AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 06:17 AM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Question Enermax PSU and Failed Bios Flashes

I have several 8K7A's. Two of them have 400 watt Enermax psu's that are fairly new. Each time I try to flash the bios on the boards that have the Enermax power supply connected the flash procedure locks up half way through the write step. I have never been able to flash the bios on these two boards - tried 7 times and each attempt fails. The recovery from floppy option doesn't work either. Both boards tell me that no disk is in the drive. However I can take the bios chip out of the board and put it in another 8K7A with an Enlight power supply and the recovery process works fine. I'm about to try using a different power supply with one of the "faulty" mobo's and see if the flash will work. Any idea if this is yet another issue with Enermax psu's and Epox motherboards? I called for a bios chip a few times and the guy said something like "Oh yeah - we'll send you a new chip for free" This made it sound like something that is documented. Any comments on this? I've also noticed that these two boards fail to boot after a power failure unless the cmos is cleared. On two occasions the power failed during a storm, and I found that the board had rebooted, but never posted - the fans were running, but there was no video. I held the power button but the board never shutdown. I had to pull the power cord to turn the system off, then I had to clear the cmos to get the system to post. Seems kind of weird.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 08:56 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I've had nothing but bad luck with enermax and any mobo.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 09:01 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Some things are perhaps not always bad luck. Some power supply units are not the best suited to 3 phase or 2+2phase mainboard operation in the slightest it would seem.

Jeff (dimmreaper) seems to be having a good time with his Sparkle.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 06:22 PM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

So... I just forked out some SIGNIFICANT $$$ (well, $165), yesterday, for a 551W Enermax...

Bad idea?
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.



Last edited by Kris; 17th November, 2001 at 06:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 09:56 PM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Kris I wouldn't worry too much since you're not using any AMD equipment. I have an enermax psu in every machine I own except for one, and they've never given any trouble except with these two Epox boards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 10:17 PM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Well... You know my position on AMD, but I would love to have the option should I change my mind someday in the DISTANT future...

I was hoping the Enermax would last into that distant future too... (thus the 551W variety)
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 11:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

551W?!! damn, that's a big psu!!
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 11:40 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Cole, have you tried dialing in the trimmer pots? I've heard of other folks having better results with there Enermax PSUs after some time with a multimeter and screw driver(and something to load the 5v and 3.3v).

But as EPoX Tech states, I have a bit of a Sparkle fetish now. I've got a slightly tweaked Sparkle 350W that gives me similar results to an Antec 400W that I borrowed from a friend. At $56 shipped it's a very nice PSU for those on a budget, or just cheap skates like me . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 02:03 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Quote:
Originally posted by proze
551W?!! damn, that's a big psu!!
well the local shop here was having a sale and sold all the 400-450Ws, so I thought, "what the hey?" and the 551W was only like $15 more than the 520W... So I said, "go for it!" and I did...

Should have asked Jeff, I suppose... I would have a Sparkle now...
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 02:43 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by Kris
So... I just forked out some SIGNIFICANT $$$ (well, $165), yesterday, for a 551W Enermax...

Bad idea?
VERY bad idea, Hurry Hurry send it to me
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 04:44 AM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

The Enermaxes aren't low on the 5 volt rail (5.3) so I didn't think adjusting anything would make a difference.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 05:44 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

There not low, but they might be too high. Perhaps turning the 5v rail down could yield some benefits. My 8KHA+ won't run 100% stable if my PSU is adjusted to more than ~5.25V. I'm not sure if this is due to the board just not liking the extra voltage, or the PSU not providing stable enough current at those voltages . . .

What could it hurt to try anyway . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 06:42 AM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
There not low, but they might be too high. Perhaps turning the 5v rail down could yield some benefits. My 8KHA+ won't run 100% stable if my PSU is adjusted to more than ~5.25V. I'm not sure if this is due to the board just not liking the extra voltage, or the PSU not providing stable enough current at those voltages . . .

What could it hurt to try anyway . . .
Oh I hadn't thought of that possibility. Maybe I should try for 5 volts dead on and see what happens. I thought the complaint was undervolting which I'm not seeing here. My 300 watt sparkle is about 5.1 and no problems. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 03:11 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

The enermax are good units, I have a KT266 at 145fsb on a 351w, The sparkles kick butt too, I think its just certain combo's that have probs. with the constantly changing standards for PC hardware, and the sheer number of different manufacturers, its amazing how much stuff DOES actually work together. LOL
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 11:18 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by surlyjoe
with the constantly changing standards for PC hardware, and the sheer number of different manufacturers, its amazing how much stuff DOES actually work together. LOL
How true! I ussually buy brand name components, as I find they typically are less likely to have any compatability issues when used together. But as you say, it is a wonder that stuff even works at all sometimes.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ Bios - f10 flashes strange message? GSV_3MiaC EPoX MotherBoards 6 20th April, 2003 08:15 PM
8kta3+ Bios updated failed Dunc EPoX MotherBoards 11 21st February, 2003 03:11 PM
failed to flash bios on 4g4a+ pcworks EPoX MotherBoards 7 24th November, 2002 02:35 PM
Failed 4SDA+ BIOS flash - please help fearby EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd June, 2002 12:05 PM
Help 8KHA+ BIOS flash failed..... Shelton EPoX MotherBoards 8 27th December, 2001 11:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0