AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2003, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Canada/Ontario/AJAX
Posts: 62

running games

Ok, the way I have my system running now CHECK SIG..no problems, but when I play Nascar 2002 for a more than say 15 min, it just goes back to desktop, if I raise Vcore to 1.95 It does not??
Other racing games like Rallisport challenge do not have this problem at 1.90 vcore so far I don't think it's as demanding on system for some reason..
I have Vcore at 1.95---- AGP is at default 1.50-- Vdimm is at 2.77
I don't think running at Vcore 1.95 is safe for everyday operation or am I wrong??
What would raiseing AGP to 1.60 do to my overclocked Ti4200 running at 280/590??
Or would raiseing Vdimm to 2.90 help this problem?
My 5V rail fluxuates at 4.84--4.74 even as low as 4.64, could PS be an issue here??
Any thoughts would be great........
Oh temps are not an issue here as idle are 33 full load with Nascar running 43 degrees
__________________
- ABIT NF7-S 2.0
- AMD ATHLON 2500+ BARTON AQXDA 0315 WPJW RUNNING SYNC AT 11X200=2200MHz so far....@1.65 Vcore
- VANTEC VA4 AEROFLOW
- ATI RADEON 9800PRO 128MB DDR
- OCZ 1GB DDR PC3500 EL at 2-2-3-7 timings
- SATA RAID RUNNING 2 WESTERN DIGITALS 8MB CACHE 80GB HD
- CREATIVE AUDIGY 2 SOUND CARD
- LOGITECH Z-560 THX SPEAKERS 4.1
- IBM E94 19"
- ANTEC SX-840 W/ MODDED WINDOW
- ENERMAX 460W
- MICROSOFT WINDOWS XPHOME
http://members.rogers.com/jamiehayman

Last edited by jamie hayman; 21st March, 2003 at 03:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2003, 03:31 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

1.95 wont be a problem providing your temps are ok.

Try running 1.95 and run 3dmark for a whyle.

if you can run through a few times then you can be pretty sure your stable, then run it a bit more to make sure you arnt overheating..

Adding some VAGP might slightly improove your graphics overclock

more Vdimm might help stability at high FSB, set the Vcore back to 1.9 and Vagp back and try 2.9 VDDR, if this solves your problems then you can keep at 2.9 or back off the FSB or timings a bit... 2.9 should be fairly safe.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2003, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Canada/Ontario/AJAX
Posts: 62

Ok thanks Holst i will try a few things you said..
__________________
- ABIT NF7-S 2.0
- AMD ATHLON 2500+ BARTON AQXDA 0315 WPJW RUNNING SYNC AT 11X200=2200MHz so far....@1.65 Vcore
- VANTEC VA4 AEROFLOW
- ATI RADEON 9800PRO 128MB DDR
- OCZ 1GB DDR PC3500 EL at 2-2-3-7 timings
- SATA RAID RUNNING 2 WESTERN DIGITALS 8MB CACHE 80GB HD
- CREATIVE AUDIGY 2 SOUND CARD
- LOGITECH Z-560 THX SPEAKERS 4.1
- IBM E94 19"
- ANTEC SX-840 W/ MODDED WINDOW
- ENERMAX 460W
- MICROSOFT WINDOWS XPHOME
http://members.rogers.com/jamiehayman
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 22

5v Rail is too low

Nascar is obviously more CPU intensive. You need more voltage for CPU stability. If you cooling is sufficient then there is no problem. Also your 5v is extememly low. That causes instability within itself. Look @ my sig & you should feel better about your system. My system is for everyday use.
__________________
Barton XP2500 @ 2310Mhz 220x10.5 2.050 VCore Volcano 7
8rda+ VDD Mod 2.19v
Corsair PC 3500
7-3-3 C2 Aggresive 3.05 VDim
Promise TX2000 2 40gb IBM on RAID
Albatron TI4200 Turbo VMod 330/730
Onboard sound 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 125

I'm having the same problems w/ the low 5v rail when I push the core v. that high. I'm thinking that it has a lot to do w/ it. And a vdd mod wouldn't hurt.
__________________
MINE AMD ROCK THE WORLD
2100@12x194
8RDA no mods
Radeon 9000 Pro 128
Maxtor 80G
2 Elcheapo CD RW's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Games that u cant get away from n4l3hp GAMES! OH YEAH! 34 4th January, 2006 06:02 PM
PSP games danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 1 30th October, 2005 10:16 PM
EP-8KDA3+ : Short freezes when running games watooit EPoX MotherBoards 3 21st October, 2004 09:39 PM
Running multiple games on one server at once? Wa11y GAMES! OH YEAH! 23 18th April, 2002 12:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0