AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 04:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

dual DDR owns for games...

Ive come to the conclusion that a dual DDR setup rox a single stick setup FPS wise. I cant get past 204FSB dual without artifacts in games so i thought id try both sticks but not in dual ddr mode. I got it as far as 218FSB but it STILL didnt compare to my dual ddr at 204fsb. Sure the memory bandwidth was better at 218 but the dual ddr proved to make 3d apps much faster. I'll be sticking with 204fsb .
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 05:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 25

How do you use two sticks and not run it in dual ddr mode? I thought that if you had two sticks in it automatically ran in dual ddr.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 05:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

You run in dual mode only if you have one stick in the farthest slow(on that is separated from the rest) and another slot. If you have both sticks in the 2 slots that are together it doesnt"activate" the dual ddr mode.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 96

Quote:
Originally posted by solofortne
How do you use two sticks and not run it in dual ddr mode? I thought that if you had two sticks in it automatically ran in dual ddr.
You must have 1 stick in the furthest slot from the CPU and the other stick in eiter 2 remaining slots..
__________________
EPoX 8RGA+, XP3000+ 12x200@2400Mhz cooled by Danger Maze3 H20 setup, 2x256mb TwinMos PC 3200, WD 80GB Special Edition, Radeon 9800 Pro, Klipsch Pro Media 4.1, LiteON 48x12x48, LIAN LI PC 75USB w/Window, Antec 480w True power PSU w/Blue LED.....
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5785350
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 107

Quote:
Originally posted by solofortne
How do you use two sticks and not run it in dual ddr mode? I thought that if you had two sticks in it automatically ran in dual ddr.
If you put the two sticks in dimm 2 and 3 that will make them run in *single* mode. For dual the combination has to be either one of dimm 1&2 or 1&3.
__________________
EPoX 8RDA6+ Pro rev 1.0
XPM 2500+ @ 2520Mhz (12x210) @ 1.775 vcore
2x256+512MB Kingston DDR400
R9800np @ 405/324 / Practical 56K modem
2x WD360GD Raptors in RAID-0 / Seagate 380013AS 80G
LiteON 166s DVDROM / LG 4040B DVD writer
SLK900A /w 4800 8cm Delta / Enermax EG465P-VE FMA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why the Playstation 3 owns the PC in F@H Gizmo ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 31st March, 2007 06:12 PM
My 8RDA3+ still owns Veky EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th August, 2004 03:03 PM
dual channel high fsb = black screen while playing games? DisposableHero EPoX MotherBoards 40 28th May, 2003 02:14 AM
Epox now Owns AMD on Chimpcage Galifrey EPoX MotherBoards 8 5th December, 2002 11:25 PM
Triple Duals (Dual CPU, Dual Monitor & Dual Case) IFMU Case Modifications 6 29th October, 2002 06:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0