AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 20

Whats wrong woth the floppy!

OK here is my prob, I know my floppy works but suddendly it stopped to work on my card. It gets recognised in the bios but I can't use it in windows I get an I/O error message. Does anyone know what the cause of the problem could be.

Best regards Mashi.
__________________
8rda+(rev1.1), 1700+ (JIUCB), 2*256 twinmos(w/ twinmos chips), Sapphire 9700 np, 120 WD SE, Alpha Pal 8045
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 05:35 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

could be a bad cable
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 20

U think so? Then I shall try with a different floppy 2morrow will come back with report .
__________________
8rda+(rev1.1), 1700+ (JIUCB), 2*256 twinmos(w/ twinmos chips), Sapphire 9700 np, 120 WD SE, Alpha Pal 8045
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 07:15 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

you havent removed it lately have you, maybe the cable is in backwards.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2003, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 20

Hmm this is really interesting, before I tried to change the cable I gave it a shoot and the sucker works now :-s
__________________
8rda+(rev1.1), 1700+ (JIUCB), 2*256 twinmos(w/ twinmos chips), Sapphire 9700 np, 120 WD SE, Alpha Pal 8045
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2003, 06:56 PM
JEB's Avatar
JEB JEB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Caithness, Scotland
Posts: 98

Got a mate that has just gone through a week of hell with a simillar problem. Couldn't get either an Alps or Sony to work in his rig. When he took it out the case though and connected it up it would work ok. Problem turned out to be that if he screwed it into the case too tightly both the Alps and Sony stopped working, but when he slackened the retaining srews - worked fine. Strange but true...
__________________
Epox 8RGA+ | XP2700+ | Gigabyte 9700 Pro | 2 x 256Mb Corsair XMS3500 | Antec True Blue 480w | WD 80GB 7200rpm 8MB cache | Liteon 52x24x52 CD-R/RW | VideoLogic ZXR500 Speakers | SLK-900 | AOC LM720A 17" TFT |Win XP Pro /w SP1 | 3DMark 2001 16k.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 09:56 PM
tibial-pin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: England
Posts: 7
Send a message via MSN to tibial-pin

Quote:
Originally posted by JEB
Got a mate that has just gone through a week of hell with a simillar problem. Couldn't get either an Alps or Sony to work in his rig. When he took it out the case though and connected it up it would work ok. Problem turned out to be that if he screwed it into the case too tightly both the Alps and Sony stopped working, but when he slackened the retaining srews - worked fine. Strange but true...
'Tis strange but true.

I had the same problem.

I fitted a new hard drive at the same time as fitting my 8rda+ and was convinced that it was a problem with the board, but I must have nipped up the screws on the floppy drive while I had the bay out. When I slackened them off the drive was back to normal.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 11:30 AM
DMC DMC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5

Unhappy

I'm getting this problem but I haven't taken my drive out and I have also tried another drive not fixed to no avail!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 05:25 PM
dresuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sotira, Cyprus
Posts: 135

Ive said this before.........

nforce2 has a mind of its own

muuuuuhahahaaaahaaaaaaa

:devil:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 07:07 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

are you running windows xp? it has issues with some stiffy's working and then failing.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats wrong???? (3dmark04) sasrob Benchmarking 8 13th July, 2004 02:46 AM
whats wrong???? sasrob CRASHED! 4 11th April, 2004 04:11 AM
whats wrong with it.?? JBX AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 17th October, 2003 01:06 AM
Whats wrong SadisticWarrior ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 4th December, 2002 08:08 AM
Whats wrong here? The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 9th September, 2002 02:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0