AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 06:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 8

Is this just bad luck 4 me??

Hi i got the Epox 8kha+ mobo + Ahtlon XP 1700+, + 256 Crucial 2100 ram

Now i here how everyone can hit 150-160 even 145 fsb, but sadly i have problems hitting 140

whenever windows trys to boot i get a bluescreen.. i put up the voltage on both the cpu & mem, with no success

Im pretty sure its the ram holding me back maybe i was not lucky and got a bad crucial stick.. or could it be the CPU??


any help is really apreciated thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2001, 07:45 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I had problems hitting high FSB at first.

Firstly id suspect that the CPU cant go any faster without more voltage or more importantly cooling.

What cooling do you have ?

Im running a Duron but the pryncipals are the same.
I couldnt get a FSB increase to work without unloaking the CPU and reducing the multiplyer, once i did so i could get stable at 150fsb, any higher and i think my PSU flakes out.

Unfortunately unlocking a XP isnt as easy as a duron.

What settings have you got your ram on ?
Try running normal settings and then increase the FSB, you might find that more voltage helps although it didnt help in my case.

Get the latest bios.

Good luck
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 8

Hi

My ram settings are set to most aggresive, got the latest bios 11/02

and cpu is not that bad 41C idle 46C full load.

running at 136 FSB right now

anything higher like 138 i get blue screens
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:20 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by avatar51
Hi

My ram settings are set to most aggresive, got the latest bios 11/02

and cpu is not that bad 41C idle 46C full load.

running at 136 FSB right now

anything higher like 138 i get blue screens
The RAM could be the problem. For problem solving, try using normal timings on the memory and see if it goes higher on the FSB. Then you'll at least have an idea if that's the problem. And I hope someone comes out with trace tape before I buy and XP.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:35 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sounds like bad luck to me...
My XP1600+ is running 146.8FSB rock solid, using 2x Crucial DDRs at full speed, and stock voltages no less.. What is your PSU?... if you have MBM, check your voltages, to make sure you have enough juice to feed the new baby. Definitely slow down your timings on the RAM to see if the CPU responds to the FSBs.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:38 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Sounds like bad luck to me...
My XP1600+ is running 146.8FSB rock solid, using 2x Crucial DDRs at full speed, and stock voltages no less.. What is your PSU?... if you have MBM, check your voltages, to make sure you have enough juice to feed the new baby. Definitely slow down your timings on the RAM to see if the CPU responds to the FSBs.
If you don't have MBM, feel free to download it from our wonderful File Download Center (www.aoafiles.com). I believe it's under Other files.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:39 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142


The RAM could be the problem. For problem solving, try using normal timings on the memory and see if it goes higher on the FSB. Then you'll at least have an idea if that's the problem. And I hope someone comes out with trace tape before I buy and XP.
I've heard if you boo-boo on the L1s and short them, all XPs default to an 11x multi. If newer Xps come much higher, it may be a good fall back position in a sense. I'm thinking of trying it on my 10.5x just to see if it helps.

BTW, it might be possible to make your own trace tape. I thought about it. If you start with scotch tape, defogger repair kit at a few toothpicks.... create the lines and wait til it dries before you apply, it should not short out in the pits if you use AS2 in there.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 8

Ya i got the Enermax 431 wat PSU so its good the +12 is always over 12 and +5 rail is usually 5 sometimes drop to 4.95-96 under full load

everything seems good... hmm if i could only get my hand on another peice of ram to test and make sure its actually the ram.


as for unlocking the XP i have no idea how and im not good at these kind of things i might screw it up
__________________

Last edited by Daniel ~; 24th November, 2001 at 11:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 06:51 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by avatar51
Ya i got the Enermax 431 wat PSU so its good the +12 is always over 12 and +5 rail is usually 5 sometimes drop to 4.95-96 under full load

everything seems good... hmm if i could only get my hand on another peice of ram to test and make sure its actually the ram.


as for unlocking the XP i have no idea how and im not good at these kind of things i might screw it up
Did you try your current RAM with normal rather than aggressive timings? That would be Step 1 in my opinion.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?

Last edited by Betty; 24th November, 2001 at 12:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 8

yes i had no help

damn looks like i have run out of options other then find another stick of ram
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 07:05 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by avatar51
yes i had no help

damn looks like i have run out of options other then find another stick of ram
That sucks. You did strip it down to bare necessities to boot already I assume? That's last ditch option. Then if you get farther add parts in one by one.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 8

no havent tried that yet sounds good ill give it a shot it the morning hopefully i figure out the prob.

ill let u know what happens tommorow

thx 4 the help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 07:51 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Sounds like ram problems to me. i had the same problem.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 09:00 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

As we have said before - this is very dependant on all components being in balance, and realistic targets being acheived.

I know that with air cooling my XP1800+ will only hit 1700MHz internal core speed. I also know that my memory can do 170MHz Host Clock no problem on KT266a, SiS735 or AMD761. So in order to acheive my host clock of 170 I know that I need to retard the memory timings a little to make the memory able to achieve the high speed and reduce my multiplier to 10.

Now I know that if I want to increase the multiplier I may have to reduce the memory clock or introduce more cooling for the processor.

These are the ways that you need to look at when overclocking - this is something that seems to be overlooked of late with many people reading of mainboards that achieve high FSB and just expecting that they can achieve them also "just like that" after purchasing one.

I think that to combat the frustrations that many are encountering, they really do need to unlock their processors.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 7 years bad luck or good luck? robbie Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 6 21st November, 2005 03:34 AM
Man!! do i have bad luck!!! tallguy687 Mobile Devices and Networking 2 15th April, 2005 08:35 PM
Just My Luck WonderBread Random Nonsense! 11 26th January, 2005 05:52 AM
My Luck Pitch Betty's Rants and Rages 8 22nd August, 2004 03:35 AM
What Luck..... Southern Man Random Nonsense! 19 8th March, 2004 08:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0