AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2003, 04:47 PM
lph's Avatar
lph lph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 5

Question ep-8k3a // heat problems

I have some problems with my heat and fan after i flashed my bios to the latest update , the april-update.

Now i have my cpu-heat up to 65-70, and before i had around 53-54.

Someone know how i should do to get it down?

Im newbie in this but i have the ep-8k3a with an amd2200@1.733ghz.

i take all hints with greet

thanks.
/daniel a.ka. lph
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2003, 06:55 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

The 8K3A shows messed up temps when using a TBred CPU...
Don't worry. Your temps aren't higher than before.
As long as its stable, its all right :-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2003, 07:05 PM
lph's Avatar
lph lph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 5

yep something is strange, i installed motherboardmonitor and it says 44degrees.. strange.

but is an xp2200 an tbred processor?

im newbie so thanks for explanations ;-)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2003, 07:43 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Of course a XP2200+ is a TBred (probably type A though).
The fastest palomino available is 2100+ which has 1733Mhz. You sure u have a 2200+ which should have 1800Mhz?
What CPU Vcore does your Bios show you? If its about 1,75V then its a Palomino and you should think of cooling it better, if its below that you have a TBred.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2003, 08:33 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Just for comparison lph this is my Xp2400 on an 8k3A+. Cooling with an Alphapal 8045 and 45 cfm fan. This is about 10C higher than it was in my 8RDA+
Attached Thumbnails
ep-8k3a // heat problems-2191.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 08:01 AM
lph's Avatar
lph lph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 5

My vcore is about 1.58-1.60 so it must be a tbred right?

and it is a xp2100 ;-) sorry.
but that is so strange, i installed mbm like you use DOD. and there it shows 44c but in bios it shows 64-65.

maybe this will be fix in the next biosupdate or smth?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 08:38 AM
goofydave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 74

I think you'll find the bios is showin you the internal diode.
mine on boot shows 60C but with MBM i selected the Winbond 2 2N3904 for temp and it now shows 39C

If i have it as Winbond 2 Diode it shows 61C same as the bios does.

Basically like everyone else says.. If its stable dont worry about it. I can touch my heatsink and it is barely warm to the touch with it running 2800rpm so i doubt it is 60C .. its more like 39C which the Winbond 2 2N3904 is displaying...

Hope this helps
__________________
EPOX 8K3A+ | XP2100+ TBRED-B @ 2210Mhz | Samsung 512mb DDR400 | 80GB MAXTOR ATA133 7200rpm
GeForce4 Ti 4200 128mb (300/555) | LITE-ON LTR-52246S | LITE-ON LTD-166S
3DMark2001 SE - 13012
__________________
The hardest thing to do is to watch the one you love - love somebody else.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 09:06 PM
lph's Avatar
lph lph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 5

hi again.

24hrs i have had 2-3 cople of stops. last i sett the bios to failsafe defaults and the agp-port to 4x. and now it works great.

does anyone have any recomendations how i can put up performance on this? i have 512mb of ram i think it is 2700 memory:s and the motherboard is on 333fsb but i run it at 266fsb now.

anyone have any suggestions?


thanks.
/Daniel
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 09:12 PM
Rogue's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 20

Quote:
Originally posted by goofydave
I think you'll find the bios is showin you the internal diode.
mine on boot shows 60C but with MBM i selected the Winbond 2 2N3904 for temp and it now shows 39C

If i have it as Winbond 2 Diode it shows 61C same as the bios does.

Basically like everyone else says.. If its stable dont worry about it. I can touch my heatsink and it is barely warm to the touch with it running 2800rpm so i doubt it is 60C .. its more like 39C which the Winbond 2 2N3904 is displaying...

Hope this helps
goofy i read ur post with some interest...and i put my diode to the winbond 2 2n3904 but on mine it jumps from 44 to 66C....it doesnt seem to like it much...does it do that on urs???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 09:17 PM
lph's Avatar
lph lph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 5

my sensors on winbond 1 and winbond 2 is 127 and 44.

is something wrong with that?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 09:28 PM
Rogue's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 20

no lph...just that when i put my sensor on winbond 2 my temps go sky high....but when i change it to winbond 2 2n3904..it jumps all over the place...temps just dont seem right for a tbred 1800 running at 2600 speeds at 1.75 v volts.,...my old xp 1900 ran cooler than that and that was with my delta fan at low speed...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Problems mellow General Hardware Discussion 0 25th November, 2005 07:11 AM
Immense heat problems ... :/ DarkCarnival AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 23rd July, 2003 10:22 PM
8K3A+ Northbridge heat problem?! xxgg EPoX MotherBoards 8 30th June, 2003 06:51 PM
Heat problems PunkAssgoat Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 6th January, 2003 02:43 PM
8K3A Problems. Bangers EPoX MotherBoards 31 10th September, 2002 06:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0