AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2003, 07:50 PM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Twinmos 256MB PC3200 w/ Twinmos chips on 8RDA+...

Hey guys... Just got my 2 sticks of Twinmos 256MB of PC3200 RAM...

The chips are indeed Twinmos chips... This is the markings on them:

0304 TMD7608F8E45D

Now I bought these because they were a steal at $59 each... I figured I'd try these out and hope for better performance out of Dual Channel with tighter timings than I was running...

So far it's not looking good...

I tried running them with 200FSB DC 2,2,2,6 with 2.9V and I got a ton of errors in Memtest86... I then lowered the timings to 2,3,3,6 and it passed one loop...

Gonna burn them in for a while and hopefully can get some more juice out of them... I was hoping for at least 210 DC FSB at 2,2,2,6 we'll see if some burning in helps these chips out...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2003, 07:56 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

Shame, most people report success only with the ones that use winbond 5ns chips.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2003, 08:21 PM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Yeah, I knew that the Winbond chips were the ones giving great clocks but the thing is that the site that I purchased them from... MemoryX said that the Twinmos PC3200 RAM with Twinmos chips were just relabeled Winbond chips so should perform same but at reduced cost...

So I was hoping that they would still work well...

Booted up at 210 DC FSB at 2,3,3,6 2.9v and after a few minutes of Prime95 computer crashed and rebooted itself...

My only hope right now is that burning it helps it tremendously (but from my past experiences with burning in it doesn't help me much..)

What do you guys suggest for burning in the RAM?? I've heard that best is MemTest86 and loop Test5 for a few hours... Also heard that running the burn-in function of Sisoft Sandra for a few hours as well is good...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 12:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 42

Before condeming the sticks, see how other memory does.
It may be a limitation of your 8rda+.

I tested the Twinmos/Winbond version last week, and best I could get 6-2-2-2 was 205MHz. My Samsung PC2700 also does 205MHz max, but at 6-3-3-2.5. Have the Twinmos/Twinmos on order, and should be testing it later this week, but expect it to do similar to the Twinmos/Winbond.

While CAS2 is expected with these, they are still only rated at PC3200 CAS2.5.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 03:10 AM
mata2974's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Colmbus, Ohio
Posts: 27

Sorry to hear this, but this is what normally happens when you go for cheap ram, and hope for glory...personally I would rather pay that extra little and have peace of mind. :clown:
__________________
Epox 8RDA3+, 2.0
AMD 1700, ATI 9800 Pro, Antec TP 550W PSU, Win XP Home Ed, Corsair 2 x 256mb XMS 3200 C2, rev.1.1,
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 03:30 AM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Robs... Look at my sig... It's definitely not my mobo holding me back...

I tried single stick at tight timings and no go either... Would get thousands of errors in MemTest86... tightest timings being 200FSB 2,2,2,6 at 2.9v

My board can take to 213FSB no problem single channel with my GEIL..
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 05:10 AM
Phunktion's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 2

Quote:
Originally posted by Swifty2002
Robs... Look at my sig... It's definitely not my mobo holding me back...

I tried single stick at tight timings and no go either... Would get thousands of errors in MemTest86... tightest timings being 200FSB 2,2,2,6 at 2.9v

My board can take to 213FSB no problem single channel with my GEIL..
Maybe it can't handle the 2.9Volts.. go down to 2.77 again and see if that works out..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 05:23 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

hardcorecooling.com is currently the best place (that I'm aware of) to get great chips at an excellent price. I bought my first two TwinMos Winbond chips from MemoryX and my 512 from HC. I'm quite happy with my 195 fsb 5-3-3-2 in dual ddr mode (the chips will do better (my config is limiting me), I haven't vdd modded yet either.

http://www.hardcorecooling.us/produc...00&1=201&3=323

This chip is labelled as Winbond. The other .13 micron chips are no longer specified as Winbond but state they're the same die (.13). I am very happy with the stick I got from hardcorecooling.com.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 05:29 AM
pltguy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ventura Ca.
Posts: 77

remarked ram ?? , I know thats what they say but i dont know how they would do it. The thing is twinmos like most make the pcb and uses other pep ram chips,so those could b sammys-winbond-or 1 of the others they list on there site. Like the others said i paid the xtra just 2 c the name Winbond BH-5 and mine run at 221-DC-Sync-5,2,2,2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 05:46 AM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Remarked yes... That's what MemoryX claims at least... I trusted them but I guess I shouldn't have and paid the extra $20 per stick for the Winbond...

Gonna give it a good burn in when I get the chance and maybe that'll help...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda non plus , and twinmos pc3200 problem Jonny_doe EPoX MotherBoards 5 16th October, 2004 04:40 AM
Twinmos PC3200 and 8RDA+ Epox Maniac EPoX MotherBoards 11 16th May, 2003 01:17 PM
EPOX 8RDA+ / 8RGA+ & 3 x 256MB sticks of Twinmos question Alistair EPoX MotherBoards 2 15th April, 2003 05:41 PM
twinmos pc3200 and 8rda+ lonegun EPoX MotherBoards 6 22nd March, 2003 06:13 PM
2x Twinmos PC3200 256mb & 8RDA+ Mickey Padge EPoX MotherBoards 134 6th March, 2003 02:53 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0