AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2001, 04:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Davo

8k7a

won't BOOT into Win2K after flashing to the 1a17 BIOS. What is up with that?

I thought it was my HD, I FDISK'd, FORMATTED and Win2K wouldn't load! It would hang at the 'setupp.ini' step every time.
WInME would load, but the heck with that ...

As soon as I flashed back to the 1711 BIOS, it all worked fine. But with the new XP CPU I need the latest BIOS.

Anyone have an explanation? Epox tech? I already sent the board back to Newegg, but it'll be next year before I back in business. I've built about 15 rigs this year, and EPoX hasn't impressed me with the 8K7A, two RMA's and here I type on my PIII 533! F&*k.
__________________
SP1600+
EPoX 8K7A
MSI GForce 2GTS
512 MB Crucial PC2100
Promise Raid 0+1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2001, 05:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

Did you clear the cmos after flashing bios ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2001, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Davo

Clear CMOS?

Yep. And tried new IDE cables, new HD, power supply, RAM.

It works perfect with WinME, but not with Win2K.
__________________
SP1600+
EPoX 8K7A
MSI GForce 2GTS
512 MB Crucial PC2100
Promise Raid 0+1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2001, 05:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

Was your system overclocked when you loaded OS ? I just switched from the 1a17 bios to the beta thats out . Mine loaded an runs fine with Win 2000.
__________________

Last edited by WinXP; 12th December, 2001 at 05:55 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2001, 05:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Davo

That's the wierd thing

I ran Win2k since July when I first got the board. But for two months it wouldn't start on the first try, so I RMA'd the board. The new one I got at the end of Nov. it the one that is doing this.

And no, I never overclock, just play games.
__________________
SP1600+
EPoX 8K7A
MSI GForce 2GTS
512 MB Crucial PC2100
Promise Raid 0+1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2001, 08:24 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It is possible that you either had a bad flash or that your power supply is insufficient for the system North-end (memory, CPU, graphics, northbridge).

It may be that over time the peak threshold limit of your PSU has been reduced not allowing you boot with the later BIOS. Just a theory however not a rule of thumb.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Davo

I thought about the 5v rail

MBM usually shows ~5.1 volts. I would occassionally get an immediate FF and no boot on the first try.

I tried with a second 300W Powmax power supply. It didn't help. With your theory, why would WinME load, and boot but not Win2K?

Thanks,
__________________
SP1600+
EPoX 8K7A
MSI GForce 2GTS
512 MB Crucial PC2100
Promise Raid 0+1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 06:13 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

WinMe is a much less aggressive operating system in the boot phase than win2k
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k7a/7a+ john & Jake EPoX MotherBoards 3 5th October, 2003 04:56 AM
8k7a and 8k7a+ capacitor problems rob200 EPoX MotherBoards 5 20th January, 2003 05:54 PM
EP-8k7a+ waz EPoX MotherBoards 2 21st August, 2002 12:13 AM
Can someone with 8k7a tell me... 000 EPoX MotherBoards 2 16th July, 2002 10:59 PM
8k7a and QA6 NWEng EPoX MotherBoards 2 14th November, 2001 02:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0