AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 5

8k7a+ and SB Audigy

Hi Again,

I've been going nuts with another problem - trying to get a SB Audigy card to work in my 8k7a+ with WINXP! All my directx games lock up! Operation Flashpoint - about 1 sec. after it starts the setup screen - Max Payne - about two secs. in also... etc.

Any one else have this issue?

I have an EPOX 8k7a+, AMD Athlon 1.4 GHz, SB Audigy, and a VisionTek GeForce 3 card, all trying to run under WINXP

Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 12:50 AM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

i havbe an sbaudgy and xp and plan to upgrade to that mobo so keep me posted

ps: what ver of directx are you running? have you got all the win updates?
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 12:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 5

WINX XP comes with DirectX 8.1 ... I've also obtainded all the WinXp updates ... Installed latest VIA, etc.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 01:01 AM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

ok, have you checked for irq probs?
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: a waterblock
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to Below Ambient Send a message via Yahoo to Below Ambient

my santa cruz works lovely.. perhaps more I/O conflicts with Creative products? the 8K7A is a great board and i have no IRQ conflicts with 5 of the 6 pci slots taken.....

have you tried turning down your sound acceleration in DxDiag ?

I had to do that with my Santa Cruz until the new XP drivers came out..... now i can run the sound acceleration all the way up and use EAX or A3D (the Santa Cruz supports both with digital 6.1)

I would uninstall and reinstall your card, and the rest of your drivers (not the Via 4n1!!!) like the Via IDE and the AMD 760 chipset drivers...

try that, and if yorue trying to run off a previous install you;re best off backing up, formatting, and reinstalling....
__________________
B.A.....ICQ#33691781.....Epox 8K7A, 1800XP@1.89Ghz, JK Fab WB and chiller w 2x122W pelts, Prophet Ultra, 512mb OCZ PC-2400, 2x30=58.6gb of Promise Fastraxed IBM GXP, 28.5gb Seagate Backup, TDK Velo-CD 16x10x40x ( IA says its a Plextor ), Creative 16x DVD, Toshiba 32x CD-reads subchannel , Santa Cruz TB, Enermax 651VE, Altec ATP5, Logitech Cordless KB and Mouse, NEC Fe950 Flatscreen, and not a single fan in my case, blah, blah, blah, ...anyone have a longer sig?...zzzzzzzzzzzzz

http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?1989990 3DM2k1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 08:24 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

reinstall directX and see if it helps
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 09:16 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Are you stating that the mainboard works well without the souncard in situe and crashes with it in place ?

Have you tried with another soundcard to single out the problem ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softmod your Audigy / 2 / Live! into Audigy 4 Pro dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 147 18th April, 2009 01:13 AM
Need help from an Audigy 2 ZS wiz! TrevorS Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 11th February, 2005 12:29 AM
Audigy 2 ZS bradmax57 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 5th December, 2004 08:07 PM
Audigy 4??? cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 10th November, 2004 08:11 PM
8k7a and 8k7a+ capacitor problems rob200 EPoX MotherBoards 5 20th January, 2003 05:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0