AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2003, 11:23 AM
Flymo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 82

New 8RDA+ and existing XP PRO

HI.
I have just bought myself a new EPOX 8RDA+ n-force2 Mainboard, and XP 2400+
CPU, 2X 256mb pc-3200 DDR and an 80GB HDD to replace my EPOX 8KHA+ etc......

What I want to know is:
Is it possible to remove from XP details of installed hardware so that XP
will detect the new hardware withhout causing conflicts?
The only hardware I plan on keeping is my Geforce 4800 Ti and my ISDN card
as the mainboard has sound and lan on-board.
I know it is possible to ghost my old HDD to the new one, put it on the new
mainboard and do a repair installation, but I was wondering if I could
pre-empt this by getting XP to look for new hardware on start up (with all
other hardware removed).

I remember doing something similar to Win98 by starting in safe mode and
removing ALL hardware from Device manager shutting down and rebooting with
the new mainboard.

Thanx for any info.

Flymo
__________________
EPOX 8RDA+
XP2400+ @ 2.4 GHz
Coolermaster HHC-001 HS/Fan with Heatpipes
1 GB Twinmoss/Winbond pc-3200 DDR (2 X 256 and 1X512) @ 3.2.2.2
Radeon 9500 MODDED to Radeon 9700 PRO+ @ 375/333 DDR
80GB Maxtor ATA 133 HDD
20X10X40 AOpen CD-RW
Cyberdrive 16X DVD-ROM
Modded AVGS Cyberfusion case with
4X80mm case fans and 1 X 120mm fan on a self-built fanbus
3dmark 2k1 17686
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2003, 11:51 AM
Ykalon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 76

Just remove all devices from device manager and switch board. The old method still works.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2003, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Europe, Finland
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to sirtoby

But the recommended would of course be to re-install the OS, as registry settings will still be there, and of course we all know how windows like to *****..

Personally I always re-install the os if I change mainboard. It's good to get it all cleaned out and fresh every once in a while anyways.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2003, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 19

go and boot from the CD, when it says to Install, repair, etc choose install.

then it should ask you again about repairing the existing installation, choose repair then and it should reinstall windows over your old install
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2003, 04:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 125

zorbo's right... do the repair trick and you won't lose anything.
__________________
MINE AMD ROCK THE WORLD
2100@12x194
8RDA no mods
Radeon 9000 Pro 128
Maxtor 80G
2 Elcheapo CD RW's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2003, 04:16 AM
MasterAtArms's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 700

"Back up your hard drive using Norton Ghost, or make a copy of C:\Windows\system32\WPA.DBL and store somewhere save. Just replace new WPA.DBL file after you do a fresh install of WinXP. "

Ref. http://8rda.com/page2.htm

Do this if you get BSOD when installing. Ok part of it, I'll leave it up to you to determine which part.

This is to do with the protection where you can only have so many hardware changes before windows assumes you are using pirate software.

I recommend a clean install. It doesn't take that long. I just backup my sendto folder (I use it), favorites, start menu.

Obviously I have a 3Gb partition for OS and programs which I format to install a new installation, not effecting archives, games ect.
__________________
My regards and Specs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2003, 05:25 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Ummm, I have had some fun(!) Trying to go the repair route with winxp home edition on a different motherboard , I didn't have ACPI enabled in bios setup and when I upgraded from win98se to winxp everything looked ok , but , hard drive transfer rates were really slow (5 Mbps when they should have been 40-45 Mbps). I did a lot of reading at the Microsoft websites and was helped and pointed in the right direction by bbs members at pcchips lottery . It seems ,(and Microsoft concurs), that when winxp initially installs it uses a HAL (Hardware Abstaction Layer) , in short xp looks at your hardware and installs itself to fit the motherboards needs , it may have been a quirk of the motherboards (Amptron ,ECS , PCChips , PCWave) but a lot of glitches were fixed and even more avoided when the CLEAN INSTALL route is taken . I urge everyone that has a copy of winxp that is running good , is activated , and registered to copy that small file mentioned and put it somewhere safe because no matter how many backups you have , if they are on your only hard drive and it goes down , they go with it. See the 13th post on this thread and follow the link provided. 8rda.com is up!
That WPA.DBL file is golden.
bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Existing Code? Throw it Away marcofra2000 GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 23rd July, 2005 02:43 PM
how do i cofigure sate hd with existing ide hd wwjdcgh General Hardware Discussion 1 1st November, 2004 04:28 AM
Will the 8rda+ bios work on a plain jane 8rda??? Lanker EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd May, 2003 05:11 PM
Interesting bios option description (8RDA/8RDA+) k1114 EPoX MotherBoards 9 17th February, 2003 06:45 PM
8RDA vs 8RDA+ comparing bios updates DisposableHero EPoX MotherBoards 2 3rd January, 2003 09:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0