AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 12:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 14

Question Errrrr, Why??? (8RDA+ and MS optical mouse)

Hi All,

Just wondering if anyone knows why my mouse doesnt power off when i turn my pc off

Ive had a really 'fun' couple of days after installing this in my sys, only to find that now (now 2x256mb of RAM is virtually stable) that if i shut down my PC my Intellimouse explorer wont power off (LED's stay on, it acts as if it were switched on). Its currently connected via the PS2 as the supplied USB cable is too short.


Anyone got any ideas ?

Cheers.

Dave.

P.S BIOS is the latest release BTW
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 12:53 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I have the Intellimouse Explorer ( best mouse I've ever used BY FAR), it is usb, or PS2 adapter. I use USB, and it does not stay on.

Sorry if I didn't actually answer anything for ya..... how about a USB extension cable............
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Columbian Hide-away
Posts: 46

Had the same problem myself in addition to the fact that when I cold booted the mouse didn't work.

I moved the PC and use just the USB connection......it now powers off and works from a cold boot.

BTW didn't make any difference which BIOS I was using just in case you thought you'd try it
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ / XP1700+ / Volcano 7+
256mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2
Creative Geforce 2MX DDR
Plextor CD/RW 24/10/40x /Lite-On DVD 16x
WD Caviar 80GB Special Edition / IBM 75GXP 40GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 01:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 14

Thanks for the replies guys, some more helpfull than others


Was thinking of trying an extention cable but CBA, now ill definately try it

Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

same prob here. not the boards prob, it's the mouse. MS acknowledges the issue if you use ps/2 connection. their fix is to use usb.

support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;325975
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 09:16 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

This is normall.

ITs a feature of the keyboard power on function that the PS2 is powered when the machine is shut down.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 04:20 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Ahhhhhhhhh the +5v hotkey thingy.................. what if you shut that off in the bios? Would that stop it?
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 08:56 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

does using the mouse on PS2 or USB make any difference at all ?
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse buggered? Chesso Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 1st March, 2006 02:08 PM
9NDA3J - MS optical mouse L.E.D. ????? bonzer EPoX MotherBoards 10 16th May, 2005 10:38 AM
M$ Cordless Optical Explorer mouse tickin me off lol HauZDauG General Hardware Discussion 2 28th May, 2003 08:58 PM
Dual Optical Mouse loop Hardware Hacking 1 16th June, 2002 06:42 AM
Optical mouse stays on too dang much? cloasters Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 2nd May, 2002 11:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0