AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 12:13 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

epox techi HELP! 8RDA bios dead after hanging while flashing.

hi, went to flash my 8RDA+ this morning with the 12th dec bios and everything was going fine untill the thing stopped dead while flashing the last quarter of the bios.
i've seen this loads before as i used to work repairing pc's and building them. usually hotswapping and reflashing sorts it.

what i need is a flash program that will FORCE a bios onto the chip, i've tried hot swapping the bios chip on a kt333 mobo, booting to dos then swapping the chips over and then trying to reflash the 8rda bios, but it just says the chipset is incorrect, i've looked at all the switches in awdflash but i cant see a force flash switch anywhere.

does anyone know anything that can flash this dead bios chip with the new bios on a diff board(8K3A)? i dont have access to any other nforce 2 mobo's.

Help my motherboard is dead!

Soul99
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 12:56 PM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

Man without having another nForce2 board handy......
believe I would contact Epox and purchase a new
BIOS chip.
They are not that expensive. Just means a little down
time.

Luck.

Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:04 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

i got bigger problems now, i think i managed to flash the chip using winflash and doing it when in winxp.
upon removing the bios chip for about the 5th time i broke some of the brown surrounding off the bios socket thus loosening and removing one of the pins!!!!
have you ever tried soldiering a bios chip leg to your motherboard while not damaging any other the other legs, it aint easy. anywasy it booted up with an 0d error with isnt even listed in the motherboard manual gay nforce 2 why cant it be techi freindly for a change, and why dont it read sub zero temps!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Soul99
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:12 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

you ********************! good now i got that out my system.
well its still just beeping at me and dispite my exelent soldier job its not posting.
if i go to the trouble to unsoldier it out put it back in this board you thing theres any chance of geting a proogy to flash it properly?

Soul99
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 01:29 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

ok that is just soo anoing, working 100% thismorning to 100%dead board this afternoon all cus of a ****ing bios upgrade.
should have ****ing worked after the effort i put into fixing it someone give me a break please!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 02:39 PM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

Sorry 'bout your frustration.

Personally I can't work on hardware while I'm

frustrated or I compound the problems and

get myself into deep doo-doo.


Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 02:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

Hmmm so it was prying the bios chip out that borked it was it?

Firstly sounds like you might not have been using the correct version of awdflash (you need 8.22a for this mobo)...

I have used the winflash utility everytime without incident, now you have physically damaged the hardware ot is going to be difficult to diagnose and fix with any degree of accuracy...

You may have to put this one down to experience and get yourself a new mobo (and a bios removal tool for the future)

Best way to remove a surface mount type bios without the correct tool is not to pry out with a screwdriver, but rather to get a paperclip, bend the last 1mm into an L and then hook this under one corner and pull... Prying out just stresses the outer bios socket...
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 03:22 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

Quote:
Originally posted by Galifrey
Best way to remove a surface mount type bios without the correct tool is not to pry out with a screwdriver, but rather to get a paperclip, bend the last 1mm into an L and then hook this under one corner and pull... Prying out just stresses the outer bios socket...
or of course, one of these...

http://members.madasafish.com/~pevis...puller2160.jpg
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Camden
Posts: 44

Would that not be said "correct tool"?
__________________
____________________
AMD Athlon XP2700+ | SLK-800 w/ 80mm YS-Tech | Epox 8RDA+ w/ Crystal Orb on NB | 1GB Corsair XMS3500 | Hercules 9700 Pro | SB Audigy Platinum eX | WD 120gb | Coolermaster ATCS-201 | Samsung 181T | winXP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 04:51 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Which board did you break ?

NF2 or 8k3a+ ?

0d indicates a bad bios or damaged mainboard (you may have both)

Your only hope to recover the board will be to flash the chip (providing it isnmt broken) then get it back into the board.
Try not to get the chip too hot if you solder it im not sure how extreme temperature will affect the CMOS, probably not very well.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 06:23 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

Quote:
Originally posted by Arsenal
Would that not be said "correct tool"?
um, indeed yes. forgive my lack of observancy
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 09:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Soul99,

Once the socket is cracked it doesn't provide enough tension to the chip contacts. If the socket isn't too torn up, here's a trick that works sometimes... use a zip tie around the socket to hold it together. If it still doesn't work, you could always do a non-warranty repair with Epox.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 12:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

Quote:
Originally posted by kowalski


um, indeed yes. forgive my lack of observancy
no I wont...

/me slaps kowalski
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 01:09 AM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

*ouch* i'm havin that biccy back now
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NPA+SLI Raid Dead after flashing BIOS. lemo EPoX MotherBoards 0 15th July, 2005 02:49 PM
Epox 8RDA+ burnt mark, dead board. (pictures to come) hackeron CRASHED! 21 5th April, 2004 09:28 AM
8rda+ Flashing Bios screen HELP Shz EPoX MotherBoards 3 24th December, 2002 04:24 PM
Epox 8rda+ dead quiet stinger EPoX MotherBoards 5 30th November, 2002 07:15 PM
HELP! Is my epox 4g4a+ Bios Dead??? Poohbee EPoX MotherBoards 6 29th October, 2002 12:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0