AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 61

Kingston HyperX PC3500 review with 8RDA+

http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/king...perx3500p1.htm


Though only with a single stick of 512mb this module should perform better than this. Obviously not all sticks will act or behave the same on any given board.

My advice to all searching for new ram research as much as possible before you spend.

For all your XMS3500 users out there having issues, Corsair test their modules rated to 217 or 234. Be careful here they actually test on a KT400 board with the memory already set to 200mhz in the bios then slowly raising the fsb of the chip which we all know is called async not sync running your memory and fsb 1:1 ratio. That reason alone is why I don't buy Corsair.
__________________
8RDA+
XP2400 at 11.5x215 sync 2.0v.
TwinMos 512/-5ns chips
MSI G4 Ti4600
2 WD800JB 8mb
TDK velo cd/rw
Pioneer dvd
GTXP
CS Megaworks 510d
Logitech Momo wheel
Logitech Force 3D
Win2k/fat32
TTGI 520wt. PS
Dtek TC-4>eheim 1250>heatercore

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5617626
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 04:07 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Do you have any details on how Twinmos test ?

I agree that running KT 400 with memory at 4:6 ratio isnt as agressive as running 234 sync.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 04:31 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

i have 2x256mb twinmos pc3200 with twinmos chips(some are with winbond chips).

i can reach 213mhz sync in dual channel mode with 2422 timings on my 8rda+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 61

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst
Do you have any details on how Twinmos test ?

I agree that running KT 400 with memory at 4:6 ratio isnt as agressive as running 234 sync.
I have tested TwinMOs, Geil, Xtremeddr PC3200 and PC3500 since I replaced my board.

What I can tell is the TwinMos are the better modules. Running dual channel with these have been a dream.

My board though undervolts just alittle getting only 2.86v on the vdimm when set to 2.90. I'm still able to boot into windows at 225fsb cas2,2,2,7 and bench some. I'm running that at 215 at the moment but for some reason cannot run 3dmark but I have at 210 with ease.

I'm trying to get on OCZ's beta testing program. I think I bad mouth them enough that they might just want to keep me quite by sending me some freebies.

I do like the Xtremeddr though. They only use Samsung chips and we all know what good performers the PC2700 was and how bad the TC4 chips are but James at Xtremeddr worked his PCB magic and came up with some good stuff. Not cas2 aggressive since his sticks have a locked SPD file but able to reach high speeds otherwise.

I don't know if you saw this............http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5378194

But thats TwinMos at 210 dual channel cas2,2,2,5. The only reason why that score is so high is bandwidth. With the right setup anyone will be able to accomplish this. No tricks here. 15k easily in reach with some AS3 and leveling out the gpu core with alittle bit of sanding.
__________________
8RDA+
XP2400 at 11.5x215 sync 2.0v.
TwinMos 512/-5ns chips
MSI G4 Ti4600
2 WD800JB 8mb
TDK velo cd/rw
Pioneer dvd
GTXP
CS Megaworks 510d
Logitech Momo wheel
Logitech Force 3D
Win2k/fat32
TTGI 520wt. PS
Dtek TC-4>eheim 1250>heatercore

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5617626
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

I had slightly better luck with 2 hyperx's than 2 twinmos -5 winbonds, but I acn't complete 3d using dual even in the high 190's. Right now I have everything maxed out at 205 with the hyperx's in slots 2 & 3. I haven't tried any higher.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 61

Quote:
Originally posted by xgman
I had slightly better luck with 2 hyperx's than 2 twinmos -5 winbonds, but I acn't complete 3d using dual even in the high 190's. Right now I have everything maxed out at 205 with the hyperx's in slots 2 & 3. I haven't tried any higher.
List your specs maybe I can help.
__________________
8RDA+
XP2400 at 11.5x215 sync 2.0v.
TwinMos 512/-5ns chips
MSI G4 Ti4600
2 WD800JB 8mb
TDK velo cd/rw
Pioneer dvd
GTXP
CS Megaworks 510d
Logitech Momo wheel
Logitech Force 3D
Win2k/fat32
TTGI 520wt. PS
Dtek TC-4>eheim 1250>heatercore

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5617626
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

Crystal orb on NB, sink on SB, Nvidia unified 2.0, c16 beta bios currently, TITG 520 PS, Abit 4600 w/ 41.09 drivers, 2 - 512 Hyperx 3500's, (currently in slots 2 & 3)audigy, Highpoint sata raid pci adaptor (optional), 1 maxtor ide plus9 and one WD. I have tried the wd on the sata adaptor and on ide and it makes little difference. The maxtor is on the sata card.

Running at the moment 5-2-2-2 "cpu interface to "agressive" (which I think is basically "cpu fast decode", 2800+ at 2460 or so with slk800 and at 1.92v. Vdimm at 1.9v and agp at 1.5v default.

I seem to be able to complete all benches except 3d. I can complete 3d if I turn cpu interface to "optimal" and run in single mode if in the 190s.

The odd thing is that at 196, the benches were accross the board higher than at 200. At 205, it appears to be back to what you would expect, but there seems to be something kicking in at 200 even. I have seen one other report of this. Anyway, the main problem, which I have seen countless reports on is 3d. For some reason dual and/or agressive cpu inetrface seem to kill 3dmark from completing. I haven't tried other drivers yet other than the 41xx's.

The speed of the 4600 is only 310/710 and it doesn't change anything even if I set it to default. I just wish I knew what was causing the 3d problem. 3d mark 2002 scores werer decent at 205 and no other signs of instability.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2002, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 61

I would most defintely try the 40.72's. How did you install the new Nvidia 2.0 driver set? What I mean by that did ya install it over the first release that came with the cd?


Of course you tried your TwinMos with same results, right?

BTW, how do you like your TTGI PS? I just got my 520wt in the other day. The +5v was kinda of low at 4.92 and the +12 was at 12.15. After alittle tweak of the pot inside my 5 rail is nicely at 5.08 and 12v at 12.22.
__________________
8RDA+
XP2400 at 11.5x215 sync 2.0v.
TwinMos 512/-5ns chips
MSI G4 Ti4600
2 WD800JB 8mb
TDK velo cd/rw
Pioneer dvd
GTXP
CS Megaworks 510d
Logitech Momo wheel
Logitech Force 3D
Win2k/fat32
TTGI 520wt. PS
Dtek TC-4>eheim 1250>heatercore

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5617626
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2002, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

I love the 520 after the pot adjust. The 5v drops to 4.9x sometimes but the 12v is always above, and you can't beat the price.

I switched to a ATI 9700, but haven't tried Dual ch yet. I had a gigabyte 9700 that wouldn't complete 3d over 200 either. At 212 5222 enhanced with 2 hyper sticks in slots 2 &3, I get 17700 on 3d, but I don't think it will work in Dual, but I'll try it later. I am using the Omega drivers. I did not install the Nvidia unified from the cd, only 2.0 and chose to use the nvidia ide drivers when it asked.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2002, 05:37 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I have no trouble with my XMS3500c2 running pretty high speeds synched. I would venture to guess that something is better on this platform.... I just haven't seen it yet.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ and Kingston Hyper X PC3500 captkirk EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th August, 2003 08:23 AM
Problems with ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0 and 2*226 KINGSTON HYPERX PC3500 WhiteWolf AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 23rd May, 2003 07:39 AM
Corsair 3200 vs Kingston HyperX 3500 on an 8RDA+ agean EPoX MotherBoards 5 26th February, 2003 08:28 PM
Anyone Using or tested The Kingston Hyperx with 8RDA+? Frazer EPoX MotherBoards 12 13th February, 2003 04:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0