AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2003, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2

Question Corsair memory compatibility...?

Hello

I have the chance to buy either the 8RDA+ or the 8RGA+ - maybe the one with the graphics chip built in offers a better voltage range for overclocking...?

Anyway is there a compatibility issue with these boards and Corsair memory as I find that >>>
http://members.cox.net/8rda/issues.html
Suggests that there is an issue and there are even modified Bios's to use it.
http://members.cox.net/8rda/bios.htm


Yet I have read some posts within this forum that it runs ok, is that by default or with any modification...?

I can buy >>>

Corsair 256MB XMS3200 DDR SDRAM
or even
Corsair 256MB XMS3500 DDR SDRAM

Now could I expect an issue with either of those boards and that memory or is there no issue at all....?

If you too had a choice of either board (not bothered about the graphics option) which would you buy...?


Thankyou for any help


Morgan
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2003, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

I have an 8RDA, have had 8RDA+ and several 8RDA's that were built for friends, if you want to overclock, and the 8RGA+ is available in the UK, get it, and get Twinmos PC3200 with Winbond chips, it works great with this series of boards, and eliminate the chance of getting Corsiar and having problems.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2003, 09:44 PM
sepal's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 11

Hi Morgan-
At first i used two Mushkin 3200 in duel channel mode.Received TwinMos 3200 (no heat speaders )and populated all three slots, which ran @200Mhz x 2 = 400.
For some reason i bought a corsair 3200 with heat spreaders like Mushkin uses and thought it might be a better 'marriage' then with TwinMos(BTW twinmos is quite good it seems ) ... but in 'that' particular config , it would NOT post @ 400Mhz but 333Mhz only no matter what i did in bios.

um... that cant be good ya?

Best Regards and GL : )
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2003, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2

Then maybe there could be an issue with Corsair memory with this motherboard.

Wrongly (?) I assumed that Twinmos was inferior to Corsair - but maybe not in this motherboard. At least it does seem to be cheaper.

So as yet a 8RGA+ and Twinmos with Winbond chips (?) seem to be the combination to go for.


phew this is hard work


Thankyou for your help

Morgan
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2003, 07:13 AM
sepal's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 11

yup yup ... dont feel too bad cause

i thought twinmos was some new bios company

and twinmos does not have heat spreaders like many others,yet
they seem to rock the hut .

Hasta
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need HELP with Memory & Motherboard compatibility !!! Ol'Pal Gary AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 28th February, 2007 03:25 PM
memory backwards compatibility? skool h8r General Hardware Discussion 11 28th April, 2005 01:09 AM
8KDA3J Memory Compatibility List Wave_Dave EPoX MotherBoards 4 24th January, 2005 08:12 PM
Corsair 3500 and 8RDA+ compatibility? Naasar EPoX MotherBoards 5 12th February, 2003 07:13 AM
Memory compatibility issues? Genius EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th January, 2003 03:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0