AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 12:11 PM
Excelle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 2

Lightbulb PS2 Mouse related problem with 8RDA+

Right, you lot look intelligent, see if you can help me

I got a brand spanking new 8RDA+ mobo quite recently, but after installing XP, I'm still having the same problem. Every other time I boot, my PS2 mouse won't work! So when I load up first thing in the morning, I find my comp adds an 'Easy Internet Keyboard', which I have to remove and then reboot before my mouse will co-operate. If I reboot again, the same will happen.

I'm happily working around it with rebooting, and the speed of an XP boot helps this I've primarily just kept working around the problem, cos I'm doing my final year at uni and have to keep working on my project. But it's kinda irritating! I've contacted EPox support but heard nothing.

Specs follow:

Epox EP-8RDA+
AMD Athlon 2100+ XP
2x 128Mb Crucial 184DIMM PC2700 RAM
Logitech USB Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse 1.1A PS2
Mitsubushi DiamondPro 750SB 17" Monitor
SB Live! Value
Radeon 9000 Pro
HP ScanJet 3400C (USB)
HP Deskjet 940C (USB)
Hayes Accura Serial Modem
ZIP100 Parallel Drive
Random USB gamepad dooberie
LAN on
Windows XP

I think that's about it. Any ideas?
__________________

Last edited by Excelle; 28th January, 2003 at 12:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

I got an 8RDA about three weeks ago, mouse would not work at all, no matter what I did, switched to a different mouse, a Logitechm and it works fine, tried two other Logitech mice and they all work fine, tried the first one again, still would not work, so now using Logitech cordless mouse, no problems!
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 01:59 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Is this overclocked or at stock speed.

It might be worth trying golfers solution of trying another mouse.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Columbian Hide-away
Posts: 46

I'm assuming your mouse is a "pure" ps2 and not using a USB to ps2 adapter. If it is ps2 adapted it won't work. I switched from the ps2 adapter to the usb only option and it works fine now
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ / XP1700+ / Volcano 7+
256mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2
Creative Geforce 2MX DDR
Plextor CD/RW 24/10/40x /Lite-On DVD 16x
WD Caviar 80GB Special Edition / IBM 75GXP 40GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 03:49 PM
Excelle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 2

I'll give golfer's solution a try. I'm running at stock speed btw, I'm too scared of frying my processor

Oh and it's pure PS2, not adapted.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 49

I use a Intellimouse Optical 1.0a which uses a USB to PS2 adaptor and I have never had a problem.
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ Rev 1.1 Bios 3129
XP 2200+ running @ (10x200)
2 x 256mb Twinmos PC3200 (7,3,3,2)
Radeon 9600pro (Cata 3.7)
1 x 80GB Maxtor FB+ 9 8Mb
Samsung 616 DVD-Rom
Antec Truepower 430w
XP Pro SP1 DX9b
Nvidia UDP 2.03

MSI K7n2 Delta ILSR (BIOS ?)
AMD XP2500+ (10.5x200)
2x512mb PC3200 Twinmos (7,3,3,2.5)
Sapphire 9700 128mb (Cat3.7)
120Gb Maxtor SATA 8mb
80Gb Maxtor 8mb 7200rpm
Samsung 616 DVD-Rom
Samsung CD-R/RW 240SB
Antec Trupower 550w
XP Pro SP1 - DX9b
Nvidia UDP 2.45
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2003, 06:44 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Im using a M$ PS2 mouse, and I have no problems.

Sometimes PS2 on the board fails, but this problem sounds more like a software fault than hardware.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2003, 05:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Holst,

When the PS2 fails, does it totally knock out the mouse and/or keyboard?

I can use the keyboard on either PS2 port, but no mice on either port. I'm seeing a USB controller take IRQ12 so maybe that's part of the problem. Tried resetting to BIOS defaults and disabling USB but no luck. Serial mouse (trackball) is working ok on 98SE but, Win2K doesn't like the serial mouse. Might try a serial to USB adapter next.

It's always the simple things that drive you nuts.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2003, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 23

Having same problem. My ps2 keyboard works but my logitech marble mouse isn't detected. I hooked up a hp ps2 mouse and rebooted. Windows will find this mouse just fine. All I do after HP mouse is detected is unplug it while still in windows and plug in the marble mouse. Now it works. If I reboot with marble mouse on it will not detect it Any thoughts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2003, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 183

There is something really wrong with the 8rda+ and mouses. I got a Intellimouse 3.0 and every time I reformat or clearing cmos etc (am having a lot of trouble with the board) the mouse stops working and you have to reboot several times and put the mouse out and in and ev. it will light up and then work flawlessly until next time I reformat or clear cmos. Really strange.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mouse Problem (Pissin' me off) BrianW CRASHED! 7 10th March, 2003 11:28 AM
8RDA+ Slow Windows Boot & Power LED Related Problems x5auctions EPoX MotherBoards 12 12th December, 2002 08:13 PM
8k5a2+ Mouse pionter speed instability and lan problem! HELP! Snorlax EPoX MotherBoards 10 6th December, 2002 11:59 PM
Tyan S1854 Keyboard/Mouse problem completeidiot Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 6th November, 2002 08:09 PM
Weird, 8KHA+, vid card related problem, HELP JayJay EPoX MotherBoards 8 7th October, 2002 07:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0