AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 5

PSU problem??

Hi all

Thanks to the folks on this forum, I have been running my XP2200+ on 8RDA+ at 200 * 10 - and quite pleasing it is too! All games and benchmark apps seemed solid but if I try to Stress Test with Prime95 I crash out with a miscalculation every time. Today I have been playing BF1942 and have crashed out of that about 4 times. I guess I'll have to drop my FSB again and check it (I'm using Corsair XMS 3200 so it should be ok), but meanwhile using MBM5 I have noticed that when the cpu is under load my +5v line drops to 4.68v!! I have a nasty suspicion this could be a/the problem. but what do you think? I am using a 2-yr old Enermax 431 watt PSU which I think is good quality...


Tx in advance
Bertie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 09:39 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Enermax PSUs pre-2002 have reported problems maintaining voltages on the 5V line. There's a good chance you are having a power problem. I had a 435W Enermax that couldn't sufficiently power my 8KHA+. I ended up getting a Sparkle and it solved all my power problems.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

I´ll second that.
Enermax powerupplys has given me nothing but trouble.
Maybe the newer one are better but the older ones had very weak 5V line.

Try another quality power supply, I think that will solve your problems.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 5

OK thanks. But before I go out and spend £60 on a new PSU does 4.68v on the +5v line sound particularly bad? What voltages are everyone else getting under load?

Thx
Bertie
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

4.68 under load is BAD.
I have ~4.95 under full load.
XP2400@2350 with 1.95 vcore.

Note that if you give more vcore and OC the CPU the 5V drops even more.
I guess the PSU is your problem.
To make sure, try to loan a better PSU before you buy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2002, 11:45 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

It MIGHT be the cause of your problems. I have one machine with a 8KHA+ and, according to MBM which has it's own issues, the 5V line drops all the way down to 4.5V. It's always under load so it's always at 4.5V to 4.6V. At first I found it disconcerting, but it's perfectly stable, so I leave it alone. It's been running perfectly fine for 6 months now.

The onboard monitoring done by the Winbond monitoring thing is NOT terribly accurate. For all I know, it could be at 5.5V and about to burn everything out. Everyone says to check voltages with a multimeter.

Ok, now that out of the way. I have another 8KHA+, which will absolutely not stay stable once the 5V line, again according to MBM, drops below 4.72V. Which is the lowest I've seen it before it either reboots or freezes. I swapped that PSU (an Enermax) for a Sparkle and haven't had any problems since.

I think you should take Caper's suggestion to heart and try to borrow one before you actually buy it. Who knows, maybe your Enermax is fine...
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2002, 12:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Interesting that the 2 8KHA+ differs how low voltage they are stable.
You learn something new every day

I got tired of Enermax when I had 8K7A wich was a great board but it needs o good powersupply that have stong 5V line.
Bought a PC Power&Colling and never had any problems.
That PSU don´t come cheap though, many have good experiences with Antec and Sparkle for instance.

I think Sparkle is also pretty low priced?
Haven´t seen them here in Sweden so I can´t say for sure.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2002, 01:17 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Yep, 4.68V on the +5V line is definitely not good.
Had the same problem with ENERMAX PSU, but I hear they corrected the problem in their new products.
Still, I won't try that myself
Antec, Enhance and PC Power and Cooling sound very good.

BTW, about ENERMAX, doesn't it sound strange that their 430W PSU's are rated 36A on +5V, 36A on +3.3V and 33A on +12V ? I mean, there are many excellent PSUs, much better than ENERMAX, rated for higher output, that don't have such high Amperage on +12V line, or on the other lines as well.
Makes you wonder if Enermax can really keep their promise, doesn't it ?
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2002, 01:28 AM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

I am having problems with the Antec trupower 430 watt I just bought for my new system the 5V rail is solid at 5.05 with a multi meter at the Molex conn. My problem is with the 12 v it is at 11.79
just surfing and drops to 11.69 when fully stressed. I didn't have this problem until I raised the voltages up for the cpu and mem. and ran the FSB up to 208 with the mem running sync my benchmarks are off as well. PC mark was really off. I wish I could adjust the pots but from what I have been told the newer true powers are not adjustable. I can't return it as it works fine when everything is run in spec. The funny thing is the system is rock stable and the only time it becomes unstable is when I turn on my cold cathode lights then she hard locks which tells me it has to be a psu problem. So I'll back things down and just use and enjoy it until I can afford a new higher quality PSU with more wattage than I'll ever use that will never give me any problems such as the PC power and cooling. I have had trouble now with both the Enermax EG365 P (low 5V) and now the Antec True Power.
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem running 1T, Possible bios problem? Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 9 7th August, 2005 11:23 PM
o/c problem,KHX 3200A or NF7-Sv2.0 problem bostjan AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 2nd December, 2003 02:16 PM
8rda+ problem? or cpu problem? m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 4 15th May, 2003 09:58 AM
Big problem with 8k5a2+ new problem Raedon EPoX MotherBoards 17 8th November, 2002 06:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0