AOA AOA AOA Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

New Amd Processor Driver from Microsoft Update, does it make much difference?

hi, have just ran windows update to find theres a new driver for the processor have installed it and seen that the drivers by amd and not microsoft now and dated in dec 2002, oviously this is much newer, but will it make much difference to stability / performance or anything?

anyone know

thanks
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64 FX-57 | 2 GB CORSAIR XMS3200C2PT CAS2.0 RAM | ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM | 2 X 250GB WESTON DIGITAL SATA 2 (16MB CACHE) HDD | BFG GEFORCE 7800GTX | PIONEER DVR-109 | WINDOWS XP PRO SP2 | TAGAN 580 WATT PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 06:49 PM
ayankdownunder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: From USA now living in SYDNEY AU
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to ayankdownunder

Yep it makes a difference. Check the pics.

Here is a screenshot with the older driver.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp olddriver.bmp (261.5 KB, 647 views)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 06:49 PM
ayankdownunder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: From USA now living in SYDNEY AU
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to ayankdownunder

New driver
Attached Images
File Type: bmp newdriver.bmp (261.5 KB, 556 views)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 183

Where do I find that driver? Have no internet connection. Was it in service pack 1?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 11:07 PM
Groltz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Pierce County, WA
Posts: 181

Windows Update

 
Attached Thumbnails
New Amd Processor Driver from Microsoft Update, does it make much difference?-cpu_update.gif  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 11:35 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 11:40 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

He has no Internet connection...

Yet somehow he managed to post on here?
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 11:59 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

Quote:
Originally posted by Genius
He has no Internet connection...

Yet somehow he managed to post on here?
I just figured I'd post the link, just in case he figured it out :-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 04:36 AM
Max Headroom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Wild West Germany
Posts: 86

Is it WinXP only?

Max
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 09:29 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally posted by oqvist
Where do I find that driver? Have no internet connection. Was it in service pack 1?
eh? not even a modem?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 36

Quote:
Originally posted by oqvist
Where do I find that driver? Have no internet connection. Was it in service pack 1?
LMAO!!!

Its to bad he wont see the link.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 03:37 PM
Mark099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 283

Has anybody done testing with other bencmarks?
__________________
Mark099!

Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz | Asus K8N-E Deluxe | PNY Verto GeForce FX 5600 Ultra 128MB | 2x 256MB Kingston Hyper-X PC3700 DDR | 80GB Maxtor 8MB 7200RPM HDD | LG 24x10x40x CDRW | Iomega 250MB Zip | Landmark ATX-A70 23" Aluminum Case | Antec 550W TruePower PSU | Windows XP Pro SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 04:06 PM
Groltz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Pierce County, WA
Posts: 181

Quote:
Originally posted by Genius
He has no Internet connection...

Yet somehow he managed to post on here?
I was kind of wondering about that before I typed my first post. Maybe he can surf the net at work/school but not download files and has no connection at home?

I tried to save that update but wasn't able to. It was one of several updates I downloaded all at once from Windows Update. The other updates, which were security related, all left easily recovered .exe files in the "temporary internet files" directory. The processor update, however, left nothing behind that I could find. It might have been embedded in a JS.

Sorry Mark, I didn't benchmark it before and after.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 07:27 PM
RW2112's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: East Texas
Posts: 2

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark099
Has anybody done testing with other bencmarks?
I just got through installing that driver and then I ran 3DMark 2001 SE. My score was 12253. I had been benching in the 13200 range before that. I then rolled back to the previous driver and ran it again. This time I got 13210. I think I'll just leave it alone for now, thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 07:56 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

I got a bit of an increase with it. Probly just depends on the system.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 10:03 PM
supz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to supz Send a message via AIM to supz

My MIPS went up by 20 points... attached is a before.
Attached Thumbnails
New Amd Processor Driver from Microsoft Update, does it make much difference?-before.jpg  
__________________
Athlon XP 2400+ @ 200x10 / Epox 8RDA3+ / 2x512 Corsair XMS PC3200 / GeForce2 GTS / WD 80GB SE / Chieftec DX-01BLD / Swiftech MCX-159A / CPU+VGA Watercooled w/Swiftech MCW-5000A+MCW50
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 10:04 PM
supz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to supz Send a message via AIM to supz

And here is my after... not that huge a difference. Let's just hope it's stable
Attached Thumbnails
New Amd Processor Driver from Microsoft Update, does it make much difference?-after.jpg  
__________________
Athlon XP 2400+ @ 200x10 / Epox 8RDA3+ / 2x512 Corsair XMS PC3200 / GeForce2 GTS / WD 80GB SE / Chieftec DX-01BLD / Swiftech MCX-159A / CPU+VGA Watercooled w/Swiftech MCW-5000A+MCW50
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 10:14 PM
RW2112's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: East Texas
Posts: 2

Quote:
Originally posted by Genius
I got a bit of an increase with it. Probly just depends on the system.
I guess so. I did see an increase under Sandra on the CPU benchmark, but on 3DMark it really took a dive. Strange...
__________________
EP-8RDA+, 2400+ @ 12.5 X 166 FSB, 512mb PC2700 Samsung (2X256) @ 6-3-3-2.5, Volcano 9 HSF, Liteon 24X10X40 CDRW, Liteon 16X DVD, Maxtor 80Gb 7200 ATA133 HD, PNY Geforce 4 TI4200 64Mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2003, 08:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

sandra cpu benchmarks up, memory down, 3dmark down. then i installed latest ati catalyst drivers and 3dmarks went down some more. what's up? going to try 3d 2003 and see what happens there.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2003, 10:48 PM
goofydave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 74

Processor Driver

I did a quick look around on my system device manager, and located the file that it installed

amdk7.sys

What i can gather from the web is that its to add the new AMD cpu's K8?

I also found in

C:\WINDOWS\System32\ReinstallBackups\0011\DriverFi les\
what appears to be all the files my system used to install it

I have attached that directory in the amdk7.zip file

I'm runnin WinXP SP1 myself

Use at your own risk blah blah etc etc..
Attached Files
File Type: zip amdk7.zip (25.1 KB, 71 views)
__________________
EPOX 8K3A+ | XP2100+ TBRED-B @ 2210Mhz | Samsung 512mb DDR400 | 80GB MAXTOR ATA133 7200rpm
GeForce4 Ti 4200 128mb (300/555) | LITE-ON LTR-52246S | LITE-ON LTD-166S
3DMark2001 SE - 13012
__________________
The hardest thing to do is to watch the one you love - love somebody else.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How big a difference will this make? Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th February, 2006 03:11 AM
What a difference decent memory can make! Lazgoat AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 25th August, 2005 06:04 PM
cache speed make a difference? smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 24th August, 2003 01:45 AM
WinXP Driver Update- Nvidia Corporation Media Driver Version 5.10.2906.0 Pablo Escobar EPoX MotherBoards 1 9th December, 2002 02:47 PM
You too can make a difference! Allan Random Nonsense! 3 10th August, 2002 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0