hurt to ask. If there is no answer in a day or so, It would be safe to assume that ET and Holst are not allowed to talk about the issue.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:42 AM
Toasted Comp's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 75

I think the Barton is the next CPU I will be getting for a while...the Hammer looks like it will be way to expensive and you will half to have a 64bit OS to run it...

By the way these CPU's are overclocking it looks like I will have fun with that thing when it comes out
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 02:12 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

This is really more a CPU question....but hey who would foolish enough not to use an EPoX to run it?":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 03:25 AM
justshawnf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to justshawnf

If you are to believe Anandtech (and I tend to believe them), Barton will initially ship at 166Mhz FSB (333DDR). At least according to their article here:
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1755&p=4

I'd have to agree. AFAIK 400DDR has not been 'officially' approved, so it makes sense that Barton would start at 333DDR and that the 8rda+ (which officially supports 333DDR) would be able to run it.

Edit - spelling
__________________

Last edited by justshawnf; 17th December, 2002 at 03:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 05:33 AM
Casey_3w's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to Casey_3w

I'd be pretty disappointed if the 8RDA+ doesn't support the 400mhz Bartons when they finally turn up. I'm used to getting more than one CPU upgrade per motherboard, and the main reason I switched from intel to AMD was because they seem to keep changing the sockets on purpose to sell more motherboards. Well, that and the whole RDRAM mess.

My 8KHA+ board was great, but VIA seems to be playing the 'planned obsolescence' game with their incremental implementation of divisors in each successive chipset.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

ssssssh keep quiet about 166mhz bartons its the 200mhz ones I want to know about
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 05:09 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Barton at 166fsb is supported.

As far im aware AMD hasnt officially announced and 200fsb parts so I cant comment.

Please note that thats a "I cant comment" not a yes or no, please dont get yourselves banned asking dumb questions.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 05:16 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

I was just about to say before I read Holst's post that if the latest bios supported Bartons @ 200fsb then surely there would be an option in the bios to select 200fsb the same as you can for 100/133/166 (under optimal) without manually having to put 200fsb in as the frequecy. This therefore means that Bartons may only be 166 so begin with?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst

Please note that thats a &quot;I cant comment&quot; not a yes or no, please dont get yourselves banned asking dumb questions.
Damn he's good....

I would trust this man with any secret of mine

please close this thread Daniel before anyone tries to violate me, er the rules...
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will 8rda+ support Barton unlocking? nucl3arboNg EPoX MotherBoards 3 30th July, 2003 03:28 AM
8RDA+ Max. CPU Support mrochester EPoX MotherBoards 10 7th July, 2003 11:17 PM
8RDA+ Support for Barton 3200 buzz_lips EPoX MotherBoards 33 19th May, 2003 04:52 PM
does the ??? support the 2500+ barton? athlonboi EPoX MotherBoards 2 7th April, 2003 06:05 PM
will dual's support barton? dropadrop EPoX MotherBoards 9 19th September, 2002 11:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0