AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 02:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Evans, GA USA
Posts: 51

why do i need more voltage for a higher fsb?

My week 307 1700+ will do 180x11=1997mhz @1.5V If it want to do 200x10=2000mhz I have to up it to 1.75v. What is the cause of this? Does this sound normal?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 03:29 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 189

no somethings wrong maybe you need more ddr or vdd voltage
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Its normal, if you want a car to go faster you give it more gas, if you want a processor to go faster (180 to 200 FSB) you have to give it more juice.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 11:26 AM
geekbyte's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 174

to be honest .. you dont need more gas to go faster .. just to last longer ehehhe

if you want i think what you ment was better gas to go faster.

__________________
AMD 2500+ @ 2.1ghz (220x9.5)
OCZ Platnium PC3200 Dual DDR 512mb
Sapphire ATI 9800NP @ 390/324
EPOX 8RDA+ Nforce2
Antec True PowerSupply 380W
WD 80GB 8MB HD / Maxtor 30GB 2MB HD
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 01:49 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

All AMD XP processors, below XP2600, will probably need a small voltage increase when OCing.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 03:07 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 189

ok my cpu can do 225mhz dc at 2.25ghz at stock 1.65v and it need guess what 1.65v to run 166x13.5 or 2.24ghz.. so thats a myth IMO.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 03:08 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

If your going to overclock then learn about Voltages http://www.pcmech.com/show/processors/189/. Also make sure that you have a very good power supply http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/20021021/index.html and Ram http://www.ocprices.com/index.php?re...iews&cat_id=69 or http://www.ocprices.com/index.php?re...iews&cat_id=69 if all the above is too confusing than you have alot to learn.
Good Luck
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better, higher CPU speed, or higher memory bandwidth? mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th August, 2004 12:33 AM
2.8 go higher than 3.3? tjf_diesel Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 7th January, 2004 06:37 PM
nForce2 Higher tRAS yields better performance and higher overclocks? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 23rd July, 2003 10:42 PM
NF7-S V2 @166 FSB but no higher? Lazgoat AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 17th April, 2003 07:17 PM
Going higher watsaru Hardware Hacking 3 16th September, 2002 04:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0