AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2003, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 6

8RDA+, 200Mhz+ FSB, Cooling and Bios Settings...

Ok, just giving everyone a heads up on my system, the settings I use, the mods I've done, and the success and failures I've encountered.


Here is the Mod to the Mosfets that I did (funny, I see someone else posted the same heatsinks on the Mosfets, guess great minds think alike... )

http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload.../MosfitsHS.jpg

and here is the HS I put on the Southbridge...

http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload...thbridgeHS.jpg

I also removed the NB cooler, took off the tape, put on AS3, and then put a fan on top of it. Now the HS doesn't even get warm to the touch anymore.


As it is, during testing, the Southbridge would get hot, but only just a little, so that is why I just put the HS on it, without a fan. As for the Mosfets, even with the HS on them, its gets increadibly hot to the touch (can only put my finger on it for a few seconds), so I will probably put a Fan over them (soon as I did one out small enough to fit).

Now, on to the overclocking...

First, the hardware, AMD2400+ CPU (watercooled), 512megs (single Stick, about to buy a second one), of XMS PC3500 from Corsair (Memory timings are 6,2,2,2 T1 and CAS2), and a Radeon 9500 (with the modded bios for overclocking).

Ok, now for the fun...
At a CPU of 2.083GHz (166Mhz FSB), I was able to get a score of 12,024 in 3DMark2k1.

At a CPU of 2.30GHz (200Mhz FSB 11.5x200), I was able to get a score of 12,882 in 3DMark2k1. This is running with the following BIOS settings: CPU Agressive, 1.725v for CPU, 1.6v for AGP, 2.63v for Memory.

At a CPU of 2.40GHz (200Mhz FSB 12x200), I was able to get a score of 12,882 in 3DMark2k1. This is running with the following BIOS settings: CPU Aggressive, 1.80v for the CPU, 1.6v for the AGP, 2.63v for the Memory.

At a CPU of 2.436GHz (203Mhz FSB 12x203), I was able to get a score of 12,976 in 3DMark2k1. This is running with the following BIOS settings: CPU Aggressive, 1.85v for the CPU, 1.6v for the AGP, 2.77v for the Memory.

I have run the CPU at higher FSB (over 211) and was able to run all the Sandra 2003 benchmarks, but in all testing over 203Mhz FSB, 3DMark2k1 would lock up (usually during the first test). I have upped the voltage to the AGP, CPU and Memory (in various combinations), but nothing seems to help.

All testing was done at the default settings of 3DMark2k1, and the video card was at its default settings (275core/275mem). I have read that the 9500 can overclock to over 300core and mem, and although I have had it running up to 285core/285mem, the HS and Memory on the card get extremely hot to the touch (slightly cooler than the mosfets), so until I add some better cooling to the card, I will stick to the default settings.

Anyone have any Ideas, and or suggestions on getting 3DMark2k1 to run over 203Mhz FSB???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 6

So does anyone have any ideas to get 3DMark2k1 (or for that matter any 3D Game) to work over 203Mhz bus speeds?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 09:22 PM
Stepper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: ShAkYgRoUnD
Posts: 109

Powerhouse...U list Ur memory timings with a 1T command rate...where in the bios settings can this be set???
__________________
~~StePPer~~
A Man of Wealth & Taste
Outta My Mind...back in 5 min

X_Peed2400/currently XP1700
Epox-8r_Da
Anorexic_TruePowDer 550w_aste of ca$h
M_ax C_ooling X_pence 462+/Semi_Smart Fan II
2*512Mb Cors_hair X_tra M_oney S_pent PC3200C2
ATI Radiation8500
Sin2k/MaXtor'd60giggleATA133
Memor_XXX 4.8x2.4x4.8
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 11:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 6

The 1T is actually the memory Default, and usually the BIOS will use the default, unless there is a setting to change it (usually to 2T or 3T if you have slower memory). So I am assuming that EPOX will use the default memory speed. Could be wrong though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2003, 01:41 AM
Imranio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 12

195 is the highest I can do without getting the blue screen. But then I am using PC2700 and KT333.
__________________
XP1800 Tbred A@ 2.05 GHz
Epox 8K3A 195 x 10.5
GF4 Ti4200 @ 300/600
IBM 80g 7200 rpm
WinXP Home
3dMark2001 @ 13019
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5746958
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2003, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 39

Sounds like you'll need to do the Vdd mod in order to be 3D stable over 203Mhz FSB.
__________________
--|BRiT|
"That which does not kill you, makes you wish it did."
"Where are we going? And what's with the handbasket?!"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 04:26 PM
Matrix's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 68

My Current 3dmark score

Matrix
Attached Thumbnails
8RDA+, 200Mhz+ FSB, Cooling and Bios Settings...-3dmark012.jpg  
__________________
Epox 9NDA3+ Ultra
FX55 With Mach 2 GT
2 x G.Skill PC4400
ATI X800 XT PE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 09:33 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Is that all you can get outta yer 9800 pro?!?!

You gotta up your FSB and you'll be seeing 17k at the very least for sure
I somehow managed to get 20k outta my 9500 (she shall rest in piece ;D ) but that was with 11x222 and hard-/voltmodded GFX card first to 9700 then clocked to 450/660
Shame I finally turned the Vdimm pot too fast in my enthusiasm so she got killed...
But at least I've seen the 20k LOL :-D
I guess we're all crazy
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 09:50 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

I thought the 9500 was supposed to faster than a Ti4200??? I get 13,1xx at 200x11 with no vid card OCing and no driver tweaks.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 09:54 PM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

Jcool lets see some watercooling pics. I want to know wether you run it all in series or use y-splitters.
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

couple of suggestions in order of importance. cool your GPU, then oc it. ease your tras setting up to at least 7. there is a good thread on optimum settings. definately buy another stick and run dc. lower your multiplier to 11 and increase fsb. both increase memory bandwith which helped my 3dm scores. test each setting change in sandra then 3dm to find optimum. my experience has been that 3dm is the acid test for 8rda+. If you've already tried all this, vdd mod. i was also stuck at 12x203 until vdd mod. regardless of multi, fsb, timings etc. just would not go higher and pass 3dm.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330

Last edited by fast--; 22nd July, 2003 at 12:36 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 06:39 AM
Redrum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Pa.
Posts: 104

I'm kind of having the same problem with 3D Mark 2001 locking up or the screen goes black and the amber light glowing. I just switched to dual channel from single and did a fresh install of XP Pro. The computer is stable as a rock at 218x11.5. But anything over 211x11.5 3D Mark does its lock up or the screen goes black. At first I thought a heat issue on the 9700 Pro. So I fitted it with a CoolJag JAC313C tonight. Its still the same and I have no clue what to do next. Any Ideas anyone?
_______________________________________
Epox 8RDA+ Rev. 1.1 3305 Bios A3 NB.
1700 T-Bred 0319 Running 218x11.5 @ 1.75V
Heat Sinks on Moffets & Voltage Controler
Vantec Copper VGA Cooler on NB and Stock HS on SB
512 Meg {2x256} OCZ PC3500EL Dual Channel
Ram Timings 5-3-2-2 at 2.63V
40 Gig Maxtor 6E040L0 ATA 133
Antec 430 Watt True Power
ATI 9700 Pro Video Card 363/666
Blizzard 360 Case With Lots of Fans
ThermalRight SLK 800A HS
Vantec 80m Tornado 84 CFM Fan
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 58

Try running the ram in single-channel. The gains to be had from running at a higher FSB outweigh the loss caused from going from dual to single.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 12:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrum
The computer is stable as a rock at 218x11.5. But anything over 211x11.5 3D Mark does its lock up or the screen goes black.
Err... So it's not stable as a rock...

It will probably be the vdd being too low at 218 fsb. Running 3d apps puts larger load on system so what might be stable in prime or seti may not be stable in games/3d mark. Up the vdd if you done vmod or back off fsb...
__________________
Silence is golden...

XP1700+ 0310 | 200*12.5 @ 1.775v | Miro Maxxpert Watercooled - all fans @ 5v | Epox 8RDA+ - Vanteq & ram sinks | Corsair XMS3200LL 6-2-2-2 | Radeon 8500 - 310/630 - Ram sinks | Yamaha sw1000xg | Maxtor 30gig | IBM 60GXP (has failed on me twice) | Modded Enermax 350w PSU

XP2200+ 11.5*145 @ 1.4v | Retail Cooler | Abit KR7a Raid | Crucial PC2100 4 bank, cas 2, 2-5-2, 1T | ATI Rage IIc | Maxtor 30gig | Alcatel 330 USB Modem | No name 400w psu
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 02:07 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterAtArms
Jcool lets see some watercooling pics. I want to know wether you run it all in series or use y-splitters.
Here you are
http://mitglied.lycos.de/therealjcool/hpbimg/WaKu1.JPG
http://mitglied.lycos.de/therealjcool/hpbimg/WaKu2.JPG
http://mitglied.lycos.de/therealjcool/hpbimg/WaKu3.JPG

kinda poor quality I know...
And its kinda outdated, too - very many coolers are missing (not only on the GFX card ) and I've sold the card 2 month ago after all
However, the wc setup is still the same
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2003, 03:03 PM
Redrum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Pa.
Posts: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewoZa
Err... So it's not stable as a rock...

It will probably be the vdd being too low at 218 fsb. Running 3d apps puts larger load on system so what might be stable in prime or seti may not be stable in games/3d mark. Up the vdd if you done vmod or back off fsb...
________________________________________________
Well I have the stuff coming for the Vdd mod and larger cooler on NB to see if that helps. As far as running single channel my scores at 211 are only 350 points lower than single channel at 221. So as I see it any gains I can make in DC should be well worth it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 12:39 AM
Redrum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Pa.
Posts: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewoZa
Err... So it's not stable as a rock...

It will probably be the vdd being too low at 218 fsb. Running 3d apps puts larger load on system so what might be stable in prime or seti may not be stable in games/3d mark. Up the vdd if you done vmod or back off fsb...
You were correct, It is my motherboard holding me back now. I jumped the multiplier from 11.5 to 12 and runs 3D Mark just fine. But theres no difference in scores between 210x11.5 and 210x12. Although theres
105 Mhz difference between the two. Time to do the Vdd volt mod and put a Cooljag JAC313C on the northbridge to see if I can get it to higher FSB. If not I'll bid goodbye to this 8RDA+ and look for something that will run higher.
____________________________
Epox 8RDA+ Rev. 1.1 3305 Bios A3 NB.
1700 T-Bred 0319 Running 210x12 @ 1.75V
Heat Sinks on Moffets & Voltage Controler
Vantec Copper VGA Cooler on NB and Stock HS on SB
512 Meg {2x256} OCZ PC3500EL Dual Channel
Ram Timings 5-3-3-2 at 2.7V
40 Gig Maxtor 6E040L0 ATA 133
Antec 430 Watt True Power
ATI 9700 Pro Video Card 363/660
Blizzard 360 Case With Lots of Fans
ThermalRight SLK 800A HS
Vantec 80m Tornado 84 CFM Fan
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

redrum-
i agree its probably vdd, but you might try relaxing your memory timings, especially tras. i had same issues w/black screen in 3dm even after adding water block to GPU, did vdd mod which got me from 12x200 to 11.5x210. after relaxing mem timings (see sig), run 3dm stable for 3+ solid hours of gaming at 11x218. the increase in mem bandwith with relaxed tras was noticeable. counter intuitive i know, but there is a good thread in this forum on this. then if it will also allow increased fsb you get a real bonus. if that doesn't work, you know its vdd mod time.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2003, 02:04 AM
Redrum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Pa.
Posts: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast--
redrum-
i agree its probably vdd, but you might try relaxing your memory timings, especially tras. i had same issues w/black screen in 3dm even after adding water block to GPU, did vdd mod which got me from 12x200 to 11.5x210. after relaxing mem timings (see sig), run 3dm stable for 3+ solid hours of gaming at 11x218. the increase in mem bandwith with relaxed tras was noticeable. counter intuitive i know, but there is a good thread in this forum on this. then if it will also allow increased fsb you get a real bonus. if that doesn't work, you know its vdd mod time.
I relaxed the timings to 11.4.4.2.5 and tried 215x11.5 But the same issue happened it locked up one time so I tried again and went to black screen. I don't think its a heat issue with the card. I have one of those CoolJags on it too. They are CPU heat sinks for servers. So I would imagine its time to Vdd mod it!
Attached Thumbnails
8RDA+, 200Mhz+ FSB, Cooling and Bios Settings...-9700-fan.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2003, 05:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

nice looking cooler. don't forget tweakmonster ramsinks on the radeon mem chips. they get hot as well. sounds like you have ruled everything else out. let us know results after vdd mod. btw, i have rev 1.1 board as well, so don't give up just yet.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8RDA Bios settings rich031 EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th May, 2003 01:18 AM
8rda bios mem settings .do they do anything? doctoromeo EPoX MotherBoards 2 22nd January, 2003 11:51 PM
Help - 8RDA+ and BIOS settings JEB EPoX MotherBoards 27 19th December, 2002 11:34 PM
Best bios settings 8RDA+ franlofter EPoX MotherBoards 0 12th December, 2002 06:20 AM
8RDA+ Bios Settings question RandyB EPoX MotherBoards 4 10th December, 2002 05:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0