AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 10:13 PM
Link's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 22

ET! No more 8K3A bios updates?

How about some new bios for 8k3a?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 10:16 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

What problems are you having that can be fixed with a newer BIOS?
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 12:36 AM
Link's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 22

It's not automatically recognizing my xp2600 even though the release note says the bios does.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 02:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 100

what do you mean it's not recignizing it? does it say "unknown cpu" or is it just setting the fsb and multiplier wrong?
__________________
AthlonXP 1700+ @ 2.4ghz
Epox 8RDA+ @ 12x200
Corsair XMS 3200 256x2 @ 3,2,2,2 DC
ATI 9800Pro @ 420/760
lots of hard drives on highpoint RocketRAID 404 (some in raid...some not)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 05:10 AM
Link's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 22

It just doesn't display Athlon XP 2600+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 80

I wish they'd fix the problem with having USB keyboard and Mouse enabled in the bios. Whenever I have them enabled, my computer freezes when the highpoint raid is searching for devices. This sux if you wanna use your USB keyboard in dos :/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 07:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 13

Thumbs down

And the XP 2400+ multipliers act all funky. The actual multiplier becomes the chosen multiplier + 8, leaving many multipliers inaccessible.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 100

Marty, thats just about funky as heck, i gatta be honest with you...
__________________
AthlonXP 1700+ @ 2.4ghz
Epox 8RDA+ @ 12x200
Corsair XMS 3200 256x2 @ 3,2,2,2 DC
ATI 9800Pro @ 420/760
lots of hard drives on highpoint RocketRAID 404 (some in raid...some not)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Belgrade , Serbia
Posts: 28

Quote:
Originally posted by SilentSnipeR
I wish they'd fix the problem with having USB keyboard and Mouse enabled in the bios. Whenever I have them enabled, my computer freezes when the highpoint raid is searching for devices. This sux if you wanna use your USB keyboard in dos :/
I have lockups when RAID is enabled with any bios newer than 2912.Maybee it`s not USB because my mouse is USB and it`s working OK.I think it has something to do with HPT.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 06:58 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

Quote:
Originally posted by SilentSnipeR
I wish they'd fix the problem with having USB keyboard and Mouse enabled in the bios. Whenever I have them enabled, my computer freezes when the highpoint raid is searching for devices. This sux if you wanna use your USB keyboard in dos :/
I'm not too sure thats a bios issue, I have a USB keyboard and 2 USB mice and have no issues at all. Maybe its something else.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 09:49 PM
Groltz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Pierce County, WA
Posts: 181

Athlon Thoroughbred-B temperature calibration...Or has this been mentioned before?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 03:36 AM
jmichna's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Skokie IL
Posts: 145

Quote:
Originally posted by retrospooty


I'm not too sure thats a bios issue, I have a USB keyboard and 2 USB mice and have no issues at all. Maybe its something else.
retro...
It is a BIOS issue... the BIOSes that have come out since the first half of this year. I updated my BIOS because I was switching to an XP2700+ and wanted the "offical" support and cpu recognition.

When you enable USB Keyboard Support and USB MOuse Support, under "Integrated Peripherals" section of BIOS, POST hangs at the point of RAID detection. Disable support, everything is okay, and once you're in Windows you have a KB and mouse.

Leaving both these settings not enabled is fine if you are running Windows, as all the USB devices will work. If, however, you are running -- for example -- in a true DOS environment, then neither the USB mouse or keyboard will function if support was not enabled within BIOS.
__________________
Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Choose your words, for they become actions.
Understand actions, for they become habits. Study your habits, for they become character.
Develop your character, for it becomes your destiny.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 05:22 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

Quote:
Originally posted by jmichna
retro...
It is a BIOS issue... the BIOSes that have come out since the first half of this year. I updated my BIOS because I was switching to an XP2700+ and wanted the "offical" support and cpu recognition.

When you enable USB Keyboard Support and USB MOuse Support, under "Integrated Peripherals" section of BIOS, POST hangs at the point of RAID detection. Disable support, everything is okay, and once you're in Windows you have a KB and mouse.

Leaving both these settings not enabled is fine if you are running Windows, as all the USB devices will work. If, however, you are running -- for example -- in a true DOS environment, then neither the USB mouse or keyboard will function if support was not enabled within BIOS.
Ya, I have them both enabled too, and it works. Maybe it is a bios-compatibility issue with a certain type of USB device. Or it only happens if you use the raid controller. 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 05:34 PM
jmichna's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Skokie IL
Posts: 145

Quote:
Originally posted by retrospooty


Ya, I have them both enabled too, and it works. Maybe it is a bios-compatibility issue with a certain type of USB device. Or it only happens if you use the raid controller. 
I do use RAID (one of the reasons I picked this board, with HPT controller)... and it seems that the RAID users are the ones who experience this USB issue. BTW, I don't even need to have any USB devices plugged in... I get the same effect with USB KB/Mouse Support Enabled in BIOS, and plugging in a plain jane PS2 KB.
jmichna
__________________
Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Choose your words, for they become actions.
Understand actions, for they become habits. Study your habits, for they become character.
Develop your character, for it becomes your destiny.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bios updates cumulative? SwedishChef General Hardware Discussion 3 19th June, 2005 01:30 AM
A7V333 bios updates stigweed AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 3rd June, 2003 11:00 PM
Any feedback on 8K9A bios updates ral EPoX MotherBoards 2 1st April, 2003 03:26 AM
8rda+ Bios updates pretender_2002 EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th March, 2003 04:35 AM
[4PEA+] How about our BIOS updates? Vatt Intel Motherboards & CPUs 38 15th December, 2002 02:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0