AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 06:13 PM
Mr Swede
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Lightbulb Any BIOS gurus here?

It would be great if someone could share his/her knowledge with us.
There are so many new settings in this BIOS that I never seen before.
Anyone have some tip to fine tune BIOS?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 01:49 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

what are the entries in question? http://www.rojakpot.com/ has a good bios guide also
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 06:44 AM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Are there any specific settings you're not sure about, or you just want a good overall tweaking guide?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 08:43 AM
Mr Swede
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Cole
Are there any specific settings you're not sure about, or you just want a good overall tweaking guide? [/QUOTE

A good overall tweaking guide would be fine.
I guess some of you have tested some settings and can share your experience with us other.

I haven' done any experiment myself yet. I use almost the BIOS default except that I put it in Turbo mode and set the AGP aperture size to 128. I also disable the onboard Audio.

I do have some question right now. ( I guess more will come later)

There are options for Game Port Adress and Midi Adress & IRQ. Are those options for the onboard chip? Should I disable them if I have disabled the onboard Audio and use a SB soundcard?

There are also an option for USB keyboard and mouse support.
I have my MS Optical attached to usb so I thought I enable it.
But when I enabled USB Mouse support my comp wouldn't boot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 03:02 PM
cpu-uk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: London
Posts: 52

Yup

Yes, what you have done so far is correct (if your pc freezes solid, try setting the bios down from turbo to fastest, fast etc).

Yes, tun off game port and on board sound chip if you have you're own sound card+game port.

I have an usb optical mose, but use the ps/2 converter as it's less hassle.
__________________
8kha+ AthlonXP 1700 (30th Nov bios)
Win2k sp2\ Win98se
ATI 8500 (std driver) via 434 (DirectX8.1) 512k Crucial 2100
SonicFury
WD WDC400BB h/d
Segate ST328040a h/d
Pioneer 106 DVD drive
Aopen 1232pro cd-rw (EZcd dlx 4.05)
Pinnacle Studio DVDplus firewire
400W Sparkle & UPS
IIyama 19inch Monitor
dirty coffee cup, pair of comfy slippers
and the damn instruction manual

Last edited by cpu-uk; 18th November, 2001 at 03:06 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2001, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Hi mate

Since I know you have Crucial memory stick(s) I would suggest you to have the following setting on mem timings:

System Performance [Turbo]
DRAM Clock [133]
DRAM Timing [Manual]
SDRAM Cycle Length [2]
Bank Interleave [4]

You maybe have to crank up mem voltage if not stable but I think that you will be fine default.
If you need to adjust mem voltage, I would suggest 2.9 as max even though I know several run above 3.0 with Crucial without any problems.
With those fast settings I am able to run 166+ fsb stable using 2x256 Mb Crucial.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attn C++ gurus: I need help Phat Pat Programming and Assembly Language 3 4th May, 2006 06:26 PM
ATTN LIQUID COOLING GURUS: what do you think of this kit? colinear Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 15th March, 2005 06:20 PM
overclocking gurus please help me with my 8k3a m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 16 2nd March, 2003 05:23 PM
Any Networking Gurus out there willing to create a networking FAQ? mookydooky Mobile Devices and Networking 0 3rd December, 2002 04:10 PM
A few Q's for the Gurus here The_Silverite Case Modifications 4 25th May, 2002 07:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0