AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 11:32 AM
Mr Swede
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Cool IRQ sharings

My soundcard, nic, videocard and I think there was some more device, all share irq 11.

I have tried with both pnp os enabled and disabled, but nothing helps.

I don't know if this cause any trouble but I don't feel confident with this.

If I want my soundcard to use irq 5, how do I do?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 11:45 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It is very normal for VIA based mainboard to share items on the IRQ number 11.

Please also note that it is only easy to change the interupt of ISA based device without using a soft HAL.

That is to say that unless any major problem is occuring, please do not worry about this.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 04:14 PM
Mr Swede
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Thumbs up

Thank you for your quick response.

I'm one of those 'old farts' that once have been working with DOS and Windows 3.x , so when I see a lot of devices sharing IRQ's, it gives me the creeps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 12:32 AM
cpu-uk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: London
Posts: 52

to acpi or not to acpi

Try playing an mp3 and at the same time copy a few large files around your hard disk, if the music is still 100% whilst doing this then the acpi sharing is working. If music stutters you may have to go non acpi route, in which case post back and I'll explain how it's done.

Oh Epox, why is it that I can only assign 4x irq in the bios? Why can I not use my other "spare irq" for the other spare pci slots?
__________________
8kha+ AthlonXP 1700 (30th Nov bios)
Win2k sp2\ Win98se
ATI 8500 (std driver) via 434 (DirectX8.1) 512k Crucial 2100
SonicFury
WD WDC400BB h/d
Segate ST328040a h/d
Pioneer 106 DVD drive
Aopen 1232pro cd-rw (EZcd dlx 4.05)
Pinnacle Studio DVDplus firewire
400W Sparkle & UPS
IIyama 19inch Monitor
dirty coffee cup, pair of comfy slippers
and the damn instruction manual
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 06:31 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

just try to keep stuff out of pci slow one 3 and 5...
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 08:30 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Correct !

The nature of VIA southbridges dictates that you can't alter all that much and they do tend to be a little clogged. But that's the way it is I'm afraid.

I never have any system instability or performance issues and I never do anything out of the ordinary when building test systems (takes me 29 seconds to get a board ready for full I/O / stability / audio / benchmark testing).

That is to say - I feel that unless you are using a professional audio or video editing card that costs $1,000's - there is really no need for worry !! If you are using purpose bult professional cards that need solo assignment, there are ways of assigning IRQ's individually, but this is by abstraction layer and is device specific.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 10:43 AM
cpu-uk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: London
Posts: 52

hehe

Hehe, I don't think that I'll be contradicted if I say that volumes have been written (posted) about VIA chipset and sound cards problems, it all coming down to the acpi\ irq sharing.
__________________
8kha+ AthlonXP 1700 (30th Nov bios)
Win2k sp2\ Win98se
ATI 8500 (std driver) via 434 (DirectX8.1) 512k Crucial 2100
SonicFury
WD WDC400BB h/d
Segate ST328040a h/d
Pioneer 106 DVD drive
Aopen 1232pro cd-rw (EZcd dlx 4.05)
Pinnacle Studio DVDplus firewire
400W Sparkle & UPS
IIyama 19inch Monitor
dirty coffee cup, pair of comfy slippers
and the damn instruction manual
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 06:43 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: to acpi or not to acpi

Quote:
Originally posted by cpu-uk
Oh Epox, why is it that I can only assign 4x irq in the bios? Why can I not use my other "spare irq" for the other spare pci slots?

Cuz the PCI bus only supports 4 interrupts (A, B, C and D). Changing this would break the PCI bus!

AidanII
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0