AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2003, 08:08 PM
arosene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: hell
Posts: 30

Question how do i match 8k9a2+ bios bin file for latest highpoint support ?

i have an 8k9a2+ and suffer from poor raid performance. there are also known issues with the drives i have on my raid controller. i dont have a need for high speed external usb drives so i was wondering if anyone could please instruct me on the utilities and process by which one can update the highpoint bios to the latest from a 8k9a2+ bios bin file and then flash and have everything work normally (except for high speed usb devices).

thank you
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2003, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 56

the hpt-bios is included in the normal bios. i dont think that there is another way to flash the hpt bios without flashing the normal bios - i never found any solution in here
__________________
Greets, Brummelchen

#specs
8k9a3+, AthlonTB 2400+, 512 Samsung DDR333, Terratec DMX xFire 1024, Maxtor 60gb/7200 on ATA-RAID, Enermax 365AX, DVD SD-1612, LiteOn 32*12*4
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2003, 02:32 PM
Max Headroom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Wild West Germany
Posts: 86

How about a few more specs. Which drives do you use. Which is the HPT BIOS version used in the 8K9A2+? There should be no great difference between 2.32 and 2.34.
I have the 8K5A2+ with two IBM drives. At the beginning they were working good but not to the max. The lack of performance resulted from not-activated bus parking.
By setting the correct registers with WCREDIT this bottleneck was gone.
I'm wondering why bus parking is not activated by default

Max
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2003, 02:52 PM
arosene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: hell
Posts: 30

i managed to add latest highpoint to the bios

using cbrom utility from award i had to give it a /pci parameter the rest was up to the programs and bios file.


can i activate bus parking on the bios ? and reflash ? tell me about this problem and how to use it to get better raid / system performance.

thank you
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS file shows up as BootVis trace file chile EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th January, 2004 10:51 PM
REQ: latest 8k9a2+ beta bios sent to my email arosene EPoX MotherBoards 4 7th May, 2003 06:22 PM
anyone have or can modify 8k9a2+ bios for latest highpoint bios ? arosene EPoX MotherBoards 0 26th April, 2003 04:56 AM
Upgrading bios of HIghpoint Raid Controller 8k9a2+? Mshake EPoX MotherBoards 2 4th April, 2003 04:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0