AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 07:52 PM
HammerD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 28
Send a message via ICQ to HammerD

Interesting Nforce2 Nvidia article

I found the following article very relevent to the type of questions I have with my Epox 8RDA+ motherboard. Here is the link:

http://www.nforcershq.com/modules.ph...showpage&pid=2

A quick summary, directly quoted:

"All NVIDIA SPP chips are capable of supporting a 400MHz FSB. That doesn't mean the motherboard can support it. "

"NVIDIA has a BIOS that cleans up a lot of the "noise" and would allow some older boards to hit 400FSB. However, it is still up to the board maker if they are going to use that BIOS and validate their board for official 400FSB support."

"NVIDIA wants to accelerate their driver releases for the system. They definitely want to have WHQL at least once a quarter, and will most likely try to have other releases once a month."

"NVIDIA is working on a new tool that would wind up listing the drivers installed. It would also list memory timings, frequencies, FSB, WCPUID info, and give you some tweaks. You can use the tweaking portion if the BIOS supports those options and the motherboard hardware supports those options - voltage, multiplier, etc"

"Power consumption has been reduced from 4.2 watts to about 3 watts in the latest stepping of the chipset. The little silver circle (heat slug) in the middle has gone, so the chip is now totally flat.
"

Some interesting stuff revealed there !

PS - I can't find nforce 2.03 drivers on nvidia's website anymore??
__________________
8RDA+ rev 1.1, A3 SB, A3 NB
1/29 bios, vdd modded
ThermalTake 420Watt PS
Athlon XP 2100+ tbred "B" 0249
12 x 200.5 DC sync = 2005MHz
vcore: 1.63, vdimm: 2.74, vdd: 1.76
(2x256) PC3200EL OCZ 11-3-3 CAS 2
Nvidia GeForce 3 64 meg DDR
80 gig 7200 RPM WD 8 meg cache
18.1" NEC LCD 1830
Windows XP SP1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 08:48 PM
Mr T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 134

Rumor has it that new Nforce drivers will be out today or tomorrow. Maybe we will be able to see what these boards can really do for ide performance now, and still be able to use our cd burners.

This may be the reason that you don't see 2.03 anymore. First person to spot them please post, so I will get a friendly notice in my email

Edit: You can still get to the 2.03 drivers by going through support and drivers. Looks like the only thing you can get from the main page is Video drivers.
__________________

Last edited by Mr T; 15th May, 2003 at 08:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 08:54 PM
badDiVeRSioN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 24

I think i can remember somthing about the nforce2 boards ment to run 400MHz from the beginning, but something came up(time pressure or sumthin). So it's not surprising that they all are capable of it. But it still has some importance to it what chip revision you have, cus your board will be newer...
__________________
XP T-Bred 2100+ AIUHB 0302 @ 2131MHz, 203MHz FSB 1,6V / 2233MHz, 203MHz FSB 1,8V / 2436MHz, 203MHz FSB 2.0V,
Epox 8RDA+ rev. 1.1 C1 NB/A3 SB (max. 220MHz FSB stable), Thermaltake 11 Xaser cooler,
450w 16A Dualfan PSU,
2x256MB V-Data DDR3200 CAS 2,5(2), 3-3-2-2,
Seagate Baracuda IV 40GB 8,5ms 2MB cache,
Geforce FX 5200 128DDR AGP x8
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 09:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

*NOTE*
Post Edit:

Please read our announcement at the start of our EPoX Topic as they include restrictions which do not apply to other AOA topics.
************************************************** **************************


Seeming as the **** just got a new bios which for most people allows stable 400mhz fsb operation im hoping for a "miracle" bios from epox as im sure the 8rda+ is just as good as the*****
__________________

Last edited by Daniel ~; 15th May, 2003 at 10:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 10:33 PM
HauZDauG's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 154

isnt gonna happen.. they already have there 8RDA3+ out and they are going to make you buy it for Official support for 400 FSB...

The latest BIOS for the 8RDA+ does say support for 400 Ultra if you have the latest NB stepping...

But if you ask EPoX if the 8RDA+ will support 400 FSB they will tell you to buy the 8RDA3+ for 400 FSB official support...

Id be surprised if they made the 8RDA+ official 400
__________________
AMD 2600+(333fsb) @180x12=2.16ghz@1.75v w/ThermalTake Volcano7+
DFI LanParty Ultra B
2x256=512 DDR pc2700 Samsung(DualChannel)@2.77v
Antec 430W TruPower PSU
Maxtor 120GB SATA drive
Geforce 6600 GT
SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Windows XP Pro
Chenming 6 bay case w/ SiX 80mm case fans

Last edited by HauZDauG; 15th May, 2003 at 10:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 11:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

/me looks above

Ive really got to stop mentioning other companys in my posts

Anyway if they dont eventually give the 8rda+ rev1.x unofficial 400mhz fsb support then Im definitly not buying epox again. I could of got the <cough> for a couple of quid cheaper.


EDIT: by unofficial 400mhz fsb support I mean 400mhz fsb which works on 95-99% of boards.
__________________

Last edited by dan2097; 15th May, 2003 at 11:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 11:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 47

the 2.03 are still there, just moved the link to the page.

hit support and select drivers to get to the old familiar selection page...which still links to 2.03....

soon, i hope......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

The people at nforcershq seem to think the new drivers will be released tommorow
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2003, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

dan2079,

Just curios, what's the max FSB you can run your 8RDA+ at atm ?
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 05:01 AM
Elisha's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 34

hopefully the new Nvidia drivers offer better solutions.
i can run 233 FSB solid right now after my VDD-mod but i think i can push it further if i have better ram.
only have 1x512 PC2700 SAmsung.
__________________
AXP 2100+ AUIHB (0304) @10x233 FSB
2330mhz@1.7v
Epox 8RDA+ A1/C1
2x256 Corsair XMS3500
Vantec Aeroflow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 09:36 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Post Edit:
Post again in this manner and your gone.
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x



Last edited by Daniel ~; 16th May, 2003 at 09:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

Quote:
Just curios, what's the max FSB you can run your 8RDA+ at atm ?
Id questimate from 188fsb =unstable after ~30mins of prime 95 and 180fsb =stable that the max for my motherboard is probably abotu 185mhz.

Admitedly im using the 31/12/02 bios but jason from madonion says that later bioses dont help overclocking anyway, only provide more bug fixes and new on post features
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 05:15 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Elisha, I'm just curious what speed your PC2700 RAM is running at with your FSB at 233Mhz. If possible could you list your BIOS settings? My Sammy RAM wont go past 183FSB with the 6/6 divider (by SPD).

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 07:00 PM
Elisha's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 34

i can run my ram at 230 sync with fsb.
put pretty ****ty timing tho.
10-5-5-3@2.77v
__________________
AXP 2100+ AUIHB (0304) @10x233 FSB
2330mhz@1.7v
Epox 8RDA+ A1/C1
2x256 Corsair XMS3500
Vantec Aeroflow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Quote:
Originally posted by jimbobaggies
All I know is, for them to allow some boards to be of better quality and allow you to run 200fsb is underhand. Basically they're selling two different boards for the same price, ...

Jimbo,

Look at it this way, * ALL * of the 8rda+ mobos are guaranteed to meet their RATED SPECS. The 8RDA+ was never rated for 400 FSB, look at the specs. If Epox continues to improve their product (as I would hope all companies do) that's a good thing.

Now that may mean that somebody who just bought their board MAY get a board that actually is able to run better than the rated specs. That does NOT mean that anybody else was "ripped off".
Your board may be "better" than somebody else's who bought their board last month.

If your board does not meet rated specs, get an RMA replacement. If it does meet rated specs, but you are unhappy with the performance, buy a board with higher specs.

There is no reason to bash a company for improving their products right?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 08:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

Damn you Epox, selling 400mhz fsb motherboards as 333mhz fsb motherboards, what a scam
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 09:03 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

jimbobaggies, I've edited your post. Be it known I warn only once.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

Quote:
jimbobaggies, I've edited your post. Be it known I warn only once
I got two of my posts edited
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

Quote:
Originally posted by dan2097


Id questimate from 188fsb =unstable after ~30mins of prime 95 and 180fsb =stable that the max for my motherboard is probably abotu 185mhz.

Admitedly im using the 31/12/02 bios but jason from madonion says that later bioses dont help overclocking anyway, only provide more bug fixes and new on post features
I heartedly recommend the 3129 BIOS as I've found that to be the best. Also are you using memory that is rated for 200 Mhz DDR (PC3200) ?
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2003, 10:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 70

Im using 2x 256mb twinmos pc3200 running at 7/2/2/2 dc. (thats at 180mhz fsb)

Is it any less safe to flash from safe command prompt (im still on 98se) rather than a floppy disk, my floppy disk drive dont work

The 3129 seems to be quite well recommended. Do you recommend it as its faster clock for clock i.e. more efficient?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new Nvidia Nforce2 WHQL 2.42 drivers released... Swifty2002 EPoX MotherBoards 28 25th May, 2003 12:16 AM
Nvidia says nforce2 good for 200mhz? sotti EPoX MotherBoards 18 11th February, 2003 11:51 PM
Interesting article Jazz ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 25th November, 2002 02:45 PM
A very interesting article . . . dimmreaper Random Nonsense! 12 24th April, 2002 01:47 AM
Interesting article about VIA - Nvidia bug Mr Swede EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th November, 2001 02:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0