AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 05:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

L12 needs to be cut? what are the symptoms?

Well My systems seems to fart out at around 200FSB stability wise but the screen starts to flicker at around 194. I'm going to VDD mod this board tomorrow but I was wondering if ill need to cut the L12 trace on my 2700+? If i need to do the mod, would my system not POST at all at high fsbs? (190+). I remember when I had my first 8RDA+ it posted all the way up to 211 and ran windows fine but this was only with one stick.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 08:52 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I doubt you'll have to cut the L12...... I would just do the VDD alone, and see how ya make out.... but thats just ne.

I undid the jumper on the board for the jclk already, but it didn't seem to help me much.

Your call man.

Good luck, and be careful with the mod.

muzz
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 09:05 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by muzz
I doubt you'll have to cut the L12...... I would just do the VDD alone, and see how ya make out.... but thats just ne.

I undid the jumper on the board for the jclk already, but it didn't seem to help me much.

Your call man.

Good luck, and be careful with the mod.

muzz
Removing JCK1 will not give an improvement in overclockability, division or otherwise.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

Is removing the jumper the same thing as cutting the L12 bridge? That's what I wanted to hear muzz...I really dont want to cut up my cpu. I'm not too worried about doing the VDD mod because im just using grabbers...definately no soldering for me.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 09:32 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Well ET says it won't do anything.... Gooch ( I think it was him) or Galifrey said it helped him alot......... just passing on the info is all.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 09:34 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

And be especially careful using grabbers....... they are not the most stable things( and can cause shorts pretty easily if not careful), although alot of folks use them.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

I like idea of the leg being on the top instead of in between 2 other legs. Makes life much easier.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 10:54 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

I don't know enough to contradict the Epox Tech, but removing the FSB select jumper, (ie setting the cpu to 133 default bus speed) got me from about 190 to 200 FSB. I thought this had the same effect as cutting the L12 bridge, don't really know. Wonder if a bios can ever fix this fairly universal Nforce 2/166 fsb CPU problem.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2003, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

The L12 cut on my 2800 seemed to help me with stability over 200. I have also seen some posts re: that after the c31 bios the cut may not be necessary. So who knows. The removing the jumper did not seem to help before I cut the bridge. That said, I would not reccommend anyone cut anything unless they really know what they are doing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symptoms of damaged CPU or motherboard johnyew EPoX MotherBoards 4 5th April, 2002 01:44 AM
Symptoms of a cracked Tbird core? e_storm AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 17th February, 2002 05:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0