AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 02:33 PM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

What's your sweet FSB for the 8KHA+?

Although I can run my 8KHA+ at 166 and even higher, I have soft reboot problems at this speed - I need to hit the reset button to kick the system back to life. Power on and off and stability however, are 100% ok. I have had one or two rare but strange instances while running this high however.

Since this reboot issue kicks in around 151-5 FSB onwards, I've decided that the sweet spot for this board is the 150 mark for my set-up (I also like rounded numbers )

It runs flawlessly at this speed, and although I crank it up to 166 for video encoding and other CPU intensive tasks, 150 is the FSB I put forward as the perfect running speed for the best ratio of performance/stability and problem free operation of the 8KHA+.

What's the overall best FSB you've found?

In other words, what’s your sweet spot for this board?
__________________

Last edited by spirits247; 23rd November, 2001 at 03:28 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 04:42 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

I have recently purchased a XP1900+, however before this I had an XP1800+ that I unlocked and it ran stable at 160FSB without any problems. At this speed I too had rebooting issues so I upted the multiplier and set my FSB to 150. This I thought was the best combination since I was geeting a headache with the warm rebooting issue.

Still havent unlocked the XP1900+, just waiting for the Abit KR7A.
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 04:58 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

If for whatever reason this soft reboot is occuring, 150MHz FSB is a good level at which the memory can be tuned further to increase bandwidth to a maximum.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 05:08 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Mine runs flawlessly all the way up to 154, but I never restart so 164 it is for me I can boot win2K all the way up to 172, but havn't had luck getting it 100% stable at those speeds, poor me NEED MORE POWER !!! I hope the 8KHA2 proves to be a better high FSB board . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 05:11 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

8KHA2 is a quad phase design (2+2phase) very similar in some ways to 8K7A series.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 05:14 PM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
If for whatever reason this soft reboot is occuring, 150MHz FSB is a good level at which the memory can be tuned further to increase bandwidth to a maximum.
Yes, I've definately found this to be the case at 150, but not just because of the memory timings - I can have them all maxed out right up to 166 and beyond (Crucial) - it's due to the fact I'm not frying my DDR and instead running it at a nice 2.7V instead of 2.9V+

By the way, this has been the best motherboard I've owned so far - very impressive.

Can't complain about the soft reboot as it happens out of spec - it could be because I've only got a 165W combined PSU.
__________________

Last edited by spirits247; 23rd November, 2001 at 05:42 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 05:17 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by spirits247


Yes, I've definately found this to be the case at 150, but not because of the memory timings - I can have them all maxed out right up to 166 and beyond (Crucial) - it's due to the fact I'm not frying my DDR and instead running it at a nice 2.7V instead of 2.9V+
The memory can be timed manually further than Turbo
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 05:33 PM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


The memory can be timed manually further than Turbo
Yep, that's what I meant when I said "all maxed out". CAS2, 4 way interleave, 8 burst legnth, the works:

SDRAM Cycle Length = 2
Bank Interleave = 4 Bank
DRAM Prechg to Act CMD = 2T
DRAM Act to Prechg CMD = 6T (DO NOT CHANGE TO 5T)
DRAM Active to CMD = 2T
DRAM Burst Length = 8
DRAM Queue Depth = 4
DRAM Drive Strength = Auto
DRAM Command Rate = 1T Command
DCLKI = 0
DCLKO = 0
Fast R-W = Enable
Continuous DRAM Req = Enable

Works like that fine up to 166 and beyond on a single 256Mb crucial stick, but DDR voltage is 2.9+ and the soft reboot issue kicks in after 154.

Still, like I said earlier, I'm one very happy and impressed customer. Keep up the good work.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sweet! aghastpumpkin Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 1 18th February, 2006 06:43 PM
sweet bf video Skiracing108 GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 22nd May, 2005 09:31 AM
Omg Sweet!!! robbie Random Nonsense! 13 26th July, 2002 09:58 AM
Sweet robbie ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 24th February, 2002 01:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0