AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: bavaria
Posts: 115

8rda+ sound problems when running high fsb

hi guys,
some days ago, i did the vdd mod - now i can go up to fsb210, but after some stress for the cpu, my sound won't work anymore!
eg when i run prime torture test for a about 20min and then start winamp, it will cut off and take about 70% of the cpu time??
i have a zalman on both the northbridge and the southbridge and my vdd currently is @ 1.75v.
can anybody help??
__________________
primary sys:
8rda+ rev 1.1 | xp 1700+ jiuhb 0308 @10x105/215 @1.1/1.55v [thx to hasw!] | 2 x 256mb twinmos winbond sync @ 11-2-2-2 | albatron ti4680p turbo @ default | samsung sp1614n @ dawicontrol dc-100 raid
dual boot:
win xp professional student version
gentoo linux 1.4 running 2.6 test 9 kernel

biertragl:
8kha+ | duron 1000@10x133 | 640mb ddr | 2x wd800jb
running gentoo linux 1.4 with 2.4.20-9 kernel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: bavaria
Posts: 115

very strange! now i improved sb cooling, increased vdd and still no go!
what could it be? is it the psu? i tried a pci gfx card, but i didn't get a screen... please help me!
__________________
primary sys:
8rda+ rev 1.1 | xp 1700+ jiuhb 0308 @10x105/215 @1.1/1.55v [thx to hasw!] | 2 x 256mb twinmos winbond sync @ 11-2-2-2 | albatron ti4680p turbo @ default | samsung sp1614n @ dawicontrol dc-100 raid
dual boot:
win xp professional student version
gentoo linux 1.4 running 2.6 test 9 kernel

biertragl:
8kha+ | duron 1000@10x133 | 640mb ddr | 2x wd800jb
running gentoo linux 1.4 with 2.4.20-9 kernel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 10:09 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

You can disable APIC in the bios and that should solve it. You'll probably have to reinstall Windows or change your computer type in the XP device manager (Standard PC or ACPI PC). With APIC enabled I think it's something to the effect of uniprocessor something or other. Change this before disabling APIC in the bios.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN, US
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by Genius
You can disable APIC in the bios and that should solve it. You'll probably have to reinstall Windows or change your computer type in the XP device manager (Standard PC or ACPI PC). With APIC enabled I think it's something to the effect of uniprocessor something or other. Change this before disabling APIC in the bios.

APIC won't cause the problem he's having with onboard sound.

If you clock down the fsb and the prob goes away (as I assume it does based off of your description) then you just have the fsb too high. Back off a bit.
__________________
Commodore Vic20 overclocked to like, a Vic40 or so. C-64 hotwired to use intelivision controllers and play colecovision games-Nitrogen cooled!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: bavaria
Posts: 115

thanks guys!
very strange!
now it is runnning all fine?!
i added another 40 and 60mm fan on the nb and now it works! i always thought that this was a sb heat problem...
__________________
primary sys:
8rda+ rev 1.1 | xp 1700+ jiuhb 0308 @10x105/215 @1.1/1.55v [thx to hasw!] | 2 x 256mb twinmos winbond sync @ 11-2-2-2 | albatron ti4680p turbo @ default | samsung sp1614n @ dawicontrol dc-100 raid
dual boot:
win xp professional student version
gentoo linux 1.4 running 2.6 test 9 kernel

biertragl:
8kha+ | duron 1000@10x133 | 640mb ddr | 2x wd800jb
running gentoo linux 1.4 with 2.4.20-9 kernel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 23

Re: 8rda+ sound problems when running high fsb

Quote:
Originally posted by mal0
hi guys,
some days ago, i did the vdd mod - now i can go up to fsb210, but after some stress for the cpu, my sound won't work anymore!
eg when i run prime torture test for a about 20min and then start winamp, it will cut off and take about 70% of the cpu time??
i have a zalman on both the northbridge and the southbridge and my vdd currently is @ 1.75v.
can anybody help??

I got the same prob - High FSB = sound disables. To fix this, you have to apply more voltage to the NB to stabalize it. A good way to make sure your NB has enuff voltage is to run 3dmark or Q3 and look closely for graphic artifacts/glitches. If you get artifacts, apply more vdd voltage until they go away. And keep that NB cool. I had a 60mm Al cpu heatsink and 60mm fan on my NB with lapping and AS Epoxy. It ran 232FSB @ 2.2v pretty cool @ 32C idle, but not stable (think my PSU is the problem) Damnit, you can apply up to 2.3v max on the A3 chipset, but make sure you have a quality PSU with 400w+! Running my NB @ 2.2v for days 24/7 didnt damage it, but using a 250w cheap PSU on my mobo for "testing" fried a little chip on my mobo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call Of Duty Sound Problems with 8RDA+ geekbyte EPoX MotherBoards 7 11th November, 2003 12:37 AM
8rda+ sound problems ||G|| EPoX MotherBoards 6 16th April, 2003 07:27 PM
8RDA+ sound&memory problems? chrisbard EPoX MotherBoards 2 25th March, 2003 03:33 AM
Problems with 8RDA+ onboard sound Rudzer EPoX MotherBoards 3 12th January, 2003 02:40 PM
Running high fsb problems. check here. muzz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 25th December, 2002 02:56 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0