AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 04:23 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Who wants to play Russian Roulette?

Now that I have some really good TwinMos memory I was able to find the cause of all my problems (i.e. cold boot failures, certain fsb speeds not working). Here's a little sampling:

189 fsb, 6-3-3 timings: Cold boot and 100% stability
190 fsb, 6-3-3 timings: No cold boot
197 fsb, 6-3-3 timings: Cold boot and 100% stability
200 fsb, 6-3-3 timings: No cold boot

More often than not the board will not function properly at any given bus speed, yet 1 fsb higher may be totally stable. This is all with the 3117 bios. The trouble I have had with this board was hardly worth the 5 days it took to finally find out it was just a game of Russian Roulette. Right now I'm at the point where this board is my last Epox purchase, without question. I would highly suggest they correct the bios and timing issues and fully test prior to release. *Sigh*
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.

Last edited by Genius; 30th January, 2003 at 04:32 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 05:08 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Sorry to hear about your issues there man........ neither of my boards exhibited that kind of behavior. but 1 did just up and die on me ( that was after I replaced the bios chip and it was working fine..... this was the VERY next day at startup - which is bs).
My boards would get to a certain point, and just refuse to play nice... never the yes/no/yes/no thing you have going on.

This board rocks, but it does still need some work IMO.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.

Last edited by muzz; 30th January, 2003 at 05:54 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 05:14 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Which bios do you use?
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 05:15 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

For the record, I'm running 198 fsb right now, 5-2-2-2 timings with an 11.5 multiplier and everything is just peachy. Just played a game of UT2K3 and it ran like melted butter.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 05:53 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I've used them all Genius.........
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 06:38 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Who knows. Maybe I should just RMA it and say the power LED doesn't work and upgrade to the 8RGA.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 06:55 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Maybe my bios chip is just a piece of *****. It might be one of the many that are destined to fail. Maybe I should order a replacement now rather than later. For some reason after changing some settings around in my bios (set everything to optimal for some testing), then reverting back to what I had, 198 fsb failed to post, then dropping down to 197 worked though. Really janky. The more and more I use this board the more it sucks. Hard.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 07:04 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Did you do the vdd mod?
There are ALOT of boards that can't do 198 without it.

If you take a look in "OTHER" camps, you will see that most of them can't even do what you are able to do NOW.


Lets not forget that you are not guaranteed anything when overclocking.... good components AND luck of the draw........
This board IS able to do what it was sold at easily.. which is 166mhz.

FFT

Good Luck Man

muzz
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 07:11 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Nope no VDD mod. I won't mod this board until I know there are no crappy/defective capacitors/mosfets/bios chips/etc onboard. If 198 fsb were the only one I have problems with I might be inclined to believe my board simply isn't capable of it, but since I have problems throughout the entire range from 166 on up, that cannot be the problem here. Yep, that's right, I have even had the post issue (C3, C5 error) when booting at 166. It always seems to be after changing settings or reverting settings. Cold boot issue at whatever given fsb is more consistant though.

Perhaps I could get the advice of someone from Epox?
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 09:09 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

I are stoopid.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 101

appreciate your brutal honesty. care to give more info? i have been following this thread with interest.
__________________
2100xp 200x11.5 aiuhb 0204
swiftech mc462a rev1
epox 8rda+
512mb corsair xms3200 cl2 (2 256 sticks) 5-2-2-2
40gb 7200rpm wd 8mb cache
9700 pro 3.1 based omegas
56x cdrom
24x10x40 cdrw
winxp pro
19" trinitron
600w ps
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 06:55 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Quote:
Originally posted by bmexline
appreciate your brutal honesty. care to give more info? i have been following this thread with interest.
See my posts in this thread.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 10:39 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Your system isnt stable.... its a simple as that.

What PSU are you using?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 11:05 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Hey Holst read the other thread. Haven't had a problem since. For the record, last night I was using a 350w Antec PSU. I put my 350w Enermax back in as it has better specs. The problems I had been experiencing existed with both PSU's. This board is great, and it looks like I might be stable at 200fsb with the bios EpoxTech posted early this morning.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2003, 07:06 AM
supz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to supz Send a message via AIM to supz

Have you tried not just alternating between even and odd numbers, too? Like trying 191 and 193 in a row? ... I dunno... I just noticed that according to your tests, the even numbered clock speeds worked, and odd ones did not.
__________________
Athlon XP 2400+ @ 200x10 / Epox 8RDA3+ / 2x512 Corsair XMS PC3200 / GeForce2 GTS / WD 80GB SE / Chieftec DX-01BLD / Swiftech MCX-159A / CPU+VGA Watercooled w/Swiftech MCW-5000A+MCW50
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2003, 08:29 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Genius
Maybe my bios chip is just a piece of *****. It might be one of the many that are destined to fail. Maybe I should order a replacement now rather than later. For some reason after changing some settings around in my bios (set everything to optimal for some testing), then reverting back to what I had, 198 fsb failed to post, then dropping down to 197 worked though. Really janky. The more and more I use this board the more it sucks. Hard.
It's impossible for aBIOS chip to be a piece of ****. Pieces of **** don't store flash data, BIOS chips do; i.e. All a BIOS chip does is store data to be read - it cannot affect your overclocking performance. **** may affect your overclocking performance if it gets into any cooling area - it will make a lot of smell and make components overheat. :clown:
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2003, 09:06 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

If you guys go back and read the other thread I linked previously, you'll see I resolved the issue. My particular T-Bred B will run up to around 166-170 fsb @ 2300MHz, 100% stable (prime for hours on end), but it will not function properly at bus speeds higher than say 177 @ 2300MHz. It does seem to work just fine around at least 2240MHz with the full range of bus speeds. The issue is also not limited to odd/even numbered fsb's. The few I posted were just an example. Please read the other thread. It was quite a strange problem the likes of which I've never seen, please forgive my ignorance.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2003, 11:57 AM
lito's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: france
Posts: 31

it s kite normal that your system is not stable you ve got the fastest xp ever 22000MHz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lol
try to boot up @2200
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2003, 01:02 PM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


...Pieces of **** don't store flash data, BIOS chips do;...
LOL!
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On die Temp mod for 8RDA-in Russian Lord Vetinari EPoX MotherBoards 19 11th August, 2006 09:42 PM
Russian journalists highlight phone radiation by cooking eggs Gizmo Mobile Devices and Networking 10 14th July, 2006 06:19 AM
Does anyone play DDR? raphael2040 Random Nonsense! 21 13th July, 2006 09:17 PM
Russian Gaming kellamne GAMES! OH YEAH! 1 13th May, 2004 10:48 PM
African Roulette Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 26th February, 2003 03:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0