AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 111

Thumbs down 8RGA+ and my Western Digital Drive

Arghh, i read about the problems of many people with WD drives and 8RDA+ and now i also have the same problem with my new 8RGA+ : the drive is not recognized by the system!
When will EPOX release a BIOS-fix for this??

P.S.- my Seagate Barracuda IV 80GB is always recognized and my WD runs perfectly in a SiS745 system, so definitely a problem with 8RDA+/8RGA+ <> WD
__________________
XP1700+@2505mhz(12.5x200mhz)@1.85V l Watercooling Cape-Corp KC42-X2 l 8RGA+, NB active, SB passive cooled l MOSFETS & Vreg passive cooled l 512MB PC3200 TwinMOS @ 2.77V l Leadtek A250 LE mod. to Quadro4 700XGL @ 300/553 l Seagate Barracuda IV 7200, 80GB l Pioneer DVD-115F regionfree l LiteOn CD/RW LTR-48246S l Sitecom Wireless USB -Adapter l DigitalDoc 5

PCI1 > free l PCI2 > free l PCI3 > free l PCI4 > PROMISE ULTRA100 TX2 l PCI5 > WinFast TV200XP Tv-Tuner l PCI6 > free

431 watt enermax PSU

Last edited by toXicbluE; 4th April, 2003 at 01:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 02:12 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Yep unfortunately there seems to be a detection problem with certain WD hd's....
There is an ez fix ( I should say a mod)
You have to cut the #1( red striped) wire on the IDE ribbon cable ( if using a 40 wire cable, wires 1+2 must be cut if it's an 80 wire cable).
Seems to work for folks that couldn't get there WD HD recognized.......
Look on the bottom of the 8RDA/issues page to see what I am saying.
http://www.motherboardfaqs.com/8RDA/index.html

Good Luck
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 03:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 111

Thx man, but i really don't wanna mod things which should work without mods. - i don't wanna ruin my HDD by fault.
I will spam Epox with mails about that, i have already contacted 5 other guys with the same problems. if there is no fix, i must send them back the 8RGA+ and get my money back. It's just damn annoying i can't use a HDD full with data.
__________________
XP1700+@2505mhz(12.5x200mhz)@1.85V l Watercooling Cape-Corp KC42-X2 l 8RGA+, NB active, SB passive cooled l MOSFETS & Vreg passive cooled l 512MB PC3200 TwinMOS @ 2.77V l Leadtek A250 LE mod. to Quadro4 700XGL @ 300/553 l Seagate Barracuda IV 7200, 80GB l Pioneer DVD-115F regionfree l LiteOn CD/RW LTR-48246S l Sitecom Wireless USB -Adapter l DigitalDoc 5

PCI1 > free l PCI2 > free l PCI3 > free l PCI4 > PROMISE ULTRA100 TX2 l PCI5 > WinFast TV200XP Tv-Tuner l PCI6 > free

431 watt enermax PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 05:17 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

AFAIK it does NOT hurt anything, alot of folks are using this EZ mod.
Just passing the info on.
Good Luck
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

If you have the WD hard drive jumpered correctly, on the end of an 80 pin cable, as master on IDE 1, it will work correctly. This is a problem with the drive, not the motherboards, and I have had it with the 8RDA, 8RDA+, and now the 8RGA+, but when jumpered properly, they work.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 70

I just installed a WD 80GB JB and had a hell of a time installing it, but just played with the jumper and now working flawlessly,

Calcu
__________________
Mitac 8350 A64 15" Laptop
3400+ CAAOC 348 TPMW @ 2.32GHz(220 x 10.5)
512MB Kingmax PC3200 @ 220FSB
Toshiba 40GB 5.4K 16MB
ATI Mobility Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo 128MB(475/275)
2x DVD-RW
Windows XP Pro SP2 2082
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 111

Quote:
Originally posted by golfer49
If you have the WD hard drive jumpered correctly, on the end of an 80 pin cable, as master on IDE 1, it will work correctly. This is a problem with the drive, not the motherboards, and I have had it with the 8RDA, 8RDA+, and now the 8RGA+, but when jumpered properly, they work.

Of course i tested out all the jumper positions and HDD-Master/Slave situations. Of course i tested everything and man, this HDD works excellent in any of my SiS745-boards ( as i already stated above!) and my old KT133 Board!
It IS a problem of these new Epox Nforce2 platforms and not of the drive, coz the drive was there much before Nforce2 boards came out!

EDIT: Why should it be Master on IDE1? On this port is my system drive, and the WesternDigital HAS to run as MASTER on IDE2, it is not acceptable if it doesn't.
__________________
XP1700+@2505mhz(12.5x200mhz)@1.85V l Watercooling Cape-Corp KC42-X2 l 8RGA+, NB active, SB passive cooled l MOSFETS & Vreg passive cooled l 512MB PC3200 TwinMOS @ 2.77V l Leadtek A250 LE mod. to Quadro4 700XGL @ 300/553 l Seagate Barracuda IV 7200, 80GB l Pioneer DVD-115F regionfree l LiteOn CD/RW LTR-48246S l Sitecom Wireless USB -Adapter l DigitalDoc 5

PCI1 > free l PCI2 > free l PCI3 > free l PCI4 > PROMISE ULTRA100 TX2 l PCI5 > WinFast TV200XP Tv-Tuner l PCI6 > free

431 watt enermax PSU

Last edited by toXicbluE; 4th April, 2003 at 07:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 06:34 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I don't remember him calling you stupid, he doesn't know how intelligent you are though ( how would he?), he was saying basically what calcu said ( at least thats what it looked like to me), maybe not as well is all.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 111

Ok, sorry, i edited it, i was just a lil overreacting, sorry :nervous:
__________________
XP1700+@2505mhz(12.5x200mhz)@1.85V l Watercooling Cape-Corp KC42-X2 l 8RGA+, NB active, SB passive cooled l MOSFETS & Vreg passive cooled l 512MB PC3200 TwinMOS @ 2.77V l Leadtek A250 LE mod. to Quadro4 700XGL @ 300/553 l Seagate Barracuda IV 7200, 80GB l Pioneer DVD-115F regionfree l LiteOn CD/RW LTR-48246S l Sitecom Wireless USB -Adapter l DigitalDoc 5

PCI1 > free l PCI2 > free l PCI3 > free l PCI4 > PROMISE ULTRA100 TX2 l PCI5 > WinFast TV200XP Tv-Tuner l PCI6 > free

431 watt enermax PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 06:55 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

NP man, we're just trying to help is all, I personally know what it's like when things don't go as they should, and it's not much fun.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 6

I have had an 80gb SE and now the 120gb SE drives working on my 8RDA+ without any problems.....the drives were set as Cable Select (CS) and worked flawlessly.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 07:52 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

In a thread at AMDMB a guy was having troubles with a WD HD 7200 2meg cache WD400-BB drive, he tried everything, and couldn't get it to work, WD was sending him a new cable I guess( for $14).... here is the thread...( he fixed it by cutting the 2 wires)


http://www.amdforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=211431

I know you would prefer not to do this toxic, but you may want to get a hold of this guy(Cytomax),and see how he's doing with it.

Either way Good Luck.
muzz
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 08:34 PM
Robin B's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 115

Funny i have to disks with WB,one with 2MB and one with 8 Mb cache and i havent had one singel problem what so ever.Guess i am the lucky one.
__________________
CM-Stalker
Amd 64 SD 3700+
WhiteWater
Black ice Extreme II 4x Titan 120mm
1024MB TWINX-4400C25
Epox 9NDA3+
Mist Psu 550W
POV 6800GT 425/1150
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 09:37 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by toXicbluE

....and the WesternDigital HAS to run as MASTER on IDE2, it is not acceptable if it doesn't.
Not sure if this was mentioned or tried....
Do you have a slave on IDE2? If yes, then master for the WD is correct. However, if there is no other device on IDE2, the WD has to be set up for the stand alone setting.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 111

I think i said already that i tried all settings - i have only this HDD on IDE2, neither stand alone nor CS works...
The most interesting is, that even with my Promise TX2 Controller the card won't be detected- while in another system it is detected in this controller and also on the stock IDE ports...So seems there is some kind of PCI-incompatibility with the 8RGA+...

Anyway, thanks to all, especially to Muzz, maybe i'll try that mod after talking to Epox Germany
__________________
XP1700+@2505mhz(12.5x200mhz)@1.85V l Watercooling Cape-Corp KC42-X2 l 8RGA+, NB active, SB passive cooled l MOSFETS & Vreg passive cooled l 512MB PC3200 TwinMOS @ 2.77V l Leadtek A250 LE mod. to Quadro4 700XGL @ 300/553 l Seagate Barracuda IV 7200, 80GB l Pioneer DVD-115F regionfree l LiteOn CD/RW LTR-48246S l Sitecom Wireless USB -Adapter l DigitalDoc 5

PCI1 > free l PCI2 > free l PCI3 > free l PCI4 > PROMISE ULTRA100 TX2 l PCI5 > WinFast TV200XP Tv-Tuner l PCI6 > free

431 watt enermax PSU

Last edited by toXicbluE; 4th April, 2003 at 10:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 05:25 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Good Luck Toxic, hope you get it running.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital Hard Drive.......error beep? CeleryMan General Hardware Discussion 7 21st December, 2011 06:54 PM
Western Digital MyBook World II 1TB Gigabit Ethernet Hard Drive for $330 shipped mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 24th June, 2007 11:28 PM
Western Digital 750 GB dektop drive now shipping danrok General Hardware Discussion 1 6th June, 2007 01:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0