AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2003, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Posts: 17

Question EPoX 8RDA+ rev1.1 with Northbridge rev A1?

Hi there,

I bought myself an 8RDA+ rev1.0 a few months ago and it is a great board. Just last week I ordered another 8RDA+ board for a friend. It turned out to be a rev1.1, as I expected.
When I removed the northbridge heatsink (to replace the bit of gum with some thermal paste), I noticed the rev A1 northbridge that is on this board. My rev1.0 board has the A2 revision. The A1 northbridge does not have the shiny metal appearance of the A2 or A3.
Is it normal that a newer revision mainboard uses older revision parts? Is there any disadvantage to the A1 northbridge when overclocking compared to the later revisions?
Early overclocking attempts are somewhat of a mixed success. I can run the 2400+ CPU at 13*166MHz at stock voltage (resulting in 2700+ performance, 2167MHz) or at 10*200MHz, which gives me 2GHz (normal speed for a 2400+). However, it will crash when I try 10.5*200MHz, even with increased voltages. Strange, because the resulting 2100MHz is lower than the 13*166 setting.
The memory is Twinmos DDR400 CL2.5. Memory timings are at very relaxed levels. At 166MHz I can run the memory either sync or async.
Does anyone have a suggestion on what I might try to improve things at 200MHz FSB?
__________________
EPoX 8RDA+ rev2.2 - AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ @12*200MHz - Alpha PAL8045 - 2x512MB PC3200 DDR - ASUS GeForce FX5900 @450/900MHz - SB Audigy 2 ZS - Zalman 400W - WD Caviar 80GB SE - Hitachi DeskStar 180GB - JLMS XJ-HD166S DVD-ROM - Plextor PX-708A DVD+/-RW - Hansol 920P 19" CRT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2003, 02:48 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 189

VDD mod!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2003, 02:59 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

the power supply could be the reason.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2003, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 79

Then what the SSP A1 stepping for if it didn't help running @200fsb. I also see other mobo manufacturer also using A1 chip like this one from SoltXk
Attached Thumbnails
EPoX 8RDA+ rev1.1 with Northbridge rev A1?-ssp-a11.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2003, 11:39 AM
KHysiek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 45

It looks like Epox is cleaning dusty dark corners of NVidia warehouse :-(. Now you see for yourself what I have on mind writing that Epox is "lesser" NVidia customer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2003, 12:10 PM
waiho2k1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 41

That's strange! The NB is A1 but the week of production is 0307???
__________________
Epox 8RGA+
Barton 2800+ @ 205x11 @ 1.65V
Corsair PC3500 XMS 1024MB
Radeon 8500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2003, 04:50 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Could it be the nForce2 ST or C18D ?
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2003, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 247

0307 A1? That's probably the 18D (new revision)
__________________
site link removed, use www button below sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2003, 06:37 PM
likwid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 46

maybe now because it is being made differently(looking like the SB) it has to go to a first rev part number. It very well might be like an A4 but since it is physically(and possibly internally) different they can't keep going with the current revisions. I have all the faith in EPoX that they are continually trying to achieve a better design thus I doubt this is old parts!
__________________
| Abit IC7 (vddr vmod) | P4 2.4c L310A579 290x12 highest stable so far | 2x256mb PC3500 Kingston HyperX | ATI 9700pro | Maxtor 80gb 8mb cache | TTGI 520watt PSU

| Maze3 Copper Top CPU Waterblock | D-Tek Pro HeaterCore (w/shroud) | Delta 120mm 85cfm/33db fan | Via Aqua 1300 Pump hooked to CritiCool relay | Casemod/D-tek Bay Res | ClearFlex60 Tubing | All 1/2" fitting's |
----------------------------------------
Signature virus: please copy me to your signature.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 01:09 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Anyone with a new "A1" stepping like to run WPCREDIT on it, and see what the silicon identifies itself with? The A2 and A3 revisions did not identify themselves differently in terms of the hardware the CPU could see.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 01:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 247

Quote:
Originally posted by Áedán
Anyone with a new "A1" stepping like to run WPCREDIT on it, and see what the silicon identifies itself with? The A2 and A3 revisions did not identify themselves differently in terms of the hardware the CPU could see.

Áedán
I was just thinking the same thing even with cpu-z or a similar program, would be nice to see what the chipset is identified as.
__________________
site link removed, use www button below sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 02:58 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

A1 is newer than A2 or A3. There's nothing untoward or anything, it is since the product is SPP A1 rather than C18D A2 or A3.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 09:06 PM
j13 j13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 37

Are there any major difference?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 70

Even though Epox might not say it, the A1 chipset is one that is suppose to support 400FSB. Abit, Asus and others made a new revision for it, but it looks like Epox didn't and just started to ship 8RDA with it,

Calcu
__________________
Mitac 8350 A64 15" Laptop
3400+ CAAOC 348 TPMW @ 2.32GHz(220 x 10.5)
512MB Kingmax PC3200 @ 220FSB
Toshiba 40GB 5.4K 16MB
ATI Mobility Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo 128MB(475/275)
2x DVD-RW
Windows XP Pro SP2 2082
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing a Barton 2500+ on 8rda+ rev1.1 Drazen xxx EPoX MotherBoards 17 14th January, 2004 07:34 AM
8rda+ (rev1.1) FSB 217 stable :) maximka EPoX MotherBoards 13 14th December, 2003 03:03 PM
Epox 8rda3+ Rev1.1 stable at last! Dave4WD EPoX MotherBoards 9 7th October, 2003 11:04 PM
8RDA+ rev1.1 & Vdd setting CodeRed EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th January, 2003 02:21 AM
Changing the Northbridge HSF on the Epox 8k5a3+ kronik EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th November, 2002 03:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0