AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 95

bios settings

Anyone know what the effects of the system bios and video ram cacheable settings are in the 8rda+ bios, i.e. does it increase performance at all or is it just something which leads to instability and corruption?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

hi

disable both there not needed, video cards are fast enough without them, am not sure of the exact reason but i know there best disabled
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 02:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Some say the video BIOS memory is faster than modern DRAM and some say it isn't. My guess is that with an older video board, there is likely a speed advantage to shadowing it. Modern DRAM is typically faster than the system BIOS, but certain specific fault conditions on certain specific boards with USB and perhaps other devices can be corrected by disabling the system BIOS shadow. I would guess shadow it until you dicover a good reason not to.

Trevor

PS Some operating systems (Linux for one) don't use the BIOS functions after the initial boot, and so there is no advantage to shadowing it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 02:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

hi

hi well i know its not good just to guess, but seems hes using a very new m/board i guessed he'd be using a videocard newer than about 3 years old, lol

my guess would be dissable them
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

hi

sorry unless u r using a card older than a few years then maybe enable em
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 02:49 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Video BIOS shadowing is pretty much used solely for real mode DOS games now. Modern OSes bypass the BIOS for it's video access so it doesn't really have any benefit. Furthermore, since Video BIOS shadowing only allows 32K of memory to be used, and since most newer vid card BIOSes are GREATER than 32K, you might experience weird video effects if it is indeed enabled.

EDIT: Damn! wrote about the wrong thing. Video RAM cacheable should be disabled, unless you want your Video RAM running at the same speed as your DDR.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 26th December, 2002 at 02:54 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 11:09 AM
RV4 RV4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 54

Agree with all the above. Also I benchmarked both ways round and it makes not a scrap of difference: Disable!
__________________
Abit AX8, AMD 64 3200+ Venice, 2X512MB KingMax PC3200 RAM, Gigabyte ATI X800XL 256MB + Cat 5.11, 2 X T7K250 160GB hard drives in RAID 0 + NEC 3540A, SB Audigy 2ZS, Enermax EG495AX Noisetaker PSU in Antec SLK3000B,
Viewsonic 171B-2 8ms 17" TFT.
Quiet: Chipset has passive heatsink, GPU has silent heat-engine, PSU almost silent. Zalman CNPS7700-AlCu blows over all mobo. Near silent exhaust fan and 2 case inlets.
Windows XP Pro SP2 streamlined.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bios settings , epox



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's ur bios settings? Undertaker AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 29th April, 2005 11:48 PM
NF7-s Bios settings MercutioUK AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 11th November, 2003 11:32 PM
please help a newbie (bios settings) timothy_stone EPoX MotherBoards 6 6th September, 2003 09:22 PM
AGP BIOS settings SweFred Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 15th March, 2003 12:18 PM
Mem Bios Settings mcentee EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th March, 2003 10:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0