AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 01:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

8RDA+, DualDDR -- The Gods are laughing at me..

LOL, I just can't win. So, my friend outscores me in 3DMark @ 181x12 w/ Dual DDR. So, I decided to go Dual DDR.. my 2x256 XMS3200C2 arrived today, and I plop it in. For reference sake, I match my friends settings and my scores are less than what I ran BEFORE.

I'm using dimm slots 1 & 3. I'm starting to think it just wasn't meant to be.. I should start throwing my money at my car again, at least it performs at the track when it has to, unlike this raging POS.

Me @ 181x12: 13300 (3DMark, DualDDR)
Friend @ 181x12: 15537 (3DMark, DualDDR)

We have the exact same BIOS settings and system components with the exception of soundcard. This is ridiculous, I've even re-installed Windows in hopes of it being related to something being corrupted.

I don't expect to score his exact numbers, maybe higher maybe lower.. but over 2000 points? No, sorry.. the old excuse of "Hey, different components perform differently" won't fly here.

--------------
8RDA+ (C10), XP 2400+ (AIUGB44), Radeon 9700, 256x2 XMS3200, Antec 400W
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 01:26 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

It's gotta be something hidden... like different drivers somewhere. double check chipset, video and all other drivers to make sure everything matches. Your scores are too low for what you are running.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 03:52 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

like steve says your doing something wrong.

Can you give us some more info, we might be able to trck down the problem.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 04:11 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Hes not cheating and overclocking his video card and not telling you is he?
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 04:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 110

sometimes 1 shared IRQ (eg. the GFX card) can mess thing up
make sure all your PCI card are in slots 3,4&5 (I think it was)
and diable com ports etc.
dont know if this helps but could be worth a try...
__________________
Epox 9npa+ Ultra, San Diego 3700+ @ 2720MHz (1.40V) stock cooler.
Corsair value select 2x512Meg DDR400 @ 227Mhz (2.7V) 2.5-3-3-10 1T
XFX 7800GT (481/1150), 340W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 04:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 100

shot in the dark, take out/disable in bios both of your sound cards and rebench, if everything els is the exact same, i remember reading your post about this a little while ago, wasn't your friend useing onboard and you were useing a sb-live or something? this could be interesting... also do you guys have the same heatsink on the cpu's, and are your tempatures the same? what about the northbridge is yours cold and his hot? and if you don't know then don't go through the trouble but are the cpu's the same stepping? just some stuff to think about
__________________
AthlonXP 1700+ @ 2.4ghz
Epox 8RDA+ @ 12x200
Corsair XMS 3200 256x2 @ 3,2,2,2 DC
ATI 9800Pro @ 420/760
lots of hard drives on highpoint RocketRAID 404 (some in raid...some not)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 04:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 100

oh and Corn has a really good point, didn't even think of that cause i automatically always stay away from video card
__________________
AthlonXP 1700+ @ 2.4ghz
Epox 8RDA+ @ 12x200
Corsair XMS 3200 256x2 @ 3,2,2,2 DC
ATI 9800Pro @ 420/760
lots of hard drives on highpoint RocketRAID 404 (some in raid...some not)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 10:30 AM
n00b's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 24

Something is definitely wrong...

I come within a few hundred points of that 3DMark score with a 1700+ @ 197 x 8.5 and an OC'd GeForce4 Ti4200.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Ok, after re-installing Windows XP a total of three (3) times, everything seems to be in order. Now, here's a run down.

Install #1
------------
1. Windows XP + SP1
2. nVidia Unicode Drivers v2.00
3. DirectX 9.0
4. ATi Radeon Drivers
5. Creative Soundblaster Drivers

Status: FAILED

Install #2
------------
1. Windows XP + SP1
2. nVidia Unicode Drivers v2.00
3. ATi Radeon Drivers
4. DirectX 9.0
5. Creative Soundblaster Drivers

Status: FAILED

Install #3
------------
1. Windows XP + SP1
2. DirectX 9.0
3. nVidia Unicode Drivers v2.00
4. ATi Radeon Drivers
5. Creative Soundblaster Drivers

Status: SUCCESS

So, apparently it seems if the nVidia drivers are installed BEFORE DirectX, there will be issues. Since I switched them, my 3DMark2001 scores have been around 15300. YMMV.

However, I have noticed that since now I am utilizing dual DDR my overclock has suffered. I can no longer run 200FSB w/o 3DMark2001 crashing. The program loads, and when the first test begins it freezes (or kills video signal). The highest FSB I can muster is 191FSB. I've tried relaxing timings, etc.. nothing. Before, with 1x512MB XMS3200 I was able to run 2300@200x11.5. Now, I am forced to 2292@191x12. I thought maybe since I was using DualDDR that my Northbridge was doing extra duty and overheating, so I took off the HS and applied AS3 as well as a fan, and for extra measure placed a standard desk fan infront of the case as well. Now, this is obviously more than enough cooling.. but the problems persist. So, it's obviously not a overheating issue. I'm hoping it's something that can be fixed in a later BIOS release.. *sigh*.

I hope my little 'adventure' can help someone else out, who may run into the same problem.

-mG!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 37

Dd you try Dimm slots 1 and 2?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Quote:
Originally posted by BTank
Dd you try Dimm slots 1 and 2?
I can honestly say, no, I haven't tried that. I'll get around to trying that. But, I must admit, I'm quite skeptical on believing that will make a difference.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 09:47 AM
myamdstockisup's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 51

Also try enabling FBS SPread spectrum. It smoothed things out for me. Nearly 14,000 3d mark with default voltage and a 166X12 setting with CL2.5 crucial mem. 6-2-2 with radeon 9700pro.

Nothing special about my set-up but it is very stable...
__________________
Now where's my axe???
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL.
Posts: 17

Quote:
Also try enabling FBS SPread spectrum
Out of curiousity, what exactly does that do?

- D.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 8

Hi

Your board and memory should easily be able to manage 200FSB. even with aggressive timings. My 2700 runs at 200Mhz DDR. Try increasing Dimm voltage as this worked for me.

T Addison
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 05:24 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

ahhhh...

Does DX-9 help any ?

Im stil using 8.1.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: In the corner
Posts: 99

Quote:
Originally posted by pre1twa
Hi

Your board and memory should easily be able to manage 200FSB. even with aggressive timings. My 2700 runs at 200Mhz DDR. Try increasing Dimm voltage as this worked for me.

T Addison
Mine should be able to do that too, but it cant get over 195 (corsair 3200 XMS CAS2)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Quote:
Originally posted by pre1twa
Hi

Your board and memory should easily be able to manage 200FSB. even with aggressive timings. My 2700 runs at 200Mhz DDR. Try increasing Dimm voltage as this worked for me.

T Addison
I'm aware that it 'should' be, but it's not. I'm at 2.77VDimm @ 1.850VCore. I've run @ 200x11.5 w/ 1x512 XMS3200 fine, but all these problems started when I went to DualDDR.

Oh, I tried to leave Prime95 running @ 190x12 last night, and it crashed.. so I can't even run 190FSB. This just keeps getting better and better...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 06:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Quote:
Originally posted by myamdstockisup
Also try enabling FBS SPread spectrum. It smoothed things out for me. Nearly 14,000 3d mark with default voltage and a 166X12 setting with CL2.5 crucial mem. 6-2-2 with radeon 9700pro.

Nothing special about my set-up but it is very stable...
Well, I just did some testing w/ FSB Spread Spectrum & 3DMark ..

2172@181x12, FSB Spread Spectrum @ 0.50% - 14657
2172@181x12, FSB Spread Spectrum @ 1.00% - 14656
2172@181x12, FSB Spread Spectrum @ DISABLED - 15313

So, apparently, FSB Spread Spectrum HURTS your score. Although, I must admit, when I set it to 0.50% I was able to complete 3DMark @ 200x10. So, while it does increase stability, there is a signifcant performance loss.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

I also moved the ram to Dimm #1 & #2, my 3DMark scores dropped 200 points, and I still can't use 200FSB.

I've also tried the C16 BIOS as well..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 110

well U could always check 1 stick at the time to see if one of them suck in particular...
__________________
Epox 9npa+ Ultra, San Diego 3700+ @ 2720MHz (1.40V) stock cooler.
Corsair value select 2x512Meg DDR400 @ 227Mhz (2.7V) 2.5-3-3-10 1T
XFX 7800GT (481/1150), 340W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the 8rda+ bios work on a plain jane 8rda??? Lanker EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd May, 2003 05:11 PM
8RDA+ & DualDDR? DevilDoll EPoX MotherBoards 2 3rd January, 2003 02:27 AM
DualDDR woes.. magnux EPoX MotherBoards 8 1st January, 2003 06:05 PM
Golf Battle of the Gods! mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 16th July, 2002 03:19 AM
The overclocking gods frown on me! Random Nonsense Betty's Rants and Rages 6 8th July, 2002 10:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0