AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 11:07 PM
SpleeNMaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Hilversum, Holland
Posts: 72

Question should i trade my 2400+ for a 2100+ ??

hi, i've been reading a lot of positive things about 2100+ tbredb's. i currently have a 2400+ tbredb. i'm able to run it @ 2580 @ 2,050 Vcore. will a 2100+ tbredb do better than that?
__________________
Silentmaxx Fanless Pro 503W PSU. EPoX 9NPA+ Ultra. AMD Athlon64 3200+ Venice E6. Twinmos 512 DDR x 2 (dual channel) PC3200. Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm, 8MB Sata II x 2 @ raid0, Cpu, Gpu, Chipset watercooled by Innovatek (and a Ford Taunus engine radiator)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 11:12 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Its a bit of a lottery.

Most 2100 wont get much over 2.5gig. you might get lucky and get 2.7+ but you might end up at about 2.2 you just dont know.

If I were you id wait and see how the 2500 bartons clock on water.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 125

Or you might get a dud like my 2100 @ 2330.
__________________
MINE AMD ROCK THE WORLD
2100@12x194
8RDA no mods
Radeon 9000 Pro 128
Maxtor 80G
2 Elcheapo CD RW's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 85

I'd hardly say that you have a dud there Lanker....a 600Mhz overclock is not the sign of a dud...true others have attained higher but it is not a dud....something else may be holding you back....
__________________
Abit NF7-S with 2100+ T-Bred "B" @2406MHz (200X12) Vcore 1.775V, VDIMM 2.9V, VDD 1.82V 2X256M Twinmos/Winbond PC3200 6,2,2,2.0 DDR,SLK800 with 84CFM Tornado,ATI Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec Truepower 430W ps.
80G WD HDD w/8M cache Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 247

I say sell it and grab one of those new 1.5v 1700+'s
__________________
site link removed, use www button below sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 06:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN, US
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst
Its a bit of a lottery.

Most 2100 wont get much over 2.5gig. you might get lucky and get 2.7+ but you might end up at about 2.2 you just dont know.
I dunno where you're getting these 2100s man, but wherever it is let us in on it. I recently picked up a 2100+ and got it to 2.4ghz using water cooling. I'm of the belief that 2.4ghz is pretty good.

Anyhow, to answer the original question with a question........ What stepping is the 2100?
__________________
Commodore Vic20 overclocked to like, a Vic40 or so. C-64 hotwired to use intelivision controllers and play colecovision games-Nitrogen cooled!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 10:34 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

2.4gig is a great overclock from a 2100.

But Spleen is allready at 2.5gig.

if you get a particually good stepping and use a load of voltage then you might get more on a 2100, but the odds are against you.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 10:40 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

You know where you are with your 2400. As Holst said its a lottery. I set up a system for a friend with one of these 2100's and it was unstable over 2.2 GHz. Only get one if you know the stepping to be good for sure.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 10:49 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay T
Only get one if you know the stepping to be good for sure.
Even then theres still some luck involved. My 1700+ JIUHB 0302 is topping out at about 2300. I've seen some of these doing 2400 on air and 2500 with water.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 125

I know I shouldn't whine about a measly 600mhz oc. heheheh

I can boot to 2400. I've been burning in a few hours at a time. It runs great at 2375 but won't game there.

Hmmm... maybe one o' them vdd mods, eh???
__________________
MINE AMD ROCK THE WORLD
2100@12x194
8RDA no mods
Radeon 9000 Pro 128
Maxtor 80G
2 Elcheapo CD RW's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 85

[QUOTE
Hmmm... maybe one o' them vdd mods, eh??? [/B][/QUOTE]

That's my plan anyway.....
__________________
Abit NF7-S with 2100+ T-Bred "B" @2406MHz (200X12) Vcore 1.775V, VDIMM 2.9V, VDD 1.82V 2X256M Twinmos/Winbond PC3200 6,2,2,2.0 DDR,SLK800 with 84CFM Tornado,ATI Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec Truepower 430W ps.
80G WD HDD w/8M cache Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to Louofm1

Not sure if this is the solution but certain TB's are able to clock higher. AMD just released the "version B". If you go to newegg.com, you can see that they now sell both the original and version B. B is actually a bit larger and is designed differently. It runs cooler ... so I think you can OC it a bit more.

Perhaps some of you are running the original XP2100

Anyone else have comments on this??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 07:55 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

i dunno..... my 2100 is running 2400 with a AX7 and 30cfm fan...
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Japan launches trade probe of LCD makers Gizmo Random Nonsense! 0 13th December, 2006 09:28 PM
ATI trade up leekirlew Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 20th September, 2004 01:22 AM
$115 Xp 2400 runs at 2400 good deal? The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2003 03:31 PM
Tools Of The Trade@! The Spyder Case Modifications 9 16th January, 2002 10:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0