AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:06 AM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

bad mem benches?

sorry about the messed colors, had to save it in 256 color format lol.

http://www.daocplace.com/~fireball/mem.bmp
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:18 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Is that the 8KHA+?!? That would look a bit low. BTW, why haven't you been on AIM lately?
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:45 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Is that your new XP???? @ 150FSB!!!!?????
Absolutely unacceptable! Check your settings, any DDR board should be doing much better than that at 150FSB.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

those are indeed low benchies. what mem timings are you using? still, i don't think changing from cas2.5 to cas2 or anything like that is going to increase your benchies THAT much.

what version of sandra are you using? get the most recent release, as afaik the older ones had issues with xps and mem bandwidth.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 3

Fireball_87: Try Sandra Pro! It has been fixed to work with the XP.
Here is a shot of what mine looks like. Hope that helps. Jim
Attached Thumbnails
bad mem benches?-sandra-mem-bandwidth2.gif  
__________________
System

OS XP Pro
Athlon XP 1800
Vapochill PP-412x
Antec 400w Powersupply
Epox EP-8KHA+
Kingston 2100 DDR CL2 512 MB
2 - IBM ATA 40 GB Ultra 100 7200
DVD Acer DVP 1640a 16x40
CDR TDK Velo 16x10x40x32
Vid GeForce 3 Ti 500
Sound 24 bit Creative Audigy
HP Scanjet 4300C
HP Photosmart 1000
Mag Innovision 19in
Logitech Cordless Mouse & Keyboard
Cable Modem
Promise Tx2 Ultra 100
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 08:37 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Sandra Professional edition is known to be bugged with memory bandwidth scores - this result I attach proves such between both (memmory scores taken on 8K7A with XP1800+ at default speed with optimized defaults loaded in BIOS)
Attached Thumbnails
bad mem benches?-standard.gif  
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 08:38 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

and the professional (quite obviously false and flawed) edition. Sandra Pro is not fixed to work with the XP, but is broken from the start.
Attached Thumbnails
bad mem benches?-professional.gif  
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................

Last edited by EPoX Tech; 24th November, 2001 at 08:41 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 10:45 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Fireball, looks like you need to play with some BIOS setting to me.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 03:13 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

this is my new xp 8kah+, 150fsb normal mem timeings, cas 2.5, pc 2700 ocz ddr. im gona try playing with some bios tweeks, but this relly has me stumped. i coult acheve this with my old kt7-raid lol

ps: im using the standerd ver and win 98se for compairson resons (part II of xp review)......
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:


Last edited by fireball_87; 24th November, 2001 at 03:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 03:16 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Well that's your problem!

Put the memory to turbo, set it to CAS2, and be sure 4-way memory interleave is enabled.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 03:32 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

ok, here it is. timings: fast, 4 bank interleve, cas2. win 98 dosent like anything above that. cant wight to try with 2000/xp im cureently at the almost dangros level of 2.9v ddr. in a week or to im gona try some ram sinks, and my fop32/aopper cak38 on the northbridge. i think i need to unlock it to hit 166. i know this chip's got 1.6 or 1.7 ghz in it, but im to chiken to do the voltage mod for now

http://www.daocplace.com/~fireball/mem2.bmp
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 03:44 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

2.9V ain't dangerous. I run 3.0V all the time, and have run 3.2V for hours on end.

That memory is real crap ya got there, hope you didn't pay a lot for it(no offence intended of course, I just think maybe you have been had). I can run at those speeds with a mere 2.7V with my Crucial memory.

My advise: Go for the Turbo settings, 4-way interleave, CAS2, and however much voltage it takes. If it takes more than 3.0V, consider heat spreads, but go ahead and run without them until you get 'em.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 24th November, 2001 at 03:47 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 03:49 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
2.9V ain't dangerous. I run 3.0V all the time, and have run 3.2V for hours on end.

That memory is real crap ya got there, hope you didn't pay a lot for it(no offence intended of course, I just think maybe you have been had). I can run at those speeds with a mere 2.7V with my Crucial memory.

My advise: Go for the Turbo settings, 4-way interleave, CAS2, and however much voltage it takes. If it takes more than 3.0V, consider heat spreads, but go ahead and run without them until you get 'em.
ill give it a try i paid $55 for it and only got it because it was supposeldy "pc2700"
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 05:42 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Real quality PC2700 will do 200MHz easily in a SiS 645 board.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 3

Epox Tech : Not to disagree with you but there is a update for Sandra Pro! The new Ver. # is 1.11.8.53 not the Ver. # 1.7.8.20 that you are using. From what the site says and what i have read on other sites. It seems that they have fixed the bugs they had with XP and the new chipsets. I still feel that all of the Bencmarks are only to check changes on the system it's on. There is no way to compare other systems as they are all set up Diff. Some people do test with clean installs and people like me do test as the system is used on a daily basis. I want to see what changes do for my normal setup not for a bare system as i don't work on a bare system. Hope that helps. Jim
__________________
System

OS XP Pro
Athlon XP 1800
Vapochill PP-412x
Antec 400w Powersupply
Epox EP-8KHA+
Kingston 2100 DDR CL2 512 MB
2 - IBM ATA 40 GB Ultra 100 7200
DVD Acer DVP 1640a 16x40
CDR TDK Velo 16x10x40x32
Vid GeForce 3 Ti 500
Sound 24 bit Creative Audigy
HP Scanjet 4300C
HP Photosmart 1000
Mag Innovision 19in
Logitech Cordless Mouse & Keyboard
Cable Modem
Promise Tx2 Ultra 100
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 06:49 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

The benchmarks are flawed - they show benchmarks inflated by in excess of 100% on i845, KT266, AMD761, AMD762, KT266a and Pro266.

This is patently obvious. Gaining performance by running a bugged benchmark is no gain at all !!!

I can guarantee you that the figures reported are incorrect in your screenshot. Everyone in the hardware website world uses the smaller correct figures - take a look at all of the benches on such sites as [H]ardOCP or Toms Hardware - they all use the smaller figures. particularly take a look at Toms comparisson of all the latest processors where he does a memory benchmark.

What should highlight to you the fact that it is a faux is the fact that DDR beats RDRAM PC800 on the P4 for bandwidth which is quite patently impossible !!

All day today I've been doing real world benching rather than just concentrating on memory bandwidth by doing the ZDNet office and photoshop benches along side some gaming benches. Going back to Synthetic benching I had some good gains in 3DMark2001 just by tweaking the FSB and BIOS.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 3

Epox Tech : As before I am not about to disagree with you . But the Sandra Pro Ver. # 1.118.53 will only give these higher scores. So what im saying is compare these #s from the same Ver. on the same system and who cares if they are high or low. They are only my #s from my system set up the way i use it! Who is to say if any of these benchmarks are right? They can be made to show what ever the programer wants! So as i said before i just use them to check changes i make to my personal systems! As such i don't care if they are high or low, i just need to see if the change made any diff. I will keep my info to my self and not bother you or any one else on the group. Sorry if it created a problem for you. Jim
__________________
System

OS XP Pro
Athlon XP 1800
Vapochill PP-412x
Antec 400w Powersupply
Epox EP-8KHA+
Kingston 2100 DDR CL2 512 MB
2 - IBM ATA 40 GB Ultra 100 7200
DVD Acer DVP 1640a 16x40
CDR TDK Velo 16x10x40x32
Vid GeForce 3 Ti 500
Sound 24 bit Creative Audigy
HP Scanjet 4300C
HP Photosmart 1000
Mag Innovision 19in
Logitech Cordless Mouse & Keyboard
Cable Modem
Promise Tx2 Ultra 100
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 08:28 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by fireball_87
im cureently at the almost dangros level of 2.9v ddr. in a week or to im gona try some ram sinks, and my fop32/aopper
I'm surprised, My Crucial cas2.5 DDRs are running stock voltage (2.5) @146.6FSB fastest timings across the board. Are you sure the memory is unstable w/ less voltage?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 09:01 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Oh and Fireball, if extra voltage won't make the memory go faster, try manually setting the DRAM Drive Strength settings to there maximums. This sends a stronger "tic" to the memory modual.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2001, 09:30 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

ok, got it up to turbo at 3.1v lol. im sure it isint stable at lesser voltages, cus win98 eather gives bsod or reg errors.

ps: thanks dimm, ill try that
pps:the northbridge seems to be getting awfal hot. as soon as i can get my hands on some thermal epoxy ill mount my fop 32-1

http://www.daocplace.com/~fireball/mem3.bmp
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:


Last edited by fireball_87; 24th November, 2001 at 10:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad SLi Benches. Pitch Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 2nd May, 2006 11:51 AM
Temporal AA benches Pitch Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 16th July, 2004 11:53 AM
4GEA+ Benches! :D 496 MHz DDR & 200 FSB Chong345 EPoX MotherBoards 4 26th February, 2003 08:41 PM
Real GF FX BENCHES marcofra2000 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 28th January, 2003 09:03 PM
8 Rda+ with Mem benches Robin B EPoX MotherBoards 2 22nd December, 2002 06:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0