AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 10:58 PM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

quick bios reset on 8rda+

when i clock my rig higher then possible, my system reboots or doesnt even boot, well thats not really a problem, but the problem is, after i reset, the bios will not auto reset the data to default.

so the only way to get my system running i have to clear the CMOS...

isnt there a hotkey for a quick bios reset???

ive heard that on other epox boards, like the 8k3a insert is the key to reset the CMOS and on the 8k9a its also insert...

i hope someone can help me, because im getting tired of flipping my case over moving the jumper...

thanx for the help...
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 11:14 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Does it have "Watchdog" in the BIOS? if so USE IT!!!

Hit the insert key as soon as you see a boot screen, del sometimes works as well. hit these keys repeatedly and fast!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 11:17 PM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

no it doesnt... too bad... someone else also mentioned that to me, i've seen that feature on the 8k3a, but the 8rda doesnt have that feature....

and btw; there isnt any bootscreen, i mean, i power on, everything starts to spin, but it just won't boot....
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 11:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Power off
Hold down insert key
Power on

Works every time for me...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 11:19 PM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

yeah, but what board do you have then???

like i just said, i dont have that watch dog thing....

and you mean, holding the key, or do i have to bash it several times???
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

I have 8RDA+
When overclocking to much and rig doesn´t fire up I do like this:
Power off.
Hold down insert
Power on.
When the monitor get signal I hit delete to enter Bios.
In Bios I change the settings.
Reboot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2002, 11:49 PM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

cool!! i'll give it a try then....

thanx.... ;-)

edit:// btw what cpu do you have??? and how high do you clock your rig???/

here in holland on the hardware forums there are a lot ppl with problems with overheating of the north and southbridge because of a too high FSB...
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 12:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

yup we having same problems here....

needs an active NB cooler and a passive sb cooler
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 12:07 AM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

a Passive SB cooler??? there is already a passive heatsink on the SB i thought....

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/...epox/board.jpg

i mean what is that silver thing then, just next to the AGP slot???
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 12:14 AM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

OFF topic:

// galifrey: btw your 3dmark link isnt right... i see a rig with a P4 in it.. and in your sig it sais XP2700
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

yeah sorry bud, its all screwed since madonion changed the website, cant post my latest scores...

the passice sb cooler was never shipped, but the holes match for a nb cooler to be added...

2 crystal orbs will sort if your real keen
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 12:30 AM
turbulenceNL's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 7

lol, it never got my attention that there wasn't a passive cooler on the SB....

well i'll see if i can get me some silent coolers.... no thermaltake, they make way too much noise

btw: do you think that my Samsung PC2700 memory won't be a bottleneck when i clock very high...
__________________
ladys and gentleman, please fasten your seatbelts because we might experience some turbulence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Constantly having to reset BIOS / 8KDA3J quigs EPoX MotherBoards 5 31st August, 2004 08:45 PM
Booting impossible- RESET needed ( 8rda+) toXicbluE EPoX MotherBoards 16 31st January, 2003 09:37 AM
Reset and siren on 8rda+ ankit EPoX MotherBoards 3 17th January, 2003 05:26 AM
8RDA+ C1 error on reset Crysalis EPoX MotherBoards 2 12th December, 2002 02:13 PM
How to reset the 8K3A+ bios... Rupbert EPoX MotherBoards 1 11th April, 2002 08:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0