AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Columbian Hide-away
Posts: 46

Question 8RDA+ XMS 3200 Memory Timings @ High FSB

Quick question I hope, (256mb single stick XMS3200)

I can run at upto 205fsb (Sync) with 4-2-2-2 memory timings but after that things occasionally lock up on me (Windows Freezes). I'm thinking it may be the timings I'm running at, anyone have a suitable set of XMS 3200 timings that they have had at (say)

210
215
220

?

Hope you can help me out cause I just can't seem to get it right.

I can post upto 209fsb at the mo just hoping that the mem timing thing will allow me to go higher....oh yeah it's a 1.0 rev board with no vdd mod (yet).

Also running with a JUIHB 1700+ 0311.
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ / XP1700+ / Volcano 7+
256mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2
Creative Geforce 2MX DDR
Plextor CD/RW 24/10/40x /Lite-On DVD 16x
WD Caviar 80GB Special Edition / IBM 75GXP 40GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 03:48 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

FYI... All sticks are not the same... Each and every stick of XMS behaves differently. I had one that was very good and one that barely was able to hit spec... The best method of testing is by trial and error with each stick. To avoid corruption, I highly recommend memtest... It is available in aoafiles, and you boot to a floppy, so you don't even access your HDD. THis way you can play with ram timings to your heart's content, and not worry about data corruption.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Columbian Hide-away
Posts: 46

Thanks for the tip. I'll give it a go.
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ / XP1700+ / Volcano 7+
256mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2
Creative Geforce 2MX DDR
Plextor CD/RW 24/10/40x /Lite-On DVD 16x
WD Caviar 80GB Special Edition / IBM 75GXP 40GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 05:04 PM
K_R K_R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 28

With memtest start by incrementing your FSB by 5Mhz until you run into errors and then fine tune with 1Mhz steps. It takes about 20-25mins to run all the standard tests.

I was able to get my XMS3200 up to DDR 424Mhz with 2-2-3-3 timing and 2.77V, increasing the voltage to 2.9V did not help.
__________________
CPU: T'bred 1700 JIUHB 0302 @ 10.5x200, 1.8V
CPU HSF: Volcano 7+
Motherboard: Epox 8RDA+ R1.1 @ 1.8V (750 ohm) cooled by stock AMD HSF
RAM: 2x Corsair CMX512-3200C2 @ 2-2-3-11 sync, 2.77V
Case: Custom made - http://tpc.dhs.org/case/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 05:08 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Pablo, either use 2-2-2 3 timings like me or 2-2-2 5.
That 2-2-2 4 thing didn't seem to work well on the 8RDa+'s I've had so far.
When you set your Vdimm to 2,9V (which you should if you want to achieve maximum Ramspeed), what Voltage does the Boards HW Monitor show you as Vdimm?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Columbian Hide-away
Posts: 46

Got up to 208 * 11.5 (@ 5-2-2-2) stable with Memtest (ran 5 passes) but it now freezes in Windows at boot up? Have I hit CPu limit or is there hope? Upped vcore to 1.875 but still locks up.

I guess just because it's Mmmetest stable doesn't necessarily mean it's Win XP stable.

Any ideas?
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ / XP1700+ / Volcano 7+
256mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2
Creative Geforce 2MX DDR
Plextor CD/RW 24/10/40x /Lite-On DVD 16x
WD Caviar 80GB Special Edition / IBM 75GXP 40GB

Last edited by Pablo Escobar; 14th April, 2003 at 10:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 10:39 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Maybe your Ram was very cool at the beginning of memtest (you should let it run till you have at least 10000% coverage when testing 129MB of Ram, 20000% is better).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 10:39 PM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

If you lower the multiplier can you raise the FSB and maintain stability? What are your temps and what kind of cooling do you have?
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2003, 05:32 AM
K_R K_R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 28

Since you're pushing close to 2.4g, I would say that your CPU is now the limiting factor. My 0302 XP1700 will boot at 2.2g (1.8V) but as soon as windows attempts to start, the machine will hang. Which sounds like what you are experiencing. Try booting windows at 9x MUL.
__________________
CPU: T'bred 1700 JIUHB 0302 @ 10.5x200, 1.8V
CPU HSF: Volcano 7+
Motherboard: Epox 8RDA+ R1.1 @ 1.8V (750 ohm) cooled by stock AMD HSF
RAM: 2x Corsair CMX512-3200C2 @ 2-2-3-11 sync, 2.77V
Case: Custom made - http://tpc.dhs.org/case/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Tight Memory Timings as opposed to High Memory Frequencies Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 7 6th April, 2006 08:27 PM
Memory Timings on 8RDA+ advice sacrum EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th October, 2003 07:20 PM
Tight Memory Timings or High FSB? Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 3 14th June, 2003 11:22 AM
8RDA+ and Twinmos 3200 timings shadowdr EPoX MotherBoards 2 15th March, 2003 04:25 PM
What memory timings to use for my corsair xms3200 cas 2 on my 8rda+? oqvist EPoX MotherBoards 3 11th February, 2003 09:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0